Using add-ons

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Using add-ons

Post #1by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 04:27

I really like using this software, but have yet to figure out exactly how to use any add-ons. I've downloaded a few but have no instructions how to use them. Anyone care to offer quickie instructions? I am using an iMac (shouldn't matter).

hjw
Posts: 66
Joined: 02.02.2004
With us: 15 years 8 months
Location: Schwabach/Germany

Post #2by hjw » 01.05.2005, 06:21


Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #3by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 06:29

Thanks, but I've already been there. I thought I just needed to download an add-on and copy the unzipped folder into the extras folder, then restart Celestia. Did that but can't get it to find anything. Using the Star Wars add-on, trying to find Endor. Can't find that or the Death Star.

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #4by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 06:45

I may be missing the star system HD 143761. Is that something I need to download? Seems that Solar System planets depend upon the sun for location. Wondering if Tattoine and the Death Star are the same.

jestr
Posts: 612
Joined: 14.09.2003
With us: 16 years 1 month
Location: Bridgwater,UK

Post #5by jestr » 01.05.2005, 11:58

Hi Marc,it could be that you need this file
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/*checkout*/celestia/celestia/data/hdxindex.dat?rev=1.4
you should put it in your Celestia/data folder.
All the best, Jestr

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #6by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 13:44

That file did already exist, but I downloaded and replaced it anyway. No luck. Just wanna make sure I'm doing this right. I downloaded the Star Wars add-on, unzipped it, and placed the entire Star Wars folder in the Extras folder. Started Celestia (wasn't already running) and hit the Return (Enter for Windows) button. Started typing Endor and it cannot find it. I am using a iMac G5 with OSX Tiger. No other files or folders were changed. Tried using v1.3.2 and v1.4.0. Were my steps correct or did I miss an instruction? I've been working on this for days now and my fingers and wits are tired! LOL

jestr
Posts: 612
Joined: 14.09.2003
With us: 16 years 1 month
Location: Bridgwater,UK

Post #7by jestr » 01.05.2005, 13:54

You need to go to the star (HD 143761?) first.Press Enter,then type HD 143761,then Enter again,you should see the star name in the top left of the screen.Press G to goto it,then explore the sytem.Jestr

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #8by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 14:18

That didn't work. For some reason I think I need to define this HD 143761 somewhere for Celestia to know what/where it is after I type it in. I did read that Celestia scans all folders in the Extras folder for SSC files, and I seem to have all files in the Star Wars folder that it needs. Is it possible it needs a file edited to know what/where HD 143761 is before I can go to it, or does it pull this info from the STARWARS.SSC file?

jestr
Posts: 612
Joined: 14.09.2003
With us: 16 years 1 month
Location: Bridgwater,UK

Post #9by jestr » 01.05.2005, 14:25

Marc ,did Celestia find HD 143761?If you have the hdxindex.dat file it should have.Remember to type the middle space between HD and 143761.Once there you should be able to find the different planets by typing the number keys,Jestr

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #10by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 14:36

Huh. Did that before and it didn't work. Did it again (downloaded file, renamed to DAT, put in DATA folder) and it worked. But, Endor has no texture, and I can zoom to the Death Star and it always appears as a dot. By the way, I really appreciate your help. I am committed to getting this working!! I do have res set to medium and have the correct texture files in the medres folder.

jestr
Posts: 612
Joined: 14.09.2003
With us: 16 years 1 month
Location: Bridgwater,UK

Post #11by jestr » 01.05.2005, 14:44

Whats the maximum texture size you can use on your machine?Find this out by clicking on Help (in Celestia) and choose Open GL info.Jestr

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #12by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 14:54

It says "Help isn't available for Celestia". Maybe the help files weren't written for a Mac, or something. Should I try changing the default rendering path in Preferences from NV C+ ARB VP to something else? I have texture resolution set to Medium because there were medres textures in the starwars folder. Seems to be a display thing and not a "missing texture file" thing. Possibly my video card? The iMac G5 is the 20" screen one, new as of last fall. I'm trying different rendering path settings.

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #13by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 15:05

GOT IT! All defaults set back to normal settings. I copied all starwars folder stuff into the actual Celestia folders, such as textures, models, etc. Celestia wasn't looking in the extras - starwars folder for the necessary models, textures, etc. Don't know why. I have no problem downloading add-ons and moving the included files into the appropriate actual Celestia folders, if that's what it takes (although I would rather keep the add-on fodlers in their own folders in Extras folder). What's special about that HDX DAT file with regard to this star system? Will I need other HDX DAT files for oterh add-ons or will the one you showed me cover the other add-ons?

jestr
Posts: 612
Joined: 14.09.2003
With us: 16 years 1 month
Location: Bridgwater,UK

Post #14by jestr » 01.05.2005, 15:21

This file tells Celestia where a lot of the HD stars are in space.Others have contacted me before,saying they couldnt find HD 143761 in Celestia,and it turned out they didnt have this file.The textures and models should work fine in the original folder,if I remember right the Star Wars addon has the ssc file in an extras folder inside the Star Wars folder.Try getting rid of the StarWars/extras folder and just have the ssc file in the StarWars folder (along with the models and textures folders).Jestr

Topic author
MarcG
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.05.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #15by MarcG » 01.05.2005, 15:36

Tried that. The star system and planets worked fine, but the actual Death Star item didn't unless I put its model directly into Celestia's Models folder. It is no big deal for me to copy textures, models, etc. into Celetia's folders. Not really necessary for me to keep all the add-ons separate. I can finally get to see this star system's planets and the Death Star and so am very relieved. Thansk for all your help. I understand how the add-ons with within this program and feel I can troubleshoot it well if certain add-ons don't work right away. I think that HDX file was the main key for this add-on to work, though. Thanks again!

XRaiderV1X
Posts: 7
Joined: 11.06.2005
With us: 14 years 4 months

having problems with add-ons

Post #16by XRaiderV1X » 14.06.2005, 22:20

please discribe the exact proceedure to get the program to detect the add-ons and load them, as well as exactly how to install an add-on

thankyou.
anything and everything that could possibly go wron can and probably will

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10069
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #17by selden » 15.06.2005, 00:57

Please take the time to read the documentation pages.

Start with http://www.celestiaproject.net/celestia/documentation.html
which will lead you to
http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/catal ... ation.html
which will lead you to [url=http://www.lepp.cornell.edu/~seb/celestia/addon-intro.html]
A (not so) brief introduction to Celestia Add-ons[/url].
Selden


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 15 guests