Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 6 months

Post #21by BobHegwood » 29.12.2007, 21:05

fsgregs wrote: Buggs:

it is a great add-on. :D

I seem to have a problem, however. when I back away from Io a bit with the add-on running, the plumes don't just fade away, they turn bright white and form a big crazy white blob on both the light and the dark side of Io. I suspect it has something to do with the way 1.5.0pre5 handles albedo. Does anyone else see this?

Frank


Yes, but it also shows up using Chris' point-sprites too, so there's a
problem in there that doesn't have to do specifically with the add-on.
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 19 years 2 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #22by chris » 29.12.2007, 22:13

The albedo of the volcanoes should be set to zero so that they're not rendered when they occupy less than a single pixel on screen.

But, Celestia should really have a new object class called 'surfacefeature' (or something like that.) Objects of this class would never be rendered as star-like points at a distance, and it's a more accurate tag than the fallback of asteroid or spacecraft.

And Buggs, this is a very cool add-on!

--Chris

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #23by buggs_moran » 30.12.2007, 02:40

chris wrote:The albedo of the volcanoes should be set to zero so that they're not rendered when they occupy less than a single pixel on screen.

But, Celestia should really have a new object class called 'surfacefeature' (or something like that.) Objects of this class would never be rendered as star-like points at a distance, and it's a more accurate tag than the fallback of asteroid or spacecraft.

And Buggs, this is a very cool add-on!

--Chris


Coming from you, that is one heck of a complement. Thank you.

I have set the albedo to 0, everything is better now.

I REALLY like the idea of the surfacefeature. That would work well with so many of our addons. Would/could the surfacefeature have/cast shadows?
There are infinite applications of this.
Homebrew:
WinXP Pro SP2
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz
1 GB Crucial RAM
80 GB WD SATA drive
ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #24by buggs_moran » 30.12.2007, 03:29

Okay now,

I have replaced the zip file. Delete the old folder and replace with new.
IO ZIP FILE 071229

Changes
- Albedo set to 0 on all parts, plumes vanish as you pull away.
- Pele turned off but left in directory (change .off to .ssc to turn on)
- While doing more reading on the topic, it turns out that Pele's plume
is actually not visible to the eye. It is a different type of plume than
the smaller ones. So I disabled it.
- Tvashtar size made 100 km smaller to 200km height.
- Added Pillan and Zamama (erupted during Galileo's visit).
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 6 months

Post #25by BobHegwood » 30.12.2007, 04:41

chris wrote:The albedo of the volcanoes should be set to zero so that they're not rendered when they occupy less than a single pixel on screen.

But, Celestia should really have a new object class called 'surfacefeature' (or something like that.) Objects of this class would never be rendered as star-like points at a distance, and it's a more accurate tag than the fallback of asteroid or spacecraft.

And Buggs, this is a very cool add-on!

--Chris


Thanks for the albedo tip, Chris, but weren't you the person who
berated me for liking this approach more than your point-sprites
add-on in the first place? :wink:

I've been telling you all that this was a VERY cool add-on since
day one. Must have been because the praise came from that
Brain-Dead Mouthy guy who never really knows what the hell he's
talking about anyway I guess. Hee, hee.

Thanks again Buggs. I repeat my earlier observations here...

SUPERB!
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 6 months

Post #26by BobHegwood » 30.12.2007, 13:00

Note: These revised plumes are even nicer if that's possible. The
way the ejecta seemingly floats back to Io's surface is - again -
SUPERB!

By the way, no more problems with bright lights from Io now. :wink:

Thanks again.
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #27by buggs_moran » 30.12.2007, 14:04

Bob wrote:I've been telling you all that this was a VERY cool add-on since
day one. Must have been because the praise came from that
Brain-Dead Mouthy guy who never really knows what the hell he's
talking about anyway I guess. Hee, hee.


Don't sell yourself short Bob :wink: , your praise and input on this is one of the things that keeps me going back to it... :) I finally feel like I've made some kind of contribution.

Now I just have to finish those pesky binary systems... :twisted:
Image
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 6 months

Post #28by BobHegwood » 30.12.2007, 14:44

Better watch yourself there Christopher...

You'll burn yourself out if you keep it up at this rate. :wink:
At any rate, very cool stuff. By the way, I kept ALL of the
plumes working on Io. Kinda drops my FPS rate, but it's worth
it.

Thanks again my friend.
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #29by buggs_moran » 31.12.2007, 00:15

I tried messing with the cmod model a bit to shrink it down and speed up frame rates. To try it out (and give me input on any noticeable change) download the cmod below and replace it in your io plumes models directory (option 1) or just download the whole addon again (option 2)

1: Just the cmod

2: The whole kit and kaboodle
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

mikej
Posts: 14
Joined: 01.04.2006
With us: 15 years

Post #30by mikej » 31.12.2007, 01:21

OK so your latest is even better!
The new cmod helps a little but the add-on is too good to not use! (All plumes on)

What is that V426 OPH? Can we have it :D

Thanks!
Michael

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #31by buggs_moran » 31.12.2007, 02:27

mikej wrote:OK so your latest is even better!
The new cmod helps a little but the add-on is too good to not use! (All plumes on)

What is that V426 OPH? Can we have it :D

Thanks!


