Download Large DDS textures here

Tips for creating and manipulating planet textures for Celestia.
billybob884
Posts: 986
Joined: 16.08.2002
With us: 18 years 9 months
Location: USA, East Coast

Post #21by billybob884 » 24.11.2002, 22:05

links aren't working (again) :wink:
Mike M.

TacoTopia!

Topic author
Darkmiss
Posts: 1059
Joined: 20.08.2002
With us: 18 years 8 months
Location: London, England

Post #22by Darkmiss » 25.11.2002, 01:01

okay Billybob is the link police.

ywah all the links from the bruckners celestianews site are down
as his web site is offline
CPU- Intel Pentium Core 2 Quad ,2.40GHz
RAM- 2Gb 1066MHz DDR2
Motherboard- Gigabyte P35 DQ6
Video Card- Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS + 640Mb
Hard Drives- 2 SATA Raptor 10000rpm 150GB
OS- Windows Vista Home Premium 32

billybob884
Posts: 986
Joined: 16.08.2002
With us: 18 years 9 months
Location: USA, East Coast

Post #23by billybob884 » 25.11.2002, 01:19

yes, but i dont think these are from bruckners site, the address is some ftp site, and im not sure that ivans is an ftp.
Mike M.



TacoTopia!

Bob

Real Large dds_files

Post #24by Bob » 25.11.2002, 10:13

Hi again!!

Is there earthnight-dds file that is 16k?
And earthcloud-dds-file that is 8k?

And how do I do to turn off the earthnight "light" on the dayside??

Don. Edwards
Posts: 1510
Joined: 07.09.2002
Age: 55
With us: 18 years 8 months
Location: Albany, Oregon

Post #25by Don. Edwards » 25.11.2002, 11:36

You can't turn off the lights on the day side as its a bug thats been in Celestia from the begining. Chris has just recently told me he fix it for the next big release though. As far the big nightside textures I wouldn't go over 4k as thats more than enogh detail for a dark surface and you would need alot of vram. A large 16k night texture just slows down your system. As for large cloud textures. I have played with 2k, 4k, aand 8k and from what I have seen there is no difrerence. I believe there was a post to the fact that Celestia doesn't really diplay anything over a 4k cloud texture any better. Thats why you don't see to many big cloud textures. For one thing where we get the original images for them they are small usually 2k images. There is an 8k earth cloud texture on the dasmirof server but I have played with it and couldn't see enough of an improvment to wast the video memeory on it. A really well made cloud texture like Fridger's bumpmapped earth cloud texture should get you be quite well. If you insist on a larger one I am afraid the only other one is the 8k at
ftp://ftp.dasmirnov.net/astronomy/celes ... 8k_png.zip
Be warned its going to take a while to download because it not a fast server and that the texture is very flat looking. I am not sure if Fridger ever posted instructions on how to bumpmap the clouds.
Good luck.
I am officially a retired member.
I might answer a PM or a post if its relevant to something.

Ah, never say never!!
Past texture releases, Hmm let me think about it

Thanks for your understanding.

Guest

Post #26by Guest » 05.12.2002, 11:08

I keep tryin to download the Earth textures, but it keeps downloading with the extensions .zip.tgz How can I fix this?

Guest

Post #27by Guest » 07.12.2002, 09:18

I just tried to download the Earth 16k texture (twice). I get it completely downloaded but then there is an error unzipping it. Winzip says:
Extracting earth16k.dds
bad CRC 5f881afe (should be d2363055)
Warning: the size of the extracted file (89447627) does not match the uncompressed size (89478608) recorded in the zip file


Help! Is this file available for download anywhere else, or know what is going wrong?

Ortolan
Posts: 120
Joined: 31.03.2002
With us: 19 years 1 month
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post #28by Ortolan » 07.12.2002, 09:37

You're probably downloading it with internet explorer and the file is being corrupted. Try using a dedicated download manager like Getright or Flashget.

Guest

Post #29by Guest » 07.12.2002, 21:26

I just tried downloading the file using GetRight and by FTP, and it is still corrupt.

Smirnov
Posts: 28
Joined: 27.04.2002
With us: 19 years
Location: Yeovil, UK
Contact:

Post #30by Smirnov » 08.12.2002, 01:22

Hey guys.

Just to let you know about the server, the files aren't corrupt locally, so keep trying.

The server is up and down all over the place at the moment, I do have other services web and mail both running over the same line an FTP is ranked lowest on things that need to work.

The server generally should be up ALWAYS between 22:00 until 10:00 (UT) without exception (unless loss of connection or power failure) it's only during the day I may kill the FTP server as I need the bandwidth.

