Celestia 1.7.0 Development Thread

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Janus
Posts: 522
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #721by Janus » 17.12.2019, 03:13

A quick note to those making commits.

The windows SDK for 8.1/10 reserves the lower case word small as a char of some sort.

rpcndr.h

Code: Select all

#define small char
typedef unsigned char byte;
typedef byte cs_byte;
typedef unsigned char boolean;


Which creates a problem in glmarker.cpp:InitVO
Two(2) vector<glfloats> are declared, small and large, which creates a conflict.
To get it to compile I changed them to smaller & larger, which preserves the logic and transparency.
These give errors that are a pain to chase down since the rest of the file fails to parse until that is fixed.
Very discouraging for those using VS in windows.
The same problem probably applies in QT as well, but I do not have it installed to test.
There are other issues, but this one is a show stopper.
Someone should fix it.


Janus.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #722by onetwothree » 17.12.2019, 19:21

Stupid microsoft!

Thanks for report, Janus.

Added after 7 minutes 11 seconds:
On the other hand, are you sure that you don't include any unneeded .h files? I use VC++ 2015 just as you do and I don't have this error. What happens if you define the following:

Code: Select all

    -D_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS
    -D_SCL_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS
    -DNOMINMAX
    -DWIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
    -DWINVER=0x0601
    -D_WIN32_WINNT=0x0601

Janus
Posts: 522
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #723by Janus » 17.12.2019, 19:56

@onetwothree

I am not sure where to put those, so here is what I used.

https://celestia.simulatorlabbs.com/Downloads/

Grab Celestia-5719-Complete.7z from within, and try it yourself.
Extract where ever, it will create a celestia-5719 directory.
Look in the vs directory under that.
Two sets of solutions, one for txf, the other ttf.

It also includes Lua534 & Lua515, currently setup to use Lua515 since I dislike # and prefer getn.
Once I figure out how to include both the txf & ttf in one, I will recombine them.

I would try to test, but I am fighting the M$ WIL library explorer++ devs have decided to use.
I am beginning to doubt I will be able to make it work with VS2015, which stinks.


Janus.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #724by onetwothree » 17.12.2019, 20:16

Code: Select all

<PreprocessorDefinitions> CELX;LUA_VER=0x050300;USE_SPICE;_CRT_SECURE_NO_DEPRECATE;NOMINMAX;HAVE_EXPERIMENTAL_FILESYSTEM;GLEW_STATIC;%(PreprocessorDefinitions)</PreprocessorDefinitions>


Try to add WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN

Janus
Posts: 522
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #725by Janus » 20.12.2019, 00:37

@onetwothree

No change.

Can you send me the sln/vcxproj made by cmake.
I can do a compare from there.

Did you try mine?


Janus.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #726by onetwothree » 20.12.2019, 20:24

will do this sunday.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #727by onetwothree » 26.12.2019, 21:29

quite interesting that even with your archive i'm unable to reproduce your error, maybe we have different windows sdk versions.

Janus
Posts: 522
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #728by Janus » 26.12.2019, 23:07

@onetwothree

Did you change smaller to small, & larger to large in glmarker.pp:initvo function?
I had it working in the archive I made.


Janus.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #729by onetwothree » 27.12.2019, 17:33

Reverted your changes - failed to compile. Added WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN - successfully compiled, as expected.

Avatar
jujuapapa
Banned
Posts: 346
Joined: 24.06.2018
With us: 2 years 3 months
Location: Western E.U.

Post #730by jujuapapa » 27.12.2019, 17:44


Downloaded and installed this Morning. :smile:

I Don't know if this anomaly has been said but the datas of the frame "stellar browser" Always begins by the Sun.
Even when you are near another star. :eek:

On 1.6.1, the list begins by the closest star. :smile:
Soft: Celestia 1.6.2
PC : Intel Core i9-9900K (4 GHz) , Chipset Z390 Exp, RAM 32 Go DDR4 3000 Mhz, SSD M.2 512 Go + HDD 3 To, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 8Go - W10 64b

I lost my old user, so with us: since more 12 years
=> It is by doubting everything that everybody approaches the truth !

