Blackhole script

All about writing scripts for Celestia in Lua and the .cel system
Avatar
Topic author
Anthony_B_Russo10
Posts: 85
Joined: 03.07.2018
With us: 4 months 17 days
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Blackhole script

Post #1by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 12.09.2018, 00:27

This is script I had made for one of my addons and when I try and run it, Celestia gives me an error.
CelestiaError.png

I don't know were the error is but if you do please reply.
Attachments
Blackholecel.zip
(822 Bytes) Downloaded 13 times
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto.
My PCs. Dell Latitude D820 - Win7, Acer Aspire - Win7, Dell Optiplex 960 - Win10.
Dell Optiplex 745 - Linux Mint, Dell Optiplex 745 - WinXP, Dell Latitude D410 - WinXP, Dell Latitude D400 (needs HDD), Packard Bell Legend 100 - Win3.11, and an IBM clone

Avatar
Goofy
Posts: 235
Joined: 30.08.2011
With us: 7 years 2 months
Location: Italy

Post #2by Goofy » 12.09.2018, 08:59

Hi Anthony_B_Russo10.
Sorry but without your addon I cannot check it.
But your script is very short, so it will be easy to try this way:
at half of the script put a new line with a single
" } "
This will stop the execution at that point.
So launch the script and check if the error is still there or not.
If yes, you know that it's in the first half of the script, so apply the same procedure there.
And so on.
At the end you'll have the exact script line that gives error.

And now my question to the authors:
Celestia knows exactly what is and where is the error, so why the error message is generic and doesn't point us to the wrong script line?
Is it possible to add this feature, that would save lot of time in scripting, please?
Thanks a lot.
Bye
Goofy :smile:

Added after 2 minutes 21 seconds:
Anyway, I think the error is this:

setfaintestautomag45deg{ magnitude 8.5 }

Celestia has not the command

setfaintestautomag45deg{

Bye
Goofy :smile:
"Something is always better than nothing!"
ASUS G75VX4007H- Intel i7 3630QM, 2.4 GHz-SSD 250GB+SSD 1TB, SATA 3-32GB DDR3 1600 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 780MX 3 GB

Avatar
Topic author
Anthony_B_Russo10
Posts: 85
Joined: 03.07.2018
With us: 4 months 17 days
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #3by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 12.09.2018, 11:29

Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto.
My PCs. Dell Latitude D820 - Win7, Acer Aspire - Win7, Dell Optiplex 960 - Win10.
Dell Optiplex 745 - Linux Mint, Dell Optiplex 745 - WinXP, Dell Latitude D410 - WinXP, Dell Latitude D400 (needs HDD), Packard Bell Legend 100 - Win3.11, and an IBM clone

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 304
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 66
With us: 1 year 11 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #4by gironde » 14.09.2018, 04:43

setfaintestautomag45deg{ magnitude 8.5 }

this command is on https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/Celx_Scrip ... ommand_setfaintestautomag45deg


and a space between deg and { ? setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude 8.5 }

Added after 4 hours 42 minutes:
I got this error message with a script I had just translated into French.
I found the translation site the text sequence '!' by "!".

That's what made the mistake (").


Check also the presence of the pointstars parameter in renderflags {".........."}
renderflags {clear "pointstars | nightmaps | galaxies | markers"}
This setting is no longer used in Celestia 1.6.1, but do not cause an error if it is present, it is simply ignored.

:hi:

Avatar
Goofy
Posts: 235
Joined: 30.08.2011
With us: 7 years 2 months
Location: Italy

Post #5by Goofy » 14.09.2018, 10:29

...and a space between deg and { ? setfaintestautomag45deg { magnitude 8.5 }

Gironde, probably you didn't read my message #2, where I told exactly the same thing.
Goofy :smile:
"Something is always better than nothing!"
ASUS G75VX4007H- Intel i7 3630QM, 2.4 GHz-SSD 250GB+SSD 1TB, SATA 3-32GB DDR3 1600 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 780MX 3 GB

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 304
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 66
With us: 1 year 11 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #6by gironde » 15.09.2018, 10:15

Yes Goofy, not viewed :smile:

"the great spirit meets " :smile:

Avatar
Goofy
Posts: 235
Joined: 30.08.2011
With us: 7 years 2 months
Location: Italy

Post #7by Goofy » 15.09.2018, 13:19

Gironde, no problem at all.
BTW, do you agree on what I said?
Celestia knows exactly what is and where is the error, so why the error message is generic and doesn't point us to the wrong script line?
I think that a solution to this nonsense could save us a lot of time, wasted to find errors in scripts that may be thousands lines long (my Mars script is more than 7000 lines ...) :cyclop:
Bye.
Goofy :smile:
"Something is always better than nothing!"
ASUS G75VX4007H- Intel i7 3630QM, 2.4 GHz-SSD 250GB+SSD 1TB, SATA 3-32GB DDR3 1600 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 780MX 3 GB

Avatar
Topic author
Anthony_B_Russo10
Posts: 85
Joined: 03.07.2018
With us: 4 months 17 days
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #8by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 17.09.2018, 19:47

If either of you want you can make script to go with the addon.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto.
My PCs. Dell Latitude D820 - Win7, Acer Aspire - Win7, Dell Optiplex 960 - Win10.
Dell Optiplex 745 - Linux Mint, Dell Optiplex 745 - WinXP, Dell Latitude D410 - WinXP, Dell Latitude D400 (needs HDD), Packard Bell Legend 100 - Win3.11, and an IBM clone


Return to “Scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 4 guests