As for the corruptions problems I still have no idea why this is happening, could be occuring pretty much anywhere, so don't expect it to be resolved anytime soon. When I get a chance I'll RAR the bigger files into 1 or so MB chuncks which should deal with that, *should*.

If someone wants to send me loads of money I could get a much more reliable server and a much faster connection in place. :wink:

troll

other servers?

Post #31by troll » 15.12.2002, 16:21

not to be a pain, but i've been trying to connect to the ftp server for about 24 hours straight with no luck (aparently i'm not pounding it hard enough. :wink: )

has anyone else successfully downloaded them and made them available on another server?

Don. Edwards
Posts: 1510
Joined: 07.09.2002
Age: 55
With us: 18 years 8 months
Location: Albany, Oregon

Post #32by Don. Edwards » 16.12.2002, 06:12

If you are speaking about the dasmirof server its not always up and running. You have to keep trying on a hit and miss basis. Good luck.
I am officially a retired member.
I might answer a PM or a post if its relevant to something.

Ah, never say never!!
Past texture releases, Hmm let me think about it

Thanks for your understanding.

Guest

Post #33by Guest » 19.12.2002, 21:56

Hello!
MerryChrismas to you all Celestiafan!
Please Mr Don.Edwars tell me why my Celestia (I have the latest official version) cant show the 8k PNG file you told me about?
The graphicfile is ok, I can see the clouds in a picture-explorer.
When you want to go to earth the harddisk starts and it dont stop until you close the program!!
I have Gforce4 TI and P4 1,7 large harddisk an 256 mb ram.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10139
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 8 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #34by selden » 19.12.2002, 23:04

Gee, you don't need Don to tell you the problem: you don't have enough main memory. Your system is "paging itself to death." You need to have at least 512MB and preferably 1GB in order to be able to use the large textures. That's why I stick with 2K textures. I only have 256MB, too. :(
Selden

Don. Edwards
Posts: 1510
Joined: 07.09.2002
Age: 55
With us: 18 years 8 months
Location: Albany, Oregon

Post #35by Don. Edwards » 19.12.2002, 23:25

Well this question should have been asked somewhere else in the forum but anyway. The answer to this question is probably very easy to answer.
Since your are using a .png file of that size its a good bet you need to add a line to your .ssc file. Open the .ssc file with notepad or your favorite text editor. Scroll down to the Earth section. Now below the line that tells Celestia what texture to use for Earth you need to add a new line. It should look like this.

"Earth" "Sol"
{
Texture "Earth.png"
NightTexture "lights.JPG"
CompressTexture true
# SpecularTexture ""

You need to add the red colored line. This turns on texture compresion and the fly. It will take a little longer to load the textures but you should be able to see your textures working under Celestia.
One word of warning. If you change over to a .dds texture instead of using a .png you will need to turn off the line by putting a # and a spce in front of its entry in the .ssc or you will see the same problem you had before. Good luck and I hope this answers your question.
I am officially a retired member.
I might answer a PM or a post if its relevant to something.

Ah, never say never!!
Past texture releases, Hmm let me think about it

Thanks for your understanding.

susana
Posts: 4
Joined: 06.11.2003
With us: 17 years 6 months

blue marble DDS and accretion disk on black hole problems

Post #36by susana » 24.11.2003, 20:44

Hi to all and thanks to everyone's contribution to this awe-inspiring and ongoing project of Celestia.
I am someone who enjoys this immensely but unfortunately have no technical skills to contribute. Sorry.
I have downloaded BlueMarble DDS (unzipped 351Mb, zip bm_vtex 94Mb) and unzipped it in Celestia/extras/add-ons directory but when I press right mouse over earth to select alternative surface, it does not work! Did I miss something? Should I modify the solarsys.ssc file to tell celestia to show alternative surfaces? Funny because this works with other planets and moons, but not with earth! My solarsys.ssc file currently has the following configuration for earth:
"Earth" "Sol"
{
Ending "9998 00 01 00:00:01"
InfoURL "Celestiaweb/earth/earth.html"



# Texture "Earth_4k.png"
BumpMap "Earthbump.dds"
Cloudstexture "earthclouds.png"
NightTexture "earthnight.jpg"
Texture "earth.*"
SpecularTexture "earthspec.jpg"
Color [ 0.85 0.85 1.0 ]
SpecularColor [ 0.5 0.5 0.55 ]
SpecularPower 25.0
HazeColor [ 1 1 1 ]
HazeDensity 0.3
Radius 6378
# Oblateness 0.003

