New bugfix release 1.6.2-beta1

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 471
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 17
With us: 2 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #101by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 22.03.2020, 02:02

The resulting error of forcing 1.6.2 to work under Mac OS X 10.6.8 by editing its plist file.
error.jpg
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

Markerz
Developer
Posts: 193
Joined: 29.01.2009
Age: 25
With us: 11 years 9 months
Location: Hangzhou, China

Post #102by Markerz » 25.03.2020, 05:16

Anthony_B_Russo10 wrote:The resulting error of forcing 1.6.2 to work under Mac OS X 10.6.8 by editing its plist file.
error.jpg

Minimum support is 10.7, it is almost impossible to ship one binary with current development tool to support both below 10.7 and above 10.7 since there is major C++ library support change in 10.7.

Avatar
LukeCEL
Posts: 360
Joined: 26.09.2017
With us: 3 years 1 month

Post #103by LukeCEL » 31.03.2020, 04:04

How can I get my Celestia 1.6.2 bundle to always open in fullscreen? (I'm on MacOS, by the way.)

Markerz
Developer
Posts: 193
Joined: 29.01.2009
Age: 25
With us: 11 years 9 months
Location: Hangzhou, China

Post #104by Markerz » 01.04.2020, 07:47

LukeCEL wrote:How can I get my Celestia 1.6.2 bundle to always open in fullscreen? (I'm on MacOS, by the way.)
I don't think it is possible on macOS with current version

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

CMOD Specularity Bug in 1.6.2

Post #105by selden » 07.04.2020, 19:48

CMOD Specularity Bug in 1.6.2

If a specularmap image file is specified in a CMOD model, that image is ignored by v1.6.2 (and by v1.6.1). It works in v1.7.0. It'd be nice if the fix could be backported to v1.6.2.

The attached Addon provides an ASCII CMOD model (models/planet.cmod) and surface texture images in textures/medres (planet.jpg and planet-spec.jpg) which demonstrate this bug.

The accompanying cmod-spec-bug.html provides a CEL:// URL which takes you to a viewpoint which demonstrates this bug: The entire surface of the front facet of the "planet" is incorrectly drawn as bright white when viewed in v1.6.2, but when viewed in v1.7.0, the "land" areas are correctly not reflective.

The attached framegrabs cmod-spec-bug_1.6.2.png and cmod-spec-bug_1.7.0.png show these results.

cmod-spec-bug_1.6.2.png
specularity bug in 1.6.2

cmod-spec-bug_1.7.0.png
bug is fixed in 1.7.0


cmod_spec_bug.zip
Zip of Addon to demonstrate the bug
(755.47 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
(756 KB expands to 774 KB)
Selden

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #106by onetwothree » 07.04.2020, 20:25

The aim of 1.6.2 is to provide 1.6.1 on modern (read as 64bit) systems not to add new features.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #107by selden » 07.04.2020, 20:32

I think you may have overlooked part of what I wrote. To expand on it: this is a *bug* in v1.6.1 which should be fixed in v1.6.2 if at all possible. specularmap textures specified in CMOD files were documented to work in v1.6.1 but do not.
Selden

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #108by onetwothree » 01.05.2020, 15:56

There were requests to backport extended locations from 1.7 to 1.6.2. Please test attached files (win32/64).
Attachments
celestia_1.6.2-beta3pre1_locations_i686.zip
32bit
(3.15 MiB) Downloaded 31 times
celestia_1.6.2-beta3pre1_locations_amd64.zip
64bit
(3.59 MiB) Downloaded 37 times

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 471
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 17
With us: 2 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #109by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 02.05.2020, 04:51

Seven, please upload these to files to the archive repository.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #110by onetwothree » 02.05.2020, 08:16

why do you need them there?

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 463
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #111by SevenSpheres » 02.05.2020, 16:34

Anthony_B_Russo10 wrote:Seven, please upload these to files to the archive repository.

No, these are test builds. I don't upload the 1.7.0 testing builds there.

onetwothree: are there files with the extended locations to test with?
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #112by onetwothree » 02.05.2020, 16:50

no, i don't have them, maybe only saturn rings in 1.7 if i remember correctly

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 463
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #113by SevenSpheres » 02.05.2020, 20:01

Just tested, doesn't work.

Stock 1.6.2-beta2 with locations enabled:
ringlocs-162b2.png

Test build from this thread + ring_locs.ssc from CelestiaContent, with locations enabled:
ringlocs-162b3.png


IMO backporting the new location types to 1.6.2 isn't necessary; all that needs to be done now is to update the changelog, update the "INSTALLING IN UNIX AND LINUX" section of the readme file, update data (I need to get around to doing that), and possibly fix this bug.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #114by onetwothree » 04.05.2020, 07:12

i fixed locations but not able to build it using VS as i don't have it now.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #115by onetwothree » 25.05.2020, 20:06

Fixed backported locations, windows build:

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 68
With us: 3 years 10 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #116by gironde » 26.05.2020, 08:21

We're starting to get lost in the celestia 1.6.2 beta1, beta2, beta3 versions
You should open one thread per beta version.

:eek: :think: :insane:

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #117by selden » 26.05.2020, 11:32

Low priority: There's a spurious character prefixing the copyright symbol in the About text. See the screengrab below, where I've underlined it in red.

CelB2copyright.png
spurious copyright prefix
Selden

Avatar
LukeCEL
Posts: 360
Joined: 26.09.2017
With us: 3 years 1 month

Post #118by LukeCEL » 26.05.2020, 22:00

Can we get a macOS build for 1.6.2-beta3? Thanks in advance!

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 68
With us: 3 years 10 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #119by gironde » 01.06.2020, 14:52

Is there a difference between lua5.1.dll in celestia 1.6.1 (172ko for mine) and lua51.dll (683ko) in celestia 1.6.2.
Curiously, the results with Lua Universal Tools are not the same. (with the same files)

celestia 1.6.1 or EP V3
celestia EP3.jpg


celestia 1.6.2
celestia 1.6.2 with dll 683ko.jpg


The box elevators are gone.
Why such a size difference between the 2 dll files ?

:think:

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years 1 month

Post #120by onetwothree » 01.06.2020, 18:05

In 1.6.2 I use luajit instead of plain lua 5.1. It's faster.

Your issue with scroll bars is very interesting, I don't think it's caused by lua51.dll, something else is to blame.

Added after 15 minutes 30 seconds:
You can replace lua51.dll in 1.6.2 using the version from 1.6.1 and check if you have scrollbars.

Added after 12 minutes 18 seconds:
Checked both LUA implementations - no difference.


Return to “Development”

Who is online