Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post requests, images, descriptions and reports about work in progress here.
Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #1by buggs_moran » 25.12.2007, 02:27

I am pretty content with my redesign of the volcanic plumes that I recently released. Some of the changes include:
- A sulfur "snow" effect rather than the long tail ejecta (the old texture is included)
- I set all the plumes to be Emissive True so they show on the dark side as well. This is unrealistic, but I was having too much trouble.

I look forward to you critiques...once I make the final tweaks I will post to the Motherlode as well.

http://www.clanmoran.net/celestia/site/files/Celestia_Add-ons3/Io_Volcanos_2.0/ioplumes.zip

Some images

Image

Image

Image

Image
Homebrew:
WinXP Pro SP2
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz
1 GB Crucial RAM
80 GB WD SATA drive
ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 15 years 6 months

Post #2by ElChristou » 25.12.2007, 05:44

Look nice; will test in a few hours! Hic! :wink:
Image

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #3by ANDREA » 25.12.2007, 10:46

Chrois, just tested and they are very very nice.
A little suggestion:
just like in your first release, I think that the overall dimensions are excessive, at least the double of the real plumes, as for what I've seen in the real pictures.
Can you please check it?
Thank you, and Merry Xmas
Hic!!
And Hic! again!!! 8O
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 15 years 6 months

Post #4by ElChristou » 25.12.2007, 11:32

Just test it and yep, I have to agree with Andrea, the size of the 2 biggest is a bit excessive.
Now when you look at the center, the impression is very nice.
Concerning the texture, I'd like to see a few stripes from the old one (perhaps faded) to give a bit more nerve...
Image

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #5by buggs_moran » 25.12.2007, 14:01

I know they seem ridiculously large. I've looked at the pictures from New Horizons and checked my model sizes many times. In fact, I just overlayed the New Horizons shot from Feb 28, 2007 over the same moment in Celestia and they are almost a perfect match... 8O Much of the data I have gone over claims a plume size of anywhere from 300 to 500 km for Tvashtar and Pele. If you look at Pele in Celestia, you will see that the ring around the center of the plume matches quite nicely with my plume. I didn't think they were realistic either. Perhaps the size evident in the photos is picking up more gas and therefore the plumes "look" larger, I don't know. I think one of the big problems is that my plume might be the right "height", but since it is made up of circular paths, it's overall diameter is larger than the real plume extent. (Cannot model cyclic parabolic motion in Celestia :cry: )

I am willing to shrink them down a bit. It's not a problem.

Chris, I will play with adding some projectiles. :wink:

Thanks guys, happy holidays.

Image
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 15 years 6 months

Post #6by ElChristou » 25.12.2007, 14:16

buggs_moran wrote:...I think one of the big problems is that my plume might be the right "height", but since it is made up of circular paths, it's overall diameter is larger than the real plume extent...


True, so a compromise would be nice to match the right feeling... ...or if you have a way to ad a few rotating spheres on top to increase the height then reduce the whole...
Image

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #7by ANDREA » 25.12.2007, 14:23

Chris, you are right about dimensions compared with New Horizons images, but (there is always a "but"!) such images were taken with long exposures, if my memory is correct. 8O
So the overall dimensions look greater than those visible with naked eye.
It's only a matter of discussion if to choose the corrispondence with images, or the one with the actual visible shape.
The decision is yours, obviously. :wink:
Anyhow, it's a notable addon as it is now, so whatever will be your decision on the matter, well done and appreciated, on the screen next week!
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #8by ANDREA » 25.12.2007, 15:39

Chris, it looks very, VERY, VEEEEERY NICE!

Image

Image


Appreciated.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 12 years 10 months

Post #9by BobHegwood » 25.12.2007, 16:01

ANDREA wrote:Chris, it looks very, VERY, VEEEEERY NICE!
Appreciated.
Bye

Andrea :D


To this, I simply have to add my unadulterated approval and
appreciation. I love these representations.