# Has ocean bottom texture
# BumpMap "of.jpg"
NormalMap "Earth-normal-8k.dds"
BumpHeight 4.5

Atmosphere {
Height 60
Lower [ 0.5 0.5 0.65 ]
Upper [ 0.3 0.3 0.6 ]
Sky [ 0.3 0.6 0.9 ]
CloudHeight 7
CloudSpeed 65
CloudMap "earthclouds.*"
}

CustomOrbit "vsop87-earth"
EllipticalOrbit {
Period 1.0000
SemiMajorAxis 1.0000
Eccentricity 0.0167
Inclination 0.0001
AscendingNode 348.739
LongOfPericenter 102.947
MeanLongitude 100.464
}

RotationPeriod 23.9344694 # 23.93419
RotationOffset 280.5 # offset at default epoch J2000
Obliquity -23.45
Albedo 0.30
}

Any ideas on how this may be improved?

And since I started, the Accretion Disk of the black hole on fsgregs' great activity is not visible at all! Why? Has anyone had this happen, any suggestions?
Funny, as the 61 Cyg A .ssc file has the right .jpg in there, although with no caps and the actual .jpg has two, but Celestia does not discriminate caps I believe, could this be a small bug?
Can anyone orient me please? Sorry to sound like such a beginner. :cry: HELP!
a flop in time can mean success for tomorrow

AMD Athlon XP 1.41 GHz
512 Mb SDRAM
Rage Fury Pro/Chip: Rage 128 PRO III

TERRIER
Posts: 717
Joined: 29.04.2003
With us: 18 years
Location: West Yorkshire, England

Post #37by TERRIER » 24.11.2003, 23:57

Hello Susana

Phew! Where to start?
Firstly we could do with knowing which version of Celestia you are running? (ie 1.3.0, or 1.3.1 pre 11.....etc) so we can determine whether you can view virtual textures such as the BlueMarble DDS.

I might be able to sort out your problem with the Black Hole. Have you checked that the Black Hole is listed as a 'planet' if you right click on 61 Cyg A? If it is listed then it may just be a case of you viewing it with the ambient light set too low. Suprise suprise this is a very dark texture and you need to whack the lighting up, so as to see it!

Hope this helps?
TERRIER
1.6.0:AMDAth1.2GHz 1GbDDR266:Ge6200 256mbDDR250:WinXP-SP3:1280x1024x32FS:v196.21@AA4x:AF16x:IS=HQ:T.Buff=ON Earth16Kdds@15KkmArctic2000AD:FOV1:SPEC L5dds:NORM L5dxt5:CLOUD L5dds:
NIGHT L5dds:MOON L4dds:GALXY ON:MAG 15.2-SAP:TIME 1000x:RP=OGL2:10.3FPS

susana
Posts: 4
Joined: 06.11.2003
With us: 17 years 6 months

blue marble DDS and accretion disk on black hole problems

Post #38by susana » 25.11.2003, 18:07

Hello Terrier and thanks for giving of your time to reply to me.

You are right about the ambient light, specially for the brightness
of the "blue halo" on Black Hole 2 as you dive just by it on your
ship!
It is strange, though, as I right click on 61 Cyg A, a black hole
appears I can go to (but the Accretion Disk is still not visible even with full ambient light!), but no black hole 2 appears, the only one I have with a "blue halo", I wish it was the other way around. I suppose I do not have the latter written into my deepsky.dsc or the extrasolar.ssc Any suggestions? I suppose there are two questions here, sorry.

One little question, can I regulate the distance of objects after the go to function? For instance, protostar, go to, I end up with the disk right up real close, it would be nice to have it a little further to start with so I can see it, like leaving a certain margin around the edge of the screen!
I know I should read up on scripting but I am slow!

By the way I have Chris Laurel's 1.3.1 version of Celestia. My
start up begins with a full cell script, which is ok the first time you
run it, but I wish it would open on a blank slate, or a cell script
that aims at the sun and stops there or something of this nature.
Is there a simple way to do this?

Thanks in for your infinite pacience... if you have read this far. :roll:
a flop in time can mean success for tomorrow



AMD Athlon XP 1.41 GHz

512 Mb SDRAM

Rage Fury Pro/Chip: Rage 128 PRO III

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 17 years 9 months

Re: Download Large DDS textures here

Post #39by danielj » 28.11.2003, 15:38

In your site,I only found the City locations.None of DDS Earth textures.I am looking for Earth VT smaller than 32 k,too.


Return to “Textures”

Who is online