Super precise spacecraft orbits...

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Super precise spacecraft orbits...

Post #1by Kendrix » 04.01.2004, 16:22

I've added a new mod. to my version of Celestia.

Now the number of samples to compute and display any spacecraft orbit is smart computed to avoid big direction changes...

In fact between two segments you always have less than one degree so the orbit is now really smooth !!!

If someone have some space on the web to post my demo pictures...

jim
Posts: 378
Joined: 14.01.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Germany

Re: Super precise spacecraft orbits...

Post #2by jim » 04.01.2004, 18:24

Kendrix wrote:If someone have some space on the web to post my demo pictures...

Send me the picture per mail. But for the future, you can also Chris ask for a gallery account.

Bye Jens

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #3by Kendrix » 04.01.2004, 18:43

Ok thanks...

The pictures and the new .exe are in your mailbox.

chris ? Can I have an account ?

jim
Posts: 378
Joined: 14.01.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Germany

Post #4by jim » 04.01.2004, 20:53

Here are Kendrix's pictures:

old 1:
Image

new 1:
Image

old 2:
Image

new 2:
Image

and this is the new KCelestia.exe:
http://www.celestiaproject.net/~jim/files/other/KCelestia.zip (819KB)

Kendrix, you should really go to Celestia SourceForge with your work. I'm sure this would be the best way to implement your code to Celestia. If you have some problems with the account I'm sure Christophe Teyssier or another developer will help you.

Thanks for your work

Jens

P.S. To get a gallery account it's the best to send Chris a PM.

Commander David
Posts: 73
Joined: 27.06.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post #5by Commander David » 05.01.2004, 08:16

Hi Kendrix,

i`'ve testet your release with the Super precise spacecraft orbits.

I found a ?bug? on the Galileo probe. I use the super file from Jack (16MB) and become this in celestia.

Image

What is here the problem? With other probe`s ther are no errors.

By Commander David
Celestia on my System:
AMD Barton 2800+@3000+
1024 MB DDR-RAM
ATI Radeon 9500 non Pro 128MB
_________________
However if God is a mistake, then I do not regret anything. More worth living than this mistake did not give it.

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #6by Kendrix » 05.01.2004, 11:51

I'm gonna look at that bug tonight...

ElPelado
Posts: 862
Joined: 07.04.2003
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: Born in Argentina
Contact:

Post #7by ElPelado » 05.01.2004, 12:54

It looks too beautiful to be a bug :lol:
---------X---------
EL XENTENARIO
1905-2005

My page:
http://www.urielpelado.com.ar
My Gallery:
http://www.celestiaproject.net/gallery/view_al ... y-Universe

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #8by Kendrix » 05.01.2004, 21:48

I've corrected the bug (it was silly).

I have also increased the number of samples for planet orbits from 100 to 1000 and now theses orbits are computed from t = -period/2 to t = period/2 , instead of t = 0 to t = period.

I've mailed the new .exe to Jim again...

I should really find a host !

jim
Posts: 378
Joined: 14.01.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Germany

Post #9by jim » 05.01.2004, 23:46

The new KCelestia.exe: (old zip was replaced)
http://www.celestiaproject.net/~jim/files/other/KCelestia.zip (818KB)

Jens

Falck
Posts: 48
Joined: 04.07.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months

Post #10by Falck » 06.01.2004, 01:41

Outstanding. I hope this is included in the main release as soon as possible.

Avatar
Jeam Tag M
Posts: 540
Joined: 01.04.2003
Age: 56
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: Southern suburb, Paris, France

Post #11by Jeam Tag » 06.01.2004, 10:55

Hello,
I'm seeing this
Image
Celestia 131.1, winXP: orbits works fine.
With the celestia.exe by Kendrix, there are thoses curious squares?
Jeam
Catalogue des ajouts /Catalog for the Add-Ons in French
...PAGES LOSTS, SORRY

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #12by Kendrix » 06.01.2004, 11:40

Jeam Tag, what is your graphic card ?

Since you only get problems with the planet orbits I think it's because of the 1000 samples per orbit instead of 100.

I will make a new .exe soon with less samples (but still more than 100).

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #13by Kendrix » 06.01.2004, 13:11

Ok here is the new .exe :

KCelestia.zip

Now the number of samples for planet orbits is 200. It's nearly equal to 1000 visually !

Avatar
Jeam Tag M
Posts: 540
Joined: 01.04.2003
Age: 56
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: Southern suburb, Paris, France

Post #14by Jeam Tag » 06.01.2004, 18:28

Kendrix wrote:Jeam Tag, what is your graphic card ?

Hum... un 'vieux clou'. Sorry: a little very old one, ProSavage KM133 :oops:

Since you only get problems with the planet orbits I think it's because of the 1000 samples per orbit instead of 100. I will make a new .exe soon with less samples (but still more than 100).
Right; here is what i can see whith this new one:

Image

Thanks![/quote]
Catalogue des ajouts /Catalog for the Add-Ons in French
...PAGES LOSTS, SORRY

Christophe
Developer
Posts: 944
Joined: 18.07.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Lyon (France)

Post #15by Christophe » 06.01.2004, 21:44

Kendrix,

Your patch seems interesting, could you send me the source file(s) you modified so that I can review the changes and submit them for inclusion in CVS?

Merci,
Christophe

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #16by Kendrix » 06.01.2004, 21:49

Christophe wrote:Kendrix,

Your patch seems interesting, could you send me the source file(s) you modified so that I can review the changes and submit them for inclusion in CVS?

Merci,


Ok I send you the code shortly...

Your email please ???

Je suis francais aussi au fait :lol:

Topic author
Kendrix
Posts: 159
Joined: 02.06.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: near Paris, France
Contact:

Post #17by Kendrix » 08.01.2004, 09:02

Can you give me your email Christophe ?

JackHiggins
Posts: 1034
Joined: 16.12.2002
With us: 17 years 9 months
Location: People's Republic Of Cork, Ireland

Post #18by JackHiggins » 11.01.2004, 21:38

Fantastic modding! Thanks!
- Jack Higgins
Jack's Celestia Add-ons
And visit my Celestia Gallery too!

logan_number5
Posts: 9
Joined: 12.12.2003
With us: 16 years 9 months

smooth orbits

Post #19by logan_number5 » 06.02.2004, 16:31

has this code for smoother orbits made it into CVS yet??

-- mike

Christophe
Developer
Posts: 944
Joined: 18.07.2002
With us: 18 years 2 months
Location: Lyon (France)

Post #20by Christophe » 06.02.2004, 16:37

Yes, it's in CVS and in the 1.3.2 pre release.
Christophe


Return to “Development”

Who is online