Celestia crashes ~120 Light Years away from binary star

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 30 days

Celestia crashes ~120 Light Years away from binary star

Post #1by Sirius_Alpha » 11.08.2019, 17:23

I've been working on automatically generating binary stars and I've developed a bit of a problem. A couple systems -- 11 Com and DP Leo (and probably numerous others) cause Celestia to crash whenever you get some distance away (a bit over 120 light years in the case of 11 Com). This problem occurred when I modified my programme to add the HIP prefix to the first star rather than the barycenter (otherwise the "OrbitBarycenter" item would produce incorrect system architectures).

I can't tell if this is an encoding problem in the text file or what it is. If I copy the definitions for 11 Com or DP Leo out into a separate .stc, then they work.

If anyone could take a look at the .stc definitions for 11 Com and/or DP Leo and explain to me why it's crashing, I would really appreciate that.
Attachments
stars_bad.rar
(307.66 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Posts: 227
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 16
With us: 1 year 2 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #2by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 11.08.2019, 22:18

When I tested it, neither of the systems caused my Celestia to crash.
Attachments
2019-08-11 (3).png
2019-08-11 (2).png
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
My PCs. Dell Latitude D820 D400 D410 D420, Acer Aspire, Dell Optiplex 745 x2 755 GX-620 960, Sony Vaio PCG-F420, Packard Bell Legend 100, and an IBM clone

Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 30 days

Post #3by Sirius_Alpha » 11.08.2019, 22:41

Oh that's bizarre. Alright, thanks.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10062
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years
Location: NY, USA

Post #4by selden » 11.08.2019, 22:58

You need to specify what version of Celestia that you're using and what hardware you have. Bugs present in one version of Celestia might not be present in another.
Selden

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Posts: 227
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 16
With us: 1 year 2 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #5by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 11.08.2019, 23:23

I did it in 1.6.1 on my Latitude D820.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
My PCs. Dell Latitude D820 D400 D410 D420, Acer Aspire, Dell Optiplex 745 x2 755 GX-620 960, Sony Vaio PCG-F420, Packard Bell Legend 100, and an IBM clone

Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 30 days

Post #6by Sirius_Alpha » 12.08.2019, 01:00

Excellent point.

Windows 10 Home 64 bit operating system, x64-based processor
AMD Ryzen 5 2500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx 2.00 GHz
16.0 GB of RAM

Celestia 1.6.1.

onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 279
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 11 months 28 days

Post #7by onetwothree » 12.08.2019, 17:59

I confirm the issue. Line https://github.com/CelestiaProject/Celestia/blob/master/src/celengine/star.cpp#L1019, here getOrbitBarycenter() returns the star itself instead of the barycentre. Even if you did something wrong Celestia creates incorrect barycentre.

Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 30 days

Post #8by Sirius_Alpha » 13.08.2019, 00:39

I think the crashing issue was something else. I had some barycenters missing any IDs. They crashed the programme whenever you got too close to them. 11 Com and DP Leo were just along the line of sight to systems that were incorrectly declared, so they were themselves not at all the problem.

Code: Select all

Barycenter
{
# lines
}


As I expected, this was an error on my end. As for Celestia incorrectly drawing the barycenter, I've simply moved the HIP prefix to the primary star rather than the barycenter. Overall I consider the issue resolved.


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 6 guests