Janus
Posts: 522
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #731by Janus » 27.12.2019, 17:54

@onetwothree

Weird.
Though I am happy you didn't have any trouble with it.
A lot of people I have worked with have had problems dealing with portable or self contained projects.

I will continue looking into this however.
That means one or more of my customizations has had an unanticipated side effect.
Of course, I also use the 8.1 SDK, and only recently, and reluctantly, installed 10.1.18632 for testing.

I have been fighting the WIL library, trying to make it work with VS2015.
Explorer++ has gone to using it, and since I cannot use VS2019, I may not be able to use newer versions of explorer++.
I may have broken something subtle.

Perhaps it is time for a clean slate in a VM.


Janus.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #732by selden » 10.01.2020, 19:24

Problem: Celestia v1.7 draws Earth red when an orbiting sphere is defined.
This problem is not seen with Celestia v1.6.1 or v1.6.2 beta2

I'm guessing there might be a problem in one of the shaders.

This Addon demonstrates this bug.

Tha enclosed "redden.html" provides a CEL:// URL which takes you to a viewpoint which shows a red Earth.

The enclosed "redden.ssc" defines an object orbiting the Earth and which generates the problem.

Celestia v1.6.1 was installed using the SourceForge version at https://sourceforge.net/projects/celestia/

Celestia v1.6.2b2 was installed using the installer at https://bintray.com/celestia/celestia-builds/down ... h=celestia-1.6.2-beta2pre1.exe

Most Celestia v1.7 resources were installed using download/file.php?id=6847&filename=CelestiaResources.zip
as provided by Markerz
Current shaders were downloaded from Github today (10jan20).

Celestia v1.7 binaries were installed using Janus' version at
download/file.php?id=6975&filename=Celestia-TestObject.7z
Attachments
redden.zip
reddened Earth addon
(1.47 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
redden.jpg
reddened earth screengrab
Selden

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #733by onetwothree » 10.01.2020, 20:05

I'm unable to reproduce the error. Could you post shaders.log? It should be located near the executable file.

Added after 1 minute 3 seconds:
Also, could you disable eclipse shadows and recheck?

Added after 1 minute 55 seconds:
Do you have additional light sources besides the Sun?

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #734by selden » 11.01.2020, 05:03

The problem goes away when either "Cloud Shadows" or "Clouds" is deselected. Disabling "Eclipse shadows" makes no difference. The problem actually seems to happen only when the object's shadow is *not* being drawn on the Earth.

I have no additional light sources: the test was done with no Addons or catalogs other than what are included with Celestia v1.7

I've attached a revised copy of the Addon. The zip includes a zip of shaders.log for when the problem happens.

reddened.png
screengrab showing Render View Options and red Earth.


redden.zip
addon showing red Earth problem
(355.24 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Selden

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #735by onetwothree » 11.01.2020, 16:42

Hmm, only native frontend affected

Added after 9 minutes 51 seconds:
actually qt is affected as well but on win, not affected on gnu/linux. weird.

@Markerz could you check on macOS?

Markerz
Developer
Posts: 190
Joined: 29.01.2009
Age: 25
With us: 11 years 8 months
Location: Hangzhou, China

Post #736by Markerz » 12.01.2020, 05:47

macOS is affected too

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 510
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 2 years

Post #737by onetwothree » 12.01.2020, 12:13

Hi!

Selden, SevenSpheres, please test attached exe, it should fix all currently reported issues with red planets:
https://github.com/CelestiaProject/Celestia/issues/565 (reported by SevenSpheres) - I don't see any problems
https://github.com/CelestiaProject/Celestia/issues/583 (reported here by Selden) - tested both by me & Markerz.
Attachments
celtest.7z
(1.29 MiB) Downloaded 32 times

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #738by SevenSpheres » 12.01.2020, 16:23

With that .exe galaxies appear as bright red squares, and the Sun is too dark, as if Celestia was in "scaled disks" mode. Same with any random star. The red/dark planet bug is fixed though.

EDIT: With the shaders linked by onetwothree galaxies render correctly.
Last edited by SevenSpheres on 12.01.2020, 16:53, edited 1 time in total.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)


Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #740by selden » 20.01.2020, 16:26

The red eclipse problems seem fixed for me, too.
Selden


Return to “Development”

Who is online