Glad you like it.

v426 Oph is a cataclysmic variable intermediate polar binary system. I think I got that right. It is something I worked on quite a while ago and then shelved. Certain aspects were never quite right. I hope to have some time now to dedicate to firming up the addon. I couldn't give a date even if I wanted to. Sorry.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1299
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 18 years 6 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Post #32by fsgregs » 31.12.2007, 06:03

For those who want to use the Ionight texture in their add-on that Buggs placed a link to earlier but do not want to permanently edit their solarsys.ssc file, all you have to do is place the texture in the medres folder inside the Io sub-folder, which comes with the volcano add-on. Then, paste this into a text document and create an ssc file named "ionight.ssc".

Modify "Io" "Sol/Jupiter"
{
NightTexture "ionight.*"
}


The path would be:

extras/ioplumes/io/ionight.ssc
extras/ioplumes/io//textures/medres/ionight.png

Thanks Buggs for this incredible add-on. I am astounded how many ssc entries you had to make to get this thing working. It looks like well over a 1000 lines, if we total all the separate plumes. GOOD GRIEF 8O

Frank

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 6 months

Post #33by BobHegwood » 31.12.2007, 12:53

Buggs,

Just so you know, I actually get a better frame-rate using the first
cmod, even though it's much larger.

My FPS dropped to about 3.8 with the new CMOD vs 6.98 via the
old one.

Like I said though... I really don't care. The beauty and realism of
this add-on makes it worthwhile. :wink:

So PLEASE don't worry about it. I am extremely grateful for this
perspective of Io. I can watch it all day.
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #34by buggs_moran » 31.12.2007, 13:26

fsgregs wrote:Thanks Buggs for this incredible add-on. I am astounded how many ssc entries you had to make to get this thing working. It looks like well over a 1000 lines, if we total all the separate plumes. GOOD GRIEF 8O

Frank


Hey, thanks for that modify bit. I never remember that stuff.

As far as the thousands of line of code, I have to admit there was some heavy handed help from Excel and Word. I never learned to code (well unless you count BASIC and FORTRAN77 but that was eons ago) so I set up a merge. In Excel, I set up columns for the parameters I needed, entered a plume height, threw in a random seed and bingo.

Code: Select all

deg   x   y    coord         RAN     ROTOF  ROTPER   RAD
0    99.6  0  [99.6 0 -12.5]  0.9829  353.9   0.26   99.6


The spreadsheet made the coordinates, gave me a random offset and rotation period for 60 points around a circle. All I really needed was Algebra, couldn't be done without it (for all you students out there). I used the Algebra to convert from lat and long, to find the exit velocity of different sized plumes (which set their rotation period, I think it's pretty close to reality) and to give x and y coordinates around the center of the volcano. Then I merged it. I am currently attempting the same thing with an accretion disk.

Fun stuff. I am so pleased people like it. Thank you.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #35by buggs_moran » 31.12.2007, 13:47

BobHegwood wrote:Buggs,

Just so you know, I actually get a better frame-rate using the first
cmod, even though it's much larger.

My FPS dropped to about 3.8 with the new CMOD vs 6.98 via the
old one.

Like I said though... I really don't care. The beauty and realism of
this add-on makes it worthwhile. :wink:

So PLEASE don't worry about it. I am extremely grateful for this
perspective of Io. I can watch it all day.


Problem is I do worry about it. I ran a cmodfix

Code: Select all

cmodfix -u -w -n -s 45 in.cmod out.cmod


but I guess it made thinks worse, help...
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 6 months

Post #36by BobHegwood » 31.12.2007, 13:55

buggs_moran wrote:
but I guess it made thinks worse, help...


Well, remember too, that I'm on a Vista machine, so there ain't no
telling what else is going on. See the latest Motherlode Peer Group
Review post for more entertainment. :wink:
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1299
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 18 years 6 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Post #37by fsgregs » 31.12.2007, 18:45

Buggs:

My fps went from 7 to 14 after switching to the new CMOD, so ....

Frank

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Post #38by danielj » 12.01.2008, 14:10

Something WRONG happened.Look:
http://img138.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... rorsz1.jpg

Then I realize that all the files inside Io plumes folder were missing.(because of a virus?).So,I reinstall,but the problem persists:
http://img169.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... rsiox9.jpg

Any clue?
:?

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #39by ANDREA » 12.01.2008, 14:44

danielj wrote:Something WRONG happened.
Then I realize that all the files inside Io plumes folder were missing.(because of a virus?).So,I reinstall,but the problem persists: Any clue?
:?

Danielj, have you checked that, after reinstalling, in your Iovolnanoes directory (or whatever be its name) there are both models and textures subdirs, and that
"models" contains "ejecta.cmod" (2137 KB), and
"textures" have
"hires" subdir with "ejecta.png" (1346 KB) and
"medres" with "ejecta.png" (464 KB) and "old ejecta.png" (70 KB)?
Hope this helps, but if all the stuff is installed in such a way, dunno what can be the reason, sorry. :oops:
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Post #40by danielj » 12.01.2008, 14:47

Well,I could get the PREVIOUS version to work:
http://img247.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... ionue8.jpg

I will try to put manually the textures in the folders and see if it works.The problems may be that each new instalation messed up with the old one...


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online