Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
bh
Posts: 1476
Joined: 17.12.2002
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: Oxford, England

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #121by bh » 03.02.2010, 18:27

Amazing pictures linuxman... this is going to be the definitive model of the ISS for sure. Can't wait to try.
regards...bh.

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 14 years 8 months
Location: Indiana, United States

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #122by Hungry4info » 03.02.2010, 18:37

Absolutely stunning!

Though if I may (again), Node 3 will be on Node 1 port, with Cupola on Node 3 nadir.
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #123by t00fri » 03.02.2010, 18:58

While the pictures are looking very nice, one question is hard to deny:

What's the typical framerate for these super-detailed monsters??

Fridger
Image

bh
Posts: 1476
Joined: 17.12.2002
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: Oxford, England

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #124by bh » 04.02.2010, 09:59

I fear it will be too much for my meagre setup... :(
regards...bh.

Topic author
[email protected]
Posts: 139
Joined: 14.02.2006
With us: 14 years 3 months
Location: Montpellier France

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #125by [email protected] » 09.02.2010, 15:31

t00fri wrote:While the pictures are looking very nice, one question is hard to deny:

What's the typical framerate for these super-detailed monsters??

Fridger

For the moment under windows vista 64 its seems to be between 12 to 15 IPS (with an old nvidia driver ), the station appears after 25 second .

25 to 30 IPS now (11 feb)

by Hungry4info » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:37 pm
Absolutely stunning!

Though if I may (again), Node 3 will be on Node 1 port, with Cupola on Node 3 nadir.

I will wait iss pictures in a few days to see exactly there is the right emplacement

picture of the sts-130 payloads

Image


linuxman
StarWarSaga 2001 odyssey Back in USSR by linuxman

http://celestiasws.free.fr

AMD-64x2-6000 4 gb DDR2-800 geforce GTX460 1gb Asus M2N-sli-d Apple cinema display 23" Linux Gentoo 64 bits Vista pro 64 bits celestia 1.60 official

Topic author
[email protected]
Posts: 139
Joined: 14.02.2006
With us: 14 years 3 months
Location: Montpellier France

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #126by [email protected] » 14.02.2010, 17:43

Hungry4info wrote:Absolutely stunning!

Though if I may (again), Node 3 will be on Node 1 port, with Cupola on Node 3 nadir.

here is the node 3 with cupola close and open

Image


It is good?

I don't know at what time is the cupola moved and his windows are opened

Linuxman
StarWarSaga 2001 odyssey Back in USSR by linuxman

http://celestiasws.free.fr

AMD-64x2-6000 4 gb DDR2-800 geforce GTX460 1gb Asus M2N-sli-d Apple cinema display 23" Linux Gentoo 64 bits Vista pro 64 bits celestia 1.60 official

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 14 years 8 months
Location: Indiana, United States

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #127by Hungry4info » 15.02.2010, 21:11

Yeah, that looks almost accurate.

Cupula has already been moved, but the windows aren't yet open. They mentioned in a briefing yesterday that we'll have our first images from Cupola wither Wednesday or Thursday. I don't know if that's when the windows open or not though =s.

Edit: Just noticed Cupola is turned at an odd angle. It is angled such that two vertices of the hexagon are aligned Forward-Aft, as opposed to Port-Starboard as it seems yours is.

Cupola relocation:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbUzrqI14FI

(it's currently covered in thermal blankets that will be removed later).
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

scroll
Posts: 34
Joined: 30.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #128by scroll » 07.04.2010, 06:44

Is there a way to sync up to the real-time orbit position? I can manage it with the old ISS.ssc file by editing the relevant parameters (epoch, eccentricity, etc) however when I try this with this new ISS.ssc file I lose the ISS altogether and have to put the original .ssc file back.

Excellent model. Thank you very much.

bh
Posts: 1476
Joined: 17.12.2002
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: Oxford, England

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #129by bh » 08.04.2010, 13:47

Can I request a 'static' model of the ISS as it is now with and without shuttle? :oops:
regards...bh.

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #130by Chuft-Captain » 09.04.2010, 06:39

scroll wrote:Is there a way to sync up to the real-time orbit position? I can manage it with the old ISS.ssc file by editing the relevant parameters (epoch, eccentricity, etc) however when I try this with this new ISS.ssc file I lose the ISS altogether and have to put the original .ssc file back.

