Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #61by ANDREA » 21.01.2008, 14:26

buggs_moran wrote:Wow, great work Andrea. I am toying with different ideas for the plumes. I might just do a static model to begin with and work from there...Thanks for all the hard work!
Chris

Happy you like it, Chris, you are welcome.
And thank you for kind words, but the hard work is yours, not mine, I've only made some digging in the Web, no more. :wink:
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #62by ANDREA » 31.03.2008, 22:56

Some time passed since last post on the subject, and I see no one tried to merge Chris' and Buggs' different approaches to show Io volcanic plumes.
Well, I did it, and here below is the result.
You can better see the improvement if you look at Buggs' and Chris' releases.
I feel it's very good, but to obtain it I had to make some changes, and exactly I dimmed and blurred a bit the blob.jpg texture and made more diffuse the plume.cmod in Chris' Io volcanic sprites addon.
Then I slightly modified the ssc files in both Chris' and Buggs' addons.
Hope you'll like it.
If you wish to test yourself, here are both modded addons:
http://ftp.tiscali.it/andrea_celestia/iovolcanoes-chrisandbuggs-mergedmoddedbyandrea.rar
Unrar and put both directories in your extras.
Hope you'll like it. :wink:
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #63by ANDREA » 01.04.2008, 09:18

And here two close-ups.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 16 years 2 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #64by ElChristou » 01.04.2008, 11:05

Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...
Image

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #65by ANDREA » 01.04.2008, 11:31

ElChristou wrote:Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...
Thank you for appreciation, Christophe, sorry you cannot see it working, it's much better than still images. :wink:
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #66by danielj » 01.04.2008, 20:24

It?s awesome,but unfourtanetelly,is a bit too heavy in my system.Look at these pictures:
http://img20.imageshack.us/my.php?image ... rsijj4.jpg
http://img217.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... darhl7.jpg
http://img217.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... iacsg1.jpg
http://img382.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... ectdm4.jpg




But I manage to run the Iovolcanoes animation at 32X by not displaying anything except star,planets and atmospheres,at a frame rate of around 20 fps.The effect is spectacular. :D
Anyway,I have a doubt;Which Ionight is more realistic?The old one green and red or the new one? :?:
Last edited by danielj on 01.04.2008, 20:54, edited 4 times in total.

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #67by chris » 01.04.2008, 20:35

ElChristou wrote:Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...

Don't worry, Christophe: I will code a software path for point sprites soon.

--Chris

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #68by ANDREA » 01.04.2008, 21:10

danielj wrote:It?s awesome,but unfourtanetelly,is a bit too heavy in my system..... But I manage to run the Iovolcanoes animation at 32X by not displaying anything except star,planets and atmospheres,at a frame rate of around 20 fps.The effect is spectacular. :D
Anyway,I have a doubt;Which Ionight is more realistic?The old one green and red or the new one? :?:
Danielj, happy you can use and enjoy it, even if I think there are probably some settings in your system that make things worse than they should.
What Io texture are you using?
If I remember well, you always like to use the most detailed available textures, so I think you are using the 8k VT png one, correct?
I use a slightly modified 4k texture plus a 4k normal, both 8MB png, and I don't use night textures.
In my "Io volcanoes" show I don't have galaxies, asteroids belt, 1 million stars, all external Jupiter moons, etc., so I have the system as light as I can, and perfectly tailored for my needs.
This way I run always at 60 fps (I limited the maximum at this rate), but I doubt that the difference in our graphic cards can justify such an fps difference.
My suggestion is to clean-up your Celestia installation, to use more than one, and in each of them eliminate all what is not necessary for your needs.
I think you can run faster this way, give a try. :wink:
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #69by danielj » 01.04.2008, 21:30

There is a HUGE DIFFERENCE between your system and mine.This explains totally the difference in frame rate.My system is an Athlon 64 X2 3800,2 gb RAM and 7600 GT.You have a Quad core,4 GB of RAM and 8800 GTX.Just to have an idea,a basic Core2Duo is equivalente to an Athlon64 X2 5200!So it?s no use giving me these advices...if I am lucky,in june or july,I could change to an Athlon64 X2 5200 AM2,2 GB RAM DDR2 and Geforce 9600 GT.But will be difficult.Until then...

