64K/128K Blue Marble Next Generation VT PNG !

Tips for creating and manipulating planet textures for Celestia.
Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

64K/128K Blue Marble Next Generation VT PNG !

Post #1by Fightspit » 18.02.2006, 20:27

Since half December, with a little free time, I made two Addons :cool::

The 2 Addons are available in CelestiaMotherlode but you can download the files below:

P.S. : A fast computer is very recommanded !
Original Texture from NASA Blue Marble Next Generation (84K).

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
64K Blue Marble Next Generation PNG:

Level 0-1
Level 2
Level 3 part 1
Level 3 part 2
Level 3 part 3
Level 4 part 1
Level 4 part 2
Level 4 part 3
Level 4 part 4
Level 4 part 5
Level 4 part 6
Level 4 part 7
Level 4 part 8
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
128K Blue Marble Next Generation PNG:

Level 5 part 1
Level 5 part 2
Level 5 part 3
Level 5 part 4
Level 5 part 5
Level 5 part 6
Level 5 part 7
Level 5 part 8

Note: You must need the 64K to work the 128K !
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


Here some screenshots :

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

In the red circle, I think there is a pyramid maybe...

Thanks to Adirondack to put all files in the "creators/fightspit" directory.

PS: The 128K it is not "true" because the original texture which is 84K is blown up to 128K.

PPS: PLEASE read the readme in the zip file "64K_BMNG_level0-1_PNG.zip" how to install these addons.

If you find bugs in Celestia, post down here.
Last edited by Fightspit on 05.05.2006, 10:44, edited 8 times in total.
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 15 years 5 months

Post #2by ElChristou » 18.02.2006, 21:28

Fightspit, Thumbs would be welcome, loading this thread is a real pain...

In all case, Tx for the work of course! :wink:
Image

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #3by Fightspit » 18.02.2006, 21:32

ElChristou wrote:Fightspit, Thumbs would be welcome, loading this thread is a real pain...

In all case, Tx for the work of course! :wink:


I know but I want to show these "great" addons :cool:.
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months

Post #4by Chuft-Captain » 19.02.2006, 14:15

I know but I want to show these "great" addons


Thing is that once the images have gone from our cache, those of us on dial-up will have to re-load 4-5MBs every time we visit the thread, and well we just won't come back in that situation will we?.

.... personally I'd like to revisit the thread to see comments, because they are "great"images.

I suggest as a compromise, you pick a favorite to display fullsize, and convert the others to thumbs .... That way dial-up users won't be too discouraged, and so in the end, more people wil see them and appreciate them.

Just a suggestion,
CC
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 16 years 10 months

Re: 64K/128K Blue Marble Next Generation PNG !

Post #5by danielj » 19.02.2006, 15:29

How fast should be the computer to run the 64k Blue Marble?
Can an Athlon 64 3000,1 GB RAM and Geforce 6600 GT 128 MB do the job?

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 9 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Post #6by cartrite » 19.02.2006, 17:05

NICE JOB,

Brings back memories. Wasn't long ago I was trying to tackle the Blue Marble.
Question? How big is the level 5 folder? I also have my original sized tiles but never scaled
them to 128k. Fast computer? I only have a K7 900 mhz with 512 mb ram and I have no problem running my 64k BMNG. I do have 512x512 tiles though. I was surprised to see you used 2048x2048 tiles. You probally DO need a faster computer to load the larger tiles.
Again, NICE.

cartrite

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #7by Fightspit » 19.02.2006, 17:22

Chuft-Captain wrote:
I know but I want to show these "great" addons

Thing is that once the images have gone from our cache, those of us on dial-up will have to re-load 4-5MBs every time we visit the thread, and well we just won't come back in that situation will we?.

.... personally I'd like to revisit the thread to see comments, because they are "great"images.

I suggest as a compromise, you pick a favorite to display fullsize, and convert the others to thumbs .... That way dial-up users won't be too discouraged, and so in the end, more people wil see them and appreciate them.

Just a suggestion,
CC


OK, I put Thumbs and I think it is more simple to view these images by clicking them.
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

hank
Developer
Posts: 645
Joined: 03.02.2002
With us: 18 years 5 months
Location: Seattle, WA USA

Post #8by hank » 19.02.2006, 17:32

Fightspit,

Why a 2K tile size?

- Hank

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Re: 64K/128K Blue Marble Next Generation PNG !

Post #9by Fightspit » 19.02.2006, 17:39

danielj wrote:How fast should be the computer to run the 64k Blue Marble?
Can an Athlon 64 3000,1 GB RAM and Geforce 6600 GT 128 MB do the job?

cartrite wrote:NICE JOB,

Brings back memories. Wasn't long ago I was trying to tackle the Blue Marble.
Question? How big is the level 5 folder? I also have my original sized tiles but never scaled
them to 128k. Fast computer? I only have a K7 900 mhz with 512 mb ram and I have no problem running my 64k BMNG. I do have 512x512 tiles though. I was surprised to see you used 2048x2048 tiles. You probally DO need a faster computer to load the larger tiles.
Again, NICE.

cartrite

hank wrote:Fightspit,

Why a 2K tile size?

- Hank


I think you need a fast computer because of my tiles which is 2048x2048.
It is possible for me to do a 1024x1024 or 512x512 for medium or low computer but there are others Addons of earth with different resolution and the persons who have these computer can download the 4K or 16K for example.