Excellent model. Thank you very much.
If you read the Help -> Controls menu item you'll see that the "Y" key is used to SYNC to an object:
Y : Orbit the selected object at a rate synced to its rotation

(no need to edit the SSC file)
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

scroll
Posts: 34
Joined: 30.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #131by scroll » 09.04.2010, 13:57

Chuft-Captain wrote:
scroll wrote:Is there a way to sync up to the real-time orbit position? I can manage it with the old ISS.ssc file by editing the relevant parameters (epoch, eccentricity, etc) however when I try this with this new ISS.ssc file I lose the ISS altogether and have to put the original .ssc file back.

Excellent model. Thank you very much.
If you read the Help -> Controls menu item you'll see that the "Y" key is used to SYNC to an object:
Y : Orbit the selected object at a rate synced to its rotation

(no need to edit the SSC file)

Not sure I'm following you. This will cause the ISS model in Celestia to orbit the Earth pretty much exactly as the real ISS is orbiting the Earth?

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #132by Chuft-Captain » 09.04.2010, 14:10

scroll wrote:
Chuft-Captain wrote:
scroll wrote:Is there a way to sync up to the real-time orbit position? I can manage it with the old ISS.ssc file by editing the relevant parameters (epoch, eccentricity, etc) however when I try this with this new ISS.ssc file I lose the ISS altogether and have to put the original .ssc file back.

Excellent model. Thank you very much.
If you read the Help -> Controls menu item you'll see that the "Y" key is used to SYNC to an object:
Y : Orbit the selected object at a rate synced to its rotation

(no need to edit the SSC file)

Not sure I'm following you. This will cause the ISS model in Celestia to orbit the Earth pretty much exactly as the real ISS is orbiting the Earth?

You said:
Is there a way to sync up to the real-time orbit position?
which in Celestia is done by going to the object and pressing the Y key.
Please describe exactly what it is you want to do.
To "sync up to the real-time orbit position" has a specific meaning in Celestia related to the behaviour of the observer relative to the observed object.

I'm confused about what exactly it is that you want to do. You need to describe exactly what you want to achieve.
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

Topic author
[email protected]
Posts: 139
Joined: 14.02.2006
With us: 14 years 3 months
Location: Montpellier France

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #133by [email protected] » 09.04.2010, 18:46

STS-131 mission

Image

Linuxman
StarWarSaga 2001 odyssey Back in USSR by linuxman

http://celestiasws.free.fr

AMD-64x2-6000 4 gb DDR2-800 geforce GTX460 1gb Asus M2N-sli-d Apple cinema display 23" Linux Gentoo 64 bits Vista pro 64 bits celestia 1.60 official

scroll
Posts: 34
Joined: 30.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #134by scroll » 10.04.2010, 02:48

Chuft-Captain wrote:You said:
Is there a way to sync up to the real-time orbit position?
which in Celestia is done by going to the object and pressing the Y key.
Please describe exactly what it is you want to do.
To "sync up to the real-time orbit position" has a specific meaning in Celestia related to the behaviour of the observer relative to the observed object.

I'm confused about what exactly it is that you want to do. You need to describe exactly what you want to achieve.

Sorry, I didn't explain it properly. I would like to take this model by Linuxman and put it in an obrit in the Celestia program that matches the orbit of the real non-Celestia NASA-built ISS. When I apply the process that I use to change the orbit of Celestia's default ISS spacecraft – which works well (viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12582&hilit=iss+position#p105241) - to Linuxman's model it does not seem to work. In fact after modifying Linuxman's ISS.ssc file his ISS disappears altogether.

Apologies for the confusion once again.

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #135by Chuft-Captain » 10.04.2010, 09:44

Please post your modified SSC file (enclosed in code tags) so that we can see what you're doing wrong. It's a bit hard for anyone to help if we cannot see exactly what you've done.
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

scroll
Posts: 34
Joined: 30.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #136by scroll » 10.04.2010, 15:51

Chuft-Captain wrote:Please post your modified SSC file (enclosed in code tags) so that we can see what you're doing wrong. It's a bit hard for anyone to help if we cannot see exactly what you've done.

Below is the portion of Linuxman's ISS.ssc file that is the focus of the modification process (to create the orbit held by the real ISS) advised here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12582&hilit=iss+position#p105241. This process works fine for the ISS.ssc file that comes with Celestia 1.6.0. The search tag for Linuxman's model is Zarya and pre-modification it shows and looks great, but I can't get it to the correct orbit when I modify it's ssc file. It doesn't even find Zarya. I even removed the ISS folder from Celestia's "extras-standard" folder thinking there might be a clash but this made no difference. Sorry, I don't know what "enclosed in code tags" means.