Many thanks my friend. :wink:
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 14 years 11 months
Location: Indiana, United States

Post #10by Hungry4info » 25.12.2007, 18:38

buggs_moran wrote:Image


For a second, I thought the second image was a real one. Dangit haha. Well, indeed it does look very nice!

Is it just me, or does Io look a bit... oblate in the New Horizons image in comparison to the Celestia image?
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #11by buggs_moran » 25.12.2007, 19:24

Hungry4info wrote:For a second, I thought the second image was a real one. Dangit haha. Well, indeed it does look very nice!

Is it just me, or does Io look a bit... oblate in the New Horizons image in comparison to the Celestia image?


You'll have to forgive me. I was in a rush (Xmas morning and all) and resized poorly...
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #12by buggs_moran » 25.12.2007, 19:27

ElChristou wrote:
buggs_moran wrote:...I think one of the big problems is that my plume might be the right "height", but since it is made up of circular paths, it's overall diameter is larger than the real plume extent...

True, so a compromise would be nice to match the right feeling... ...or if you have a way to ad a few rotating spheres on top to increase the height then reduce the whole...


That's actually why I was trying to get a hold of Cham before he left for those convection spheres... The plume height would be correct and the fallout would look better too... Guess I'll have to wait for his return.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #13by danielj » 28.12.2007, 18:20

Very interesting,but I can??t see the hot spots in the dark side and the locations are not correctly labeled.What do I do with the old folder?This is not explained in the installation instructions.
Look how the location appear:
http://img143.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... ionnl4.jpg
http://img241.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... ionzu8.jpg


Look to how computer demanding this addon is.I barely reach 15 fps and only when I disable clouds,I get around 19 fps.And my computer is not the worst of all;Athlon64 X2 3800,2 GB RAM and 7600 GT.So the model HAVE to be modified to improve perfomance in most computers.If this is a preview of what to come,everyone that CAN??T buy a Phenom or Athlon 64 5000+ and a Geforce 8 or 9 until the middle of 2008 will be DOOMED!
My configuration is 1024X768,0XAA AND 0XAF.
One more thing;the model is flickering sometimes...

ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1803
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 17 years
Location: Switzerland

Post #14by ajtribick » 28.12.2007, 19:48

buggs_moran wrote:(Cannot model cyclic parabolic motion in Celestia :cry: )

Do you actually need parabolic motion for realism? If the particles are in a bound orbit, that would be elliptical, with the centre of Io at one focus, while parabolic is the trajectory you get in a uniform gravitational field, or am I getting confused here?

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Io Volcanic Plumes mark 2

Post #15by buggs_moran » 29.12.2007, 01:30

danielj wrote:Very interesting,but I can??t see the hot spots in the dark side and the locations are not correctly labeled.What do I do with the old folder?This is not explained in the installation instructions.
Look how the location appear:
http://img143.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... ionnl4.jpg
http://img241.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... ionzu8.jpg


Look to how computer demanding this addon is.I barely reach 15 fps and only when I disable clouds,I get around 19 fps.And my computer is not the worst of all;Athlon64 X2 3800,2 GB RAM and 7600 GT.So the model HAVE to be modified to improve perfomance in most computers.If this is a preview of what to come,everyone that CAN??T buy a Phenom or Athlon 64 5000+ and a Geforce 8 or 9 until the middle of 2008 will be DOOMED!
My configuration is 1024X768,0XAA AND 0XAF.
One more thing;the model is flickering sometimes...


Hmm,

Well first off, the night side texture is not included in this addon. It is something I created (it is by no means scientifically accurate) in my medres textures folder. You can get it below, but you will have to create the appropriate lines in your solarsys.ssc.

You need to delete the old folder and everything in it. It is running slowly and flickering due to the old one still existing. Sorry about that. Those are the bits of information I am looking for to get this ready for a final release to my site and the motherlode.