The computer of danielj can easly work the 64K or 128K if he want but even if a lot people have computer, we don't forget persons which haven't
mean to buy a fast computer and they can download some addons which correspond what they need.

I don't want to do the other addons with low resolution 32K or 16K because there are autors who have made before me the addons which necessary a lot of work.

I hope you will enjoy with my two addons.
:wink:
Bye!
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #10by Fightspit » 19.02.2006, 17:51

cartrite wrote: How big is the level 5 folder?


Go here: http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/catal ... don_id=921
:lol:
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

Avatar
Chuft-Captain
Posts: 1779
Joined: 18.12.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months

Post #11by Chuft-Captain » 20.02.2006, 14:19

Fightspit wrote:OK, I put Thumbs and I think it is more simple to view these images by clicking them.

Much appreciated. (the images AND the thumbs)

I'm back..! :D
"Is a planetary surface the right place for an expanding technological civilization?"
-- Gerard K. O'Neill (1969)

CATALOG SYNTAX HIGHLIGHTING TOOLS LAGRANGE POINTS

Giorgio
Posts: 36
Joined: 19.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #12by Giorgio » 23.02.2006, 14:36

By now I tryed only levels 1-2. As you can see from the pictures posted in this thread there is a darker area near the coast line, and then the sea gets slightly lighter everywhere else. It feels like the continet were clipped from another picture and pasted on a lighter background. Apart from that the colors are interesting, and we get some very good looking snow on Canada.
It requires, at least, a specular map (I tried Harald's) and a normal map (I used Jester MkII) to be ready for a little photo session.
Looks promising

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #13by t00fri » 25.02.2006, 00:09

Hi all,

this is to let everybody know that Fightspit's full 128K Earth texture VT's based on the 2nd generation Blue Marble data are an amazing jump forward both in resolution and in color rendering!

The whole lot is just 4.7 GB in size ...almost nothing ;-)


Here are two examples:

Bye Fridger
Image


Image

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #14by t00fri » 26.02.2006, 00:43

Fightspit:

I noticed that in level 5 quite many tiles are missing! Didn't you check their number before uploading to ML??

[ In Linux it's so easy:
type in level 5 directory:

> ls -1 *.png|wc -l
]


I have only 1962 in level 5 but it should be 2048 tiles.
Do you agree that your level 5 only has 1962 tiles?

E.g. the tip of "Terra del Fuego" (South America, a little south of Puntas Arenas) is missing at level 5...

All tile numbers in the lower levels are correct.

Bye Fridger

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #15by Fightspit » 26.02.2006, 10:29

I think it is a problem of upload maybe...
I will upload again the files problems and thank you to find this problem.

EDIT: the file problem is only the "128K_BMNG_level5_part3_PNG" (170 tiles...) that is all.

When I finish to upload the new file I will inform you that you download again.
Bye :!:
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #16by t00fri » 26.02.2006, 11:54

Fightspit wrote:I think it is a problem of upload maybe...
I will upload again the files problems and thank you to find this problem.

EDIT: the file problem is only the "128K_BMNG_level5_part3_PNG" (170 tiles...) that is all.

When I finish to upload the new file I will inform you that you download again.
Bye :!:


Many thanks, Fightspit!

your tiles are really beautiful. I use them together with 32k Nighlights, Spec and NormalMap VT's. I'll make a DXT1 version of the tiles using my own high-speed DXT converter based on the DevIL graphics libs. However, I shall NOT upload my DXT tiles to the Motherlode (as usual nothing from me on ML) ...

Thanks again for your initiative & efforts...

Bye Fridger

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #17by t00fri » 28.02.2006, 19:12

Fightspit,

since you have still not replaced the wrotten archive (level5 part3) of your upload, I wonder whether it would not be fair to block the download of your level5 stuff at ML in the meantime. Since last Sunday, many users may have downloaded the huge incorrect archive (411 MB) for hours without knowing that it's trash...

Without the complete number of tiles also my normal map tiles crash with your texture and also there are nasty artefacts.

How are things going? Are you working on a replacement of part3?

Bye Fridger

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #18by Fightspit » 28.02.2006, 19:30

I finish to upload this files since 2 days, I send several emails to Adirondack but there are not replies... :cry:
If you are able to contact him, can you tell him that I finish to upload the file please ?

:wink:
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #19by t00fri » 28.02.2006, 20:23

Fightspit wrote:I finish to upload this files since 2 days, I send several emails to Adirondack but there are not replies... :cry:
If you are able to contact him, can you tell him that I finish to upload the file please ?

:wink:


I don't know how ML is internally organized. Does this mean I can download now your modified file from somehwere? Or does Adirondack still have to activate you replacement file in ML???

I just wrote him a message, but he might well be away for some time...

Bye Fridger

Topic author
Fightspit
Posts: 510
Joined: 15.05.2005
With us: 15 years 1 month

Post #20by Fightspit » 28.02.2006, 20:45

t00fri wrote: Does this mean I can download now your modified file from somehwere? Or does Adirondack still have to activate you replacement file in ML???


I haven't a lot free space on my personal web server (100mb....) and the size of the new file is not 411 MB but..... 570 MB :roll: :lol: .

Thank you for your help.
Bye :!:
Motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
Processor: Intel Core2 E6700 @ 3Ghz
Ram: Corsair 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 384 bits PCI-Express 16x
HDD: Western Digital Raptor 150GB 10000 rpm
OS: Windows Vista Business 32 bits


Return to “Textures”

Who is online