**********

#----- Mission : "Construction ISS"-----\n
#----- Composant N° 1 -----
"Zarya" "Sol/Earth"
{
Class "spacecraft"
Mesh "zarya.cmod"
Radius 0.006280164
Beginning "1998 11 20 12:00:00"
Ending " "

EllipticalOrbit {
Epoch 2452028.183817550
SemiMajorAxis 6767.00000000
Eccentricity 0.00168860
Inclination 51.56840000
AscendingNode 343.15180000
LongOfPericenter 329.3994000
Period 0.064176392
MeanAnomaly 13.8216000
}

**********
This is from the ssc file obtained from the Linuxman download, I have not changed the values here but per the process it is a simple matter of going to Heavens Above and switching to the latest values of the parameters under EllipticalOrbit. There is much more information after this intial portion of the file that does not occur in the ssc file that comes with Celestia 1.6.0. However, per the process there is no indication of it being relevant.

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #137by Chuft-Captain » 10.04.2010, 23:52

You may have made a typo. When you make a syntax error in a Celestia SSC file, everything following the error will fail.
It's also possible that your editor has saved the file with an additional .txt file extension. What OS are you using, and which editor?

If you are using Windows XP:
    go to an explorer window, and select Tools -> Folder Options
    Select the View Tab
    Make sure that "Hide extensions for known file types" is un-ticked.
    Now view your new SSC file in explorer and make sure that it doesn't have an additional .txt extension.

To insert code in a code block, click on the CODE button above the edit window when posting your message. This will insert beginning and ending code tags into the edit window. The cursor will be positioned in between the 2 tags.
Paste your code at the cursor.

When you're done,it looks like this:

Code: Select all

#----- Mission : "Construction ISS"-----\n
#----- Composant N° 1 -----
"Zarya" "Sol/Earth"
{
Class "spacecraft"
Mesh "zarya.cmod"
Radius 0.006280164
Beginning "1998 11 20 12:00:00"
Ending " "

EllipticalOrbit {
Epoch 2452028.183817550
SemiMajorAxis 6767.00000000
Eccentricity 0.00168860
Inclination 51.56840000
AscendingNode 343.15180000
LongOfPericenter 329.3994000
Period 0.064176392
MeanAnomaly 13.8216000
}
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

scroll
Posts: 34
Joined: 30.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #138by scroll » 11.04.2010, 01:08

Thanks, I'll look into that and get back. I'm using Windows 7 and MS Word which does give me a formatting pop-up choice when I save following the edit. Not sure what it's doing, I just click "Yes" so that is saves. So it looks like something is going on there.

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #139by Chuft-Captain » 11.04.2010, 02:24

That's the problem --- You're using WORD, which embeds a whole lot of formatting characters in the file, effectively corrupting it for Celestia use.

You MUST use a plain text editor to edit SSC files.
Wordpad is fine, Notepad will also work.
If you're planning on doing a lot of this, then I would recommend that you download and use something like Notepad++, though you'll be fine with Wordpad in the meantime.
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 16 years
Location: Germany

Re: Nasa ISS model hightly detailled

Post #140by Guckytos » 11.04.2010, 07:03

Chuft-Captain wrote:
When you're done,it looks like this:

Code: Select all

#----- Mission : "Construction ISS"-----\n
#----- Composant N° 1 -----
"Zarya" "Sol/Earth"
{
Class "spacecraft"
Mesh "zarya.cmod"
Radius 0.006280164
Beginning "1998 11 20 12:00:00"
Ending " "

EllipticalOrbit {
Epoch 2452028.183817550
SemiMajorAxis 6767.00000000
Eccentricity 0.00168860
Inclination 51.56840000
AscendingNode 343.15180000
LongOfPericenter 329.3994000
Period 0.064176392
MeanAnomaly 13.8216000
}

Hi scroll,

if that is the whole definition that you posted, then there is definitely a "}" missing at the end of the definition.

"{" indicate for Celestia the beginning of a defintion of parameters and "}" signals the end of that. You have 2 "{" but only 1 "}", so you definition of Zarya is not finished for Celestia and it stops to interpret it.

You can also always call up the console on Celestia startup by typing a "~" in the Celestia window. Then you will normally find an error message, where Celestia has encountered an error in a file and know where you have to look.

Regards,

Guckytos


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online