I just loaded Celestia 1.5 pre 5 and turned on locations with CTRL-& and everything seems fine. The locations may be a few kilometers off, but the center of eruptions move over time, I used the data from the USGS for placing the plumes.

Here is the night side png
http://www.clanmoran.net/celestia/site/files/Celestia_Add-ons3/Io_Volcanos_2.0/ionight.png
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #16by buggs_moran » 29.12.2007, 01:43

chaos syndrome wrote:
buggs_moran wrote:(Cannot model cyclic parabolic motion in Celestia :cry: )
Do you actually need parabolic motion for realism? If the particles are in a bound orbit, that would be elliptical, with the centre of Io at one focus, while parabolic is the trajectory you get in a uniform gravitational field, or am I getting confused here?


Well, no. That is workable and I tried it early on. It's not too tough to model half an ellipse as a parabola, yay Algebra! However, binding hundreds, if not thousands of png "billboards" to an elliptical orbit to achieve what we see in this addon would severely cripple a system. I don't know if you've ever tried the LARGE asteroid addon for Celestia, but it makes my system crawl. Neat to see, easy to implement, hard to justify.

What I would really like to see is the ability to repeatedly send a billboard along a curved path. It would have to conform to the shape of the path, in my case, a parabola, and do it over and over. This would allow numerous addons (more realistic solar flares, gas streaming, and of course, volcanoes).

Even better, the ability to show a clip of motion, like a video, on an object so we could have all of the above and more.

I really just need to get off my butt and learn how to program.
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

mikej
Posts: 14
Joined: 01.04.2006
With us: 14 years 4 months

Post #17by mikej » 29.12.2007, 04:49

I have no idea how you folks do this kind of stuff, but this is BRILLIANT!
I am keeping the original in case you change it! The night side is also very good.
My only "complaint" is that, from a distance, this gives Io 2 or 3 large bright spots which protrude from the surface. Io looks more like an artificial sattelite than a moon. Could this be made into an alternate surface? Or could it br made to "turn off" after a certain distance?

Thanks!
Michael

Topic author
buggs_moran
Posts: 835
Joined: 27.09.2004
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Post #18by buggs_moran » 29.12.2007, 13:28

mikej wrote:I have no idea how you folks do this kind of stuff, but this is BRILLIANT!
I am keeping the original in case you change it! The night side is also very good.
My only "complaint" is that, from a distance, this gives Io 2 or 3 large bright spots which protrude from the surface. Io looks more like an artificial sattelite than a moon. Could this be made into an alternate surface? Or could it br made to "turn off" after a certain distance?

Thanks!


You are quite welcome. I love it when my work is called brilliant. I get that ego-boost glow about me...

The only change I am working on is throwing in a couple of streamers, or path of larger objects being thrown out. The "original" version of this addon looked like this.

Image

As you can see there is quite a difference. The "streamers" give an implied motion, where the "snow" doesn't, so I will add a few for (heh) impact...

As far as the bright spots go. Do you mean how bright they are as dots when you are far away? If so, I am going to work on that, but there is only so much I can do...
Homebrew:

WinXP Pro SP2

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe

AMD Athlon XP 3000/333 2.16 GHz

1 GB Crucial RAM

80 GB WD SATA drive

ATI AIW 9600XT 128M

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1299
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 17 years 10 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Post #19by fsgregs » 29.12.2007, 19:46

Andrea, your Io texture is very high res. Where can I get it? Is it available on Motherlode?

Frank

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1299
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 17 years 10 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Post #20by fsgregs » 29.12.2007, 20:57

Buggs:

it is a great add-on. :D

I seem to have a problem, however. when I back away from Io a bit with the add-on running, the plumes don't just fade away, they turn bright white and form a big crazy white blob on both the light and the dark side of Io. I suspect it has something to do with the way 1.5.0pre5 handles albedo. Does anyone else see this?

Image

Frank


Return to “Add-on development”

Who is online