Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #41by ANDREA » 12.01.2008, 15:11

danielj wrote:Well,I could get the PREVIOUS version to work:
I will try to put manually the textures in the folders and see if it works.The problems may be that each new instalation messed up with the old one...

Danielj, I suggest you to eliminate ALL the iovolcanoes stuff you have in your extras subdir, then add in the same the Iovolcanoes2, exactly as given in the .txt file contained there, that BTW exactly what I suggested you in my previous post. :wink:
Surely it will work.
bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #42by buggs_moran » 12.01.2008, 21:55

Daniel,

Another thing you might try is a secondary install of Celestia in a different directory. (I personally recently had 5 separate installations (1.4, 1.5, vincents lua, etc), I am down to 2 now for testing). Install only the newest version of the addon and see if it works. If it still is doing the same thing I would either guess that you need to hit CTRL-V to change the rendering engine or possibly reinstall the graphics drivers on your machine. The white balls you are seeing are supposed to be invisible.
Homebrew:
WinXP Pro SP2
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz
1 GB Crucial RAM
80 GB WD SATA drive
ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #43by ANDREA » 12.01.2008, 23:25

Hello Chris, I was thinking about Triton's ice volcans: is there the possibility to put the same Io volcanoes on Triton, with a minimal amount of work? 8O
Obviously the color of ejecta should be white instead of bluish. :wink:
And, why not, the same thing for one Earth volcan, with red ejecta? :twisted:
This way we could show to the students the differences among the three types of eyecta, melted rochs, burning sulphur, ice, on the only three Solar System objects with active volcanoes.
Any possibility?
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #44by buggs_moran » 12.01.2008, 23:42

Sure, it would be very easy the way I have it set up... The only problem is the look.

- The circular plumes will not look right on Earth.
- I am not sure, but didn't Triton have geysers, not volcanoes? I have an idea for geysers though...
- I even thought about Enceladus at one point too, but wasn't sure about the geometry there either.

If you feel like getting a list of sites together, I can look into building them.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #45by ANDREA » 13.01.2008, 00:10

buggs_moran wrote: Sure, it would be very easy the way I have it set up... The only problem is the look.
- The circular plumes will not look right on Earth.
- I am not sure, but didn't Triton have geysers, not volcanoes? I have an idea for geysers though....
Yes, I found that the eruptive material is probably liquid nitrogen, dust, or methane compounds from beneath the surface. But I think that at -235?°C as is Triton's surface, everything freezes immediately, producing this way a volcanic plume, IMO. One of Voyager's images shows an actual plume rising 8 km above the surface and extending 140 km
buggs_moran wrote:- I even thought about Enceladus at one point too, but wasn't sure about the geometry there either.
I found no evidence of volcanoes on Enceladus, only a theory that says that Enceladus is very likely the source of the material in Saturn's E ring. And since the material cannot persist in the ring for more than a few thousand years, it must be due to very recent activity on Enceladus.
But up to now, as for what I could find, there is no evidence of this.
EDITED LATER: Sorry, my fault, Enceladus HAS them, as shown here
http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/multimedia/i ... ageID=2779 and here
http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/multimedia/i ... ageID=2826
while in this image there are the positions of the 8 found emission locations:
http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/multimedia/i ... ageID=2778
buggs_moran wrote:- If you feel like getting a list of sites together, I can look into building them.

Well, you are very kind as usual, Chris, so I'll give a look to find locations on Triton and a couple on the Earth, too.
BTW, the volcanic plumes on Earth volcanoes are more vertical, I mean that ejecta fall down along the volcan's slope, so perhaps you can modify the circle in a very elongated vertical ellipse, if I understood the way in which plumes work. This should provide moreover a closer distance among ejecta, with the result of a denser plume, so closer to the Earth's ones. Regarding Triton, I think that it should have equally an elliptical shape, but horizontal, instead of vertical as on the Earth (remember, the plume imaged by Voyager was 8 km hign and 140 wide!). 8O
Bye soon

Andrea :D .
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Post #46by danielj » 14.01.2008, 13:43

Don??t blame Windows Vista TOO SOON!
Me,with Windows XP,the frame rate drops from 35 to 13 fps in the case of the 4 new volcanoes in the new cmod compared to one volcanoe with the old cmod...


fsgregs wrote:Buggs:

My fps went from 7 to 14 after switching to the new CMOD, so ....

Frank

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #47by buggs_moran » 14.01.2008, 15:05

danielj wrote:Don??t blame Windows Vista TOO SOON!
Me,with Windows XP,the frame rate drops from 35 to 13 fps in the case of the 4 new volcanoes in the new cmod compared to one volcanoe with the old cmod...


fsgregs wrote:Buggs:

My fps went from 7 to 14 after switching to the new CMOD, so ....

Frank


Very weird. Mine dropped as well. I will have to test this more. I imagine that some problems may be due to other programs running and uptime of the system. I just haven't had time to really test under different conditions.

