The Star Wars Galaxy

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1348
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 34
With us: 15 years
Location: MinneSNOWta

The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #1by PlutonianEmpire » 07.08.2010, 21:55

I'm thinking, now that Celestia supports extragalactic star systems (1.6.0), we may be able to recreate the Star Wars universe more accurately. And since the Star Wars universe has its own galaxy, it probably should in Celestia too.

So far, I've only been able to come up with a basic setup with a single system (Tatooine), but maybe some people can pitch in and add their system to the Star Wars Galaxy?

So far, this is what I've got. (Excluding textures to minimize file size, and because none of them are mine anyway.)
starwars.zip
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #2by Sunchaser » 05.10.2010, 21:04

This isn't a bad idea...how would I move textures and planets (like the Coruscant and Endor add-ons) to the appropriate galaxy? The addon from the ML has them orbiting Rho CrB...


Thanks

-M-

loki
Posts: 5
Joined: 28.09.2010
With us: 8 years 11 months
Location: Space the final front ear

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #3by loki » 06.10.2010, 14:55

You would have to alter your endor mod etc .ssc files to point to the new star you want in your new galaxy.
Creating a whole Star Wars galaxy seem like a huge task there are a few sites like starwarsmap.com and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Wars_galaxy that could help point you in a general direction for locations for planets and stars, depends how fanatically accurate you want to be and also how realistic. Ive noticed many users on the forum point to fictional sci-fi mods being used saying things like you cant have a planet in such and such an orbit it would be too cold or too hot etc, but anyway goodluck with this ill be intrested in seeing updates in the future :wink:

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #4by Sunchaser » 07.10.2010, 11:22

As far as accuracy goes, my teacher always encouraged us for "pretty darn close." I settled on approximate location for the only I made add-on for the SWG...the Kaelta System, featuring the planet Toola, home of the Whiphids...
toolashot.jpg



I know my texture skills aren't the greatest, (I used AstroSynth for this one) but I'm pretty happy with it. Although, I like what the illustrators of the Essential Guides have accomplished much more. Ah well.

-M-

loki
Posts: 5
Joined: 28.09.2010
With us: 8 years 11 months
Location: Space the final front ear

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #5by loki » 07.10.2010, 12:32

Im guessing astrosynth is a fractal based planet generator like lunarcell which i use, problem i find with those types of programs is up close and personnal the planets never look so great so i hide the fact by messing with the clouds and atmosphere :) there is an an example of a planet i made on the forum with lunarcell here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9581&start=735
Anyway one system down :D
Many to go !

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #6by Sunchaser » 07.10.2010, 18:13

Actually, your Klingon texture didn't look too bad...I thought I had a better cloud texture than that, so I'll have to see what I've got and noodle a little more...

-M-

Reiko
Posts: 1119
Joined: 05.10.2006
Age: 36
With us: 12 years 11 months
Location: Out there...

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #7by Reiko » 07.10.2010, 18:58

I was going to use M33 for the Star Wars galaxy. I already have 100,000 stars there with a few thousand that have planets. This was done using globular cluster generator.

Also, the Star Wars Essential Atlas uses lunacell for its planet illustrations and comes with detailed maps.

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #8by Sunchaser » 07.10.2010, 19:02

That is very nice to know...

-M-

Reiko
Posts: 1119
Joined: 05.10.2006
Age: 36
With us: 12 years 11 months
Location: Out there...

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #9by Reiko » 07.10.2010, 19:15

Sunchaser wrote:That is very nice to know...

-M-
If you are going to make the Star Wars galaxy, where ever you make it, you would have to use globular cluster generator or something like it to populate it with stars. Otherwise you will not have a night sky full of them. The generator will also randomly generate planets for those stars and from there on it's only a matter of using some of them for planets seen in Star Wars.

I always thought M33 would be a good choice because it's close enough to M31 to be seen large in the sky.

Image

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #10by Sunchaser » 07.10.2010, 20:09

Just tell me where you want 'em! On another note, aside from PaintShop and PhotoShop, what else will LunarCell work with? (Sorry to hijack for a moment.)

-M-

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10062
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years
Location: NY, USA

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #11by selden » 07.10.2010, 21:04

I think it should work with any paint program which supports Photoshop plugins, which is most of them.
Selden

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #12by Sunchaser » 07.10.2010, 22:09

Gimp?

