(#5)making planets using "planet"

All tutorials about Celestia go in here. For Celestia itself, add-ons, textures, scripting, etc.
Avatar
Topic author
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2711
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 16 years 11 months

(#5)making planets using "planet"

Post #1by John Van Vliet » 29.08.2010, 02:15

--- edit----
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 18.10.2013, 10:42, edited 10 times in total.

daerokos
Posts: 32
Joined: 25.09.2011
With us: 7 years 10 months

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #2by daerokos » 05.10.2011, 00:24

hi there i am trying to understand how to use this program. i need to know the steps from the ground up. i have mingw i dont have any idea what it is or what it does. i know it somehow allows you to use the files in the planet.zip download. but i'm lost. i can't find info anywhere on specifically where and how to start using planet.

please help me

W0RLDBUILDER
Posts: 122
Joined: 02.06.2010
With us: 9 years 2 months

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #3by W0RLDBUILDER » 05.10.2011, 13:38

You have to compile planet from source, then run it from a command line.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10066
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 16 years 11 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #4by selden » 06.10.2011, 00:45

He knows that. He doesn't know *how* to do it. I use cygwin, so I can't help with Mingw.
Selden

Avatar
Topic author
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2711
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #5by John Van Vliet » 06.10.2011, 22:01

--- edit----
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 18.10.2013, 10:42, edited 1 time in total.

daerokos
Posts: 32
Joined: 25.09.2011
With us: 7 years 10 months

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #6by daerokos » 21.10.2011, 05:34

that was literally the most confusing thing i've ever read. i don't understand how this can be so complicated. why would you want to go through all that trouble just to make a simple fractal terrain generator? is it better somehow? does it make the terrain look more realistic?

Avatar
Topic author
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2711
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #7by John Van Vliet » 21.10.2011, 07:34

--- edit----
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 18.10.2013, 10:43, edited 1 time in total.

daerokos
Posts: 32
Joined: 25.09.2011
With us: 7 years 10 months

Re: making planets using "planet"

Post #8by daerokos » 21.10.2011, 07:48

john Van Vliet wrote:daerokos that is because it was not wrote to run on a Microsoft Operating System

To run on windows it had to be ported


and frankly it is WAY easier to install a Linux OS than use set up MinGW

the old Windows build dose run on win7 premium 64 bit
and using windows cmd.exe

read the README and copy/past the examples into MS's terminal

there is NO gui
it is TEXT only


i realize that. i ran cmd.exe before and put in the example. it just said it didnt know what the hell i was trying to make it do. plus i downloaded that link you posted of the "old" version or whatever, and it had an exe file in it so i loaded it up and it just opened cmd.exe again and after a few seconds the command prompt started blurting a lonnnng list of random characters and made my computer beep for each character and it almost froze up.

is this program like really great or something? why go through all this trouble to make a planet map?


Return to “Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 1 guest