Does anyone have any ideas on why, after running a cmod fix, the frame rate would drop instead of improving. I will admit, I do not understand the cmodfix program that well, but the size of the file dropped so why wouldn't the framerate improve? I will be running an optimization of the pngs next.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 15 years 4 months

Post #48by Chuft-Captain » 14.01.2008, 16:09

I haven't used cmodfix, so I don't know what it does, but if it has done some smoothing of the mesh, then that would result in an increase in polygons which might explain a decrease in FPS.

Coming from a position of ignorance, so I apologize if that's no help.

CC
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10139
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #49by selden » 14.01.2008, 16:28

cmodfix has several options which will increase the size of a mesh -- adding normals and tangents, for example.
It does not do any smoothing.

If you select only the -b option (translate ascii to binary) the output file size will be minimal.
Selden

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Post #50by danielj » 14.01.2008, 16:46

I also didn??t try the cmod fix

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #51by ANDREA » 17.01.2008, 18:28

ANDREA wrote:Well, you are very kind as usual, Chris, so I'll give a look to find locations on Triton and a couple on the Earth, too. Andrea :D .

As I promised. here is the list of the seven "maculae" corresponding to Triton geysers:

Code: Select all

Location "Akupara Maculae" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -63 27.5 0 ]
    Size 100
    Type "MA"
}

Location "Doro Macula" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -31.7 27.5 0 ]
    Size 100
    Type "MA"
}


Location "Kikimora Maculae" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -78 31 0 ]
    Size 100
    Type "MA"
}

Location "Namazu Macula" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -14 25.5 0 ]
    Size 100
    Type "MA"
}

Location "Rem Maculae" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -349.5 -13 0 ]
    Size 150
    Type "MA"
}

Location "Viviane Macula" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -36.5 31 0 ]
    Size 100
    Type "MA"
}

Location "Zin Maculae" "Sol/Neptune/Triton"
{
    LongLat [ -68 24.5 0 ]
    Size 300
    Type "MA"


I have the image showing the positions of the Enceladus "fountains", in a short time I'll give you their positions. :wink:
Bye soon

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #52by buggs_moran » 17.01.2008, 18:45

Cool, I am working on the models...
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #53by ANDREA » 17.01.2008, 18:48

buggs_moran wrote:Cool, I am working on the models...

Wonderful, thank you.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Nastytang
Posts: 51
Joined: 31.12.2007
With us: 13 years 3 months

Post #54by Nastytang » 17.01.2008, 21:54

Question the Io Volcanic Plumes work for me in Celestia 1.5 but not 1.4.1
is it suppose to work with both ???
AKA URANUS PAINUS

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #55by buggs_moran » 18.01.2008, 01:54

Just 1.5 sorry...
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Nastytang
Posts: 51
Joined: 31.12.2007
With us: 13 years 3 months

Post #56by Nastytang » 18.01.2008, 02:22

buggs_moran wrote:Just 1.5 sorry...


Kool No Problem Buggs I`m real new @ this and did not know if I

was doing some thing wrong!!!
Thanks
Nasty
AKA URANUS PAINUS

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1299
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 18 years 6 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Post #57by fsgregs » 20.01.2008, 15:00

Andrea:

Thanks for the Triton geysers location ssc file. :)

FYI, you left out the closing bracket at the end of the last statement. Without it, the ssc file won't work.

Regards

Frank

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #58by ANDREA » 20.01.2008, 16:06

fsgregs wrote:Andrea: Thanks for the Triton geysers location ssc file. :) FYI, you left out the closing bracket at the end of the last statement. Without it, the ssc file won't work.
Regards Frank

Thank you Frank, but I was not giving it as an ssc file, but only a list of the exact coordinates where Buggs Moran should put the ice fountains, no more. :wink:
Sorry for my missed information. I apologize.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #59by ANDREA » 21.01.2008, 13:41

Searching for data regarding Enceladus "jets", in the CICLOPS pages I found fortunately this very interesting paper
http://ciclops.org/media/sp/2007/3881_9283_0.pdf
that has all what is needed, i.e. the exact locations of the eight jets along the "tiger stripe fractures". 8)
They are:

# Fracture name LAT LON
I BAGHDAD -81.5 32.8
II DAMASCUS -79.4 315.5
III DAMASCUS -81.3 292.8
IV ALEXANDRIA -72.9 148.7
V CAIRO -78.6 72.3
VI BAGHDAD -87.1 231.4
VII BAGHDAD -74.6 29.8
VIII CAIRO -82.1 115.5
(The LON increase towards the West)

In the image the white circles with yellow Roman numerals are the eight jets positions
Hope this will be what you need, Chris.
Good work. :wink:
Bye

Andrea :D
Last edited by ANDREA on 27.04.2008, 14:10, edited 1 time in total.
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #60by buggs_moran » 21.01.2008, 14:21

Wow, great work Andrea. I am toying with different ideas for the plumes. I might just do a static model to begin with and work from there...

Thanks for all the hard work!

Chris
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online