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #70by ANDREA » 01.04.2008, 22:08

danielj wrote:There is a HUGE DIFFERENCE between your system and mine.This explains totally the difference in frame rate.My system is an Athlon 64 X2 3800,2 gb RAM and 7600 GT.You have a Quad core,4 GB of RAM and 8800 GTX.Just to have an idea,a basic Core2Duo is equivalente to an Athlon64 X2 5200!So it?s no use giving me these advices...if I am lucky,in june or july,I could change to an Athlon64 X2 5200 AM2,2 GB RAM DDR2 and Geforce 9600 GT.But will be difficult.Until then...
No, please Danielj, don't start once again with complaints about your system. 8O
As many people told you up to now, it's way better than most of Celestian's systems, the problem is that you prefer complaint to advices follow-up.
Why don’t you try to obtain the best you can from what you have, instead crying on your poor (sic!) system?
Follow what I suggested, you'll see improvements, believe me.
And regarding the core duo- ter- quad and so on (BTW, round the corner there are the 8 core and even the 16 and 32 core systems, do you think we'll need them?), I fear that actually Celestia cannot use more than one core at a time, or two if, e.g., you use a music system together with Celestia.
The true big difference between our systems is perhaps that I can use 3.5 GB RAM, I agree, but, I repeat, this doesn't justify the enormous difference in frame rate betwen our systems.
When I was using cards that had problems with the most complex Celestia environments, I used to kill even the antivirus and almost all the stuff that's shown in the instruments bar or works continuously in background, sucking memory and speed to the system.
This worked. :wink:
So, make your experiments, with discoveries and mistakes, like all of us have done in the past and are doing even now.
Listen to what is discussed in this forum about hardware, and follow the suggestions if you think them trustworthy.
Danielj, this is only a suggestion, not a critic, I think that every man should freely decide his own actions, but, please, stop boring all of us with your system's continuous denigration, it’s not correct for all the people (a lot!) that have lower rated systems.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #71by ANDREA » 01.04.2008, 23:00

ElChristou wrote:Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...
Well, my friend, here is a little movie that can give you a better idea of the moving stuff. :wink:
http://ftp.tiscali.it/andrea_celestia/io_volcanoes-short.avi
To reduce its size I made it as 640x480 pixel, only 15 fps, in AVI format, so it's about 8.2 MB.
Hope you'll like it, give me your opinion, please.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #72by buggs_moran » 02.04.2008, 01:17

WOW! I'm even impressed with how cool that looks in the avi Andrea. Thanks for doing the work to combine our work! I wonder if you could try running a find and replace on the Emissive True statements in my ssc and make them # Emissive True to see what happens. I will try it at work tomorrow if I have time.

Sadly my computer has been showing signs (for a month) that it might be time for a new motherboard (you're not alone daniel :wink: ) and I cannot see these addons correctly. I am getting hangups even running Celestia concurrently with notepad and I think that might be an indicator of some underlying issues :D. I am in the process of backing everything up (I am too ADD to stay on that for very long though :wink:). What a task, I am sure you can all relate...
Homebrew:
WinXP Pro SP2
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz
1 GB Crucial RAM
80 GB WD SATA drive
ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #73by ANDREA » 02.04.2008, 10:21

buggs_moran wrote:WOW! I'm even impressed with how cool that looks in the avi Andrea. Thanks for doing the work to combine our work! I wonder if you could try running a find and replace on the Emissive True statements in my ssc and make them # Emissive True to see what happens. I will try it at work tomorrow if I have time.
I just tried it, Chris, and below you can see the results. I think that the emissive true should be maintained ON, if plumes are considered hot, or OFF if they are considered cold.
From a graphical point of view, the emitting plumes are way better, IMHO.

buggs_moran wrote:Sadly my computer has been showing signs (for a month) that it might be time for a new motherboard (you're not alone daniel :wink: ) and I cannot see these addons correctly. I am getting hangups even running Celestia concurrently with notepad and I think that might be an indicator of some underlying issues :D. I am in the process of backing everything up (I am too ADD to stay on that for very long though :wink:). What a task, I am sure you can all relate...
I fully understand your sorrow, everytime I change configuration there are a lot of problems, backups to be done, new things to understand and study, changes to be applied, BIOS to be updated, and so on.
But at the end, you'll have a more efficient (and so more enjoyable!) system, so the effort is always worthwhile. :wink:
Good luck, Chris.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 16 years 2 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #74by ElChristou » 02.04.2008, 12:55

chris wrote:
ElChristou wrote:Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...

Don't worry, Christophe: I will code a software path for point sprites soon.

