Realistic HD planetary textures?

Tips for creating and manipulating planet textures for Celestia.
Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Realistic HD planetary textures?

Post #1by john71 » 11.09.2016, 07:11

This my 32k Earth-like planet texture.

I used real Earth surface textures and an imaginary continental map.

Have you ever heard of any software capable of creating HD Earth-like textures similar to this?

I mean only the terrestrial biosphere texture, without oceans.
Attachments
ExoplanetEarthlike.png

Avatar
omega13a M
Posts: 120
Joined: 15.10.2011
Age: 35
With us: 8 years
Location: California
Contact:

Post #2by omega13a » 11.09.2016, 07:34

If you mean randomly generating something that looks real but isn't, I don't know of any off hand... :(
A fish without a bicycle cannot contemplate his navel

My Celestia Add-ons
The Omega Galaxy

Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Post #3by john71 » 11.09.2016, 07:53

Yes, I didn't want to write "procedural texture", because it should be permanent. But obviously it would be created by some random AND realistic method...

Thanks anyway... :sad:

Avatar
FarGetaNik M
Posts: 459
Joined: 05.06.2012
With us: 7 years 4 months
Location: Germany

Post #4by FarGetaNik » 11.09.2016, 11:46

Space Engine generates random textures, some do look realistic (you will have to search for worlds that fit your purpose) and you can export those textures from the program. But writing these textures takes some time and your graphic will think the program crashed, so this works for me only up to 4k I think. But on the forums they discussed ways to work around that problem. The textures created by Space Engine should even be free to use (but better look that up, I'm not sure).

Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Post #5by john71 » 11.09.2016, 12:42

I don't find those SE procedural textures very convincing...They don't seem to me very real. And 4k is far too low resolution for me...

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Post #6by John Van Vliet » 11.09.2016, 16:27

you mean like this
Image Image Image
---
Image

and
Image Image

Image Image Image

and
Image Image

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4325
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 55
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: Montreal

Post #7by Cham » 11.09.2016, 16:42

John, these textures are not of standard size (2k or 4k).

Also, 4k is much better, and don't forget the normal/specular maps ! :wink:
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Post #8by john71 » 11.09.2016, 17:00

Those are very nice textures! But from a low orbit they don't look very realistic. That's why I made my 32k multilevel textures (bump+specular+nightlights too at 32k). At 32k you can see actual rivers, lakes, forests, even the signs of agricultural works...

Added after 7 minutes 46 seconds:
The view from 150km.
Attachments
150km-orbit-exoplanet.png

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Post #9by John Van Vliet » 11.09.2016, 17:24

all those were created in Blender nodes and a camera view render

8ppd 2880x1440 is a good small testing size

so size is dependent on time and ram for the render

a 32 k would take hours ( most of the day ) to render

Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Post #10by john71 » 11.09.2016, 17:35

OK, but what about the details? What would we see at 32k?

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Post #11by John Van Vliet » 11.09.2016, 18:57

In Blender i reset the camera and zoomed in

Image

Image

Image

i render the Height map and texture separately

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 12
With us: 12 years 6 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Post #12by Fenerit » 11.09.2016, 19:09

john71 wrote:OK, but what about the details? What would we see at 32k?

What you do paint on it. :smile: You can do another 32k layer with different procedural parameter being took up just the overlaid parts which meet the original landmass outline and erasing what is out of borders, e.a into water. Even on procedurals one could do a bit of photoshopping. :wink:
Never at rest.
Massimo

Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Post #13by john71 » 11.09.2016, 19:19

John, it looks surprisingly detailed! Is it possible to render additional details? I mean different features on the surface?
Last edited by john71 on 11.09.2016, 19:20, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Post #14by John Van Vliet » 11.09.2016, 19:20

i paint on a sphere in Blender using the procedural nodes in feed back loops
then make it emissive and snap a image using the camera
Image

Topic author
john71
Posts: 461
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 3 years 2 months

Post #15by john71 » 11.09.2016, 19:24

OK, looks complicated. I use Blender only to build simple spaceships. :)


Return to “Textures”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 20 guests