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 12
With us: 12 years 5 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #13by Fenerit » 08.10.2010, 00:10

Sunchaser wrote:Gimp?

You must install this first, in order to have the Photoshop plug-ins' compatibility.

http://tml.pp.fi/gimp/pspi.html
Never at rest.
Massimo

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 12
With us: 12 years 5 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #14by Fenerit » 08.10.2010, 02:08

loki wrote:Im guessing astrosynth is a fractal based planet generator like lunarcell which i use, problem i find with those types of programs is up close and personnal the planets never look so great so i hide the fact by messing with the clouds and atmosphere :) there is an an example of a planet i made on the forum with lunarcell here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9581&start=735
Anyway one system down :D
Many to go !

My contribution here: http://www.mapzoneeditor.com/ This program use procedural texturing and has a 3D view of the texture you work with: import a 3D sphere onto it and then map it recursively with fractal algorithms (perlin, turbolence, etc.). Procedural tex. allows the image size you wish without loss of details.
Never at rest.
Massimo

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #15by Sunchaser » 08.10.2010, 11:31

My apologies to Plutonian Empire for comandeering the thread and turning it into a discussion about other stuff...The addon featured at the beginning of this thread actually puts the Star Wars Galaxy in visual range from Earth....the only draw back is that it isn't populated...
Would using the Cluster Generator on top of the Galaxy's location fix the problem?

-M-

PS thanks for your help on textures!

Reiko
Posts: 1119
Joined: 05.10.2006
Age: 36
With us: 12 years 11 months
Location: Out there...

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #16by Reiko » 08.10.2010, 16:43

Sunchaser wrote:My apologies to Plutonian Empire for comandeering the thread and turning it into a discussion about other stuff...The addon featured at the beginning of this thread actually puts the Star Wars Galaxy in visual range from Earth....the only draw back is that it isn't populated...
Would using the Cluster Generator on top of the Galaxy's location fix the problem?

-M-

PS thanks for your help on textures!
Yes. Go back and look at my last post. I added a screen shot of a night sky on a planet inside the M33 galaxy.

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #17by Sunchaser » 08.10.2010, 17:01

Sorry, I hadn't had my coffee yet when I posted earlier!
:oops:

-M-

Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1348
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 34
With us: 15 years
Location: MinneSNOWta

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #18by PlutonianEmpire » 09.10.2010, 01:29

Sunchaser wrote:My apologies to Plutonian Empire for comandeering the thread and turning it into a discussion about other stuff...The addon featured at the beginning of this thread actually puts the Star Wars Galaxy in visual range from Earth....the only draw back is that it isn't populated...
Would using the Cluster Generator on top of the Galaxy's location fix the problem?

-M-

PS thanks for your help on textures!
Using the Globular Cluster Generator might help, but it probably won't be me, since it doesn't work on my computer. I posted this thread in the hopes that other people might pitch in with their own additions to the Star Wars galaxy.

And as far as I know, star displays in 1.6.0 only goes about 10 million light years, which is why the galaxy can be seen from the milky way.
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D

Sunchaser
Posts: 31
Joined: 13.05.2010
With us: 9 years 4 months

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #19by Sunchaser » 09.10.2010, 11:24

Last night I was trying to use the Generator, but I have a few questions...
1) What are the exact coordinates used for the SWG?
2) How many stars do you want in it?

-M-

Avatar
Topic author
PlutonianEmpire M
Posts: 1348
Joined: 09.09.2004
Age: 34
With us: 15 years
Location: MinneSNOWta

Re: The Star Wars Galaxy

Post #20by PlutonianEmpire » 09.10.2010, 19:35

1. RA: 13 h 23 m 20.14 s; Dec -30* 03' 33.17" , as far as I can tell (the exact coordinates in the DSC file are:

Code: Select all

RA            13.388927777777777777777777777778
Dec           -30.059211111111111111111111111111111
)

2. As many as your system can handle (or simply as many as you want, whichever is better :) ). The goal is to populate the whole galaxy. There are a number of galaxy maps of the star wars galaxy that can be found by Google, showing the positions of all the major systems, that can be used for reference. Although, I might have misplaced the Tatoo system, found in the OP of this thread (still inside that galaxy).

:)
Terraformed Pluto: Now with New Horizons maps! :D


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 16 guests