--Chris

Tx, but only if it's really useful; from my side soon or later I'll change my old (now) Powerbook...
Image

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 16 years 2 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #75by ElChristou » 02.04.2008, 13:19

ANDREA wrote:
ElChristou wrote:Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...
Well, my friend, here is a little movie that can give you a better idea of the moving stuff. :wink:

Tx! I don't know why I had always imagined the point sprites animated... and they are static! No way to give them some paths?
Anyway considering the two technics here, the merge of both is really a good idea!
Image

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #76by ANDREA » 02.04.2008, 13:33

ElChristou wrote:
ANDREA wrote:
ElChristou wrote:Looks good to me! Too bad I cannot appreciate the thing in live, my config don't handle point sprites...
Well, my friend, here is a little movie that can give you a better idea of the moving stuff. :wink:
Tx! I don't know why I had always imagined the point sprites animated... and they are static! No way to give them some paths?
You are very welcome, as always.
And regarding your request, I absolutely agree: animated, smaller and more point sprites could probably give a perfect result.
Do you think it's possible to improve them this way, Chris? (Laurel, obviously). 8)

ElChristou wrote:Anyway considering the two technics here, the merge of both is really a good idea!
Thank you Christophe, happy you appreciate it.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Marty
Posts: 15
Joined: 12.09.2006
With us: 14 years 7 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #77by Marty » 27.04.2008, 03:29

Can't get it to work Cel 1.4.1 Put in Extras as instructed. See attachment.

Martin

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #78by ANDREA » 27.04.2008, 12:05

Hello Marty,some suggestions:
1- this stuff works ONLY under 1.5 and following issues, NOT under 1.4.1;
2. it looks like you didn't check what I told here:
http://shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=11829&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=60
and didn't use the directory I made available as follows:
http://ftp.tiscali.it/andrea_celestia/iovolcanoes-chrisandbuggs-mergedmoddedbyandrea.rar
And the image below shows how I have installed it in my Celestia Extras folder, click to see the image full size.
Hope this will help. :wink:
Bye

Andrea :D
io_volcanoes.jpg
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4324
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 56
With us: 17 years 3 months
Location: Montreal

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #79by Cham » 27.04.2008, 14:40

buggs_moran wrote:I am pretty content with my redesign of the volcanic plumes that I recently released. Some of the changes include:
- A sulfur "snow" effect rather than the long tail ejecta (the old texture is included)
- I set all the plumes to be Emissive True so they show on the dark side as well. This is unrealistic, but I was having too much trouble.

I look forward to you critiques...once I make the final tweaks I will post to the Motherlode as well.

Buggs, this new version is perfect ! :D The plumes are now MUCH more nicely looking (feel more natural, now).

How "unrealistic" are they, on the dark side ? I don't see'em as unrealistic at all, since the hot (blue) sulfur is emitting light. I believe they are looking more realistic than with emissive set to OFF.

My only unimportant "critique" is about the SSC formatting. The spacements are random. For example :

Code: Select all

"Zamama" "Sol/Jupiter/Io" {      

   Radius 1.000
   Class "invisible"
   OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io"} }
   FixedPosition [ -1713.5118 -222.5463 574.7969 ]
   BodyFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io"} }
   FixedRotation {
       Inclination        71.6      # 90 - latitude
          AscendingNode     -82.6   # 90 + longitude
      }
   Albedo 0.0
}



"Ord0" "Sol/Jupiter/Io/Zamama" {      
Radius 1.0
Class "invisible"

FixedPosition [ 65.1 0 -9.375 ]
OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io/Zamama"} }

FixedRotation { }
BodyFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io/Zamama"} }

Albedo 0.0   
}


should be this, instead (for the ease of reading) :

Code: Select all

"Zamama" "Sol/Jupiter/Io"
{
   Radius 1
   Class "invisible"

   OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io"} }
   FixedPosition [ -1713.5118 -222.5463 574.7969 ]
   BodyFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io"} }

   FixedRotation {
      Inclination 71.6      # 90 - latitude
      AscendingNode -82.6   # 90 + longitude
   }

   Albedo 0
}

"Ord0" "Sol/Jupiter/Io/Zamama"
{
   Radius 1
   Class "invisible"

   FixedPosition [ 65.1 0 -9.375 ]
   OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io/Zamama"} }
   FixedRotation { }
   BodyFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Jupiter/Io/Zamama"} }
   Albedo 0
}


Oh, and I strongly suggest that you use the Class "diffuse" command, for all the plume model declarations, so we can't click on them and to turn OFF the planet shine effect.
Last edited by Cham on 27.04.2008, 15:49, edited 1 time in total.
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #80by buggs_moran » 27.04.2008, 15:40

Thanks Cham,

As far as unrealistic goes, I doubt the sulfur puts off that much light. There might be some diffuse glow there if you were standing on the night side surface, but the lava pools would be brighter. The reading I did in order to get a feel for these was unclear on how these would look on the night side... The Tvashtar image from the New Horizons probe, and as far as I know all of the other plume images, were enhanced to bring out the detail.

Your comments on the coding aren't much of a surprise. You should see my HTML, it's awful. :wink: I will look into reformatting it in the near future. (As Andrea knows, near future for me could mean months). I totally agree on the diffuse command. Perhaps I will look forward to a 1.6 release so it will work with a release version.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online