Celestia 1.7.0 Development Thread

The place to discuss creating, porting and modifying Celestia's source code.
Topic author
onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 384
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 1 year 5 months

Post #741by onetwothree » 21.01.2020, 22:19

Any owners of old videocards here (old means with gl2.1 only)? could you test https://ci.appveyor.com/project/375gnu/celestia/builds/30267442/artifacts

Added after 4 minutes:
radeon >=9500, X8xx, X1xxx
Intel Pentium G6000/P6000/U5000, Celeron P4000/U3000. G35, G41, G43, G45, GM45, GL40, GS40, GS45, Q43, Q45, B43, 4 Series Express Chipsets

Topic author
onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 384
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 1 year 5 months

Post #742by onetwothree » 11.02.2020, 21:25

With this change - https://github.com/CelestiaProject/Celestia/pull/608/files i'm gonna disallow semi-axes for stars. Incorrect means any value > 1 or all < 1. Note: this doesn't affect planets. Any concerns?

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Posts: 220
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 4 months 21 days

Post #743by SevenSpheres » 13.02.2020, 22:47

onetwothree wrote:With this change - https://github.com/CelestiaProject/Celestia/pull/608/files i'm gonna disallow semi-axes for stars. Incorrect means any value > 1 or all < 1. Note: this doesn't affect planets. Any concerns?

Since all responses have been on Discord I might as well port them over. I agree with Luke/Fafers/Pedro here.

(Edit: 200th post!)

Lafuente_Astronomy wrote:Wait, so what would happen to stars with correct semi-axes as given?
I have just recently started making binary black hole addons, and I am still learning what to do with some of those measurements, and data, including semi axis
SevenSpheres wrote:@onetwothree no real concern but I don't see the point? It doesn't fix any bug, just prevents it from happening.
LukeCEL wrote:@onetwothree possible concern: backwards compatibility
onetwothree wrote:
Lafuente_Astronomy wrote:Wait, so what would happen to stars with correct semi-axes as given?
@Lafuente_Astronomy Nothing changes for them.
SevenSpheres wrote:@onetwothree no real concern but I don't see the point? It doesn't fix any bug, just prevents it from happening.
@SevenSpheres let's be on the safe side :)

LukeCEL wrote:@onetwothree possible concern: backwards compatibility
@LukeCEL please see https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/1.6.0_Features: "For stars, we specify the shape with SemiAxes [ x y z ] and this is multiplied by the radius.", "even if the radius is omitted in the stc file, a star always has an implicit radius based on the blackbody calculation."
for me that clearly means that for stars semi-axes no values greater than 1 are allowed and at least one of them must be equal to 1

otherwise we have an absurd case when actual star is larger or smaller then its bounding sphere defined by its radius
Fafers_br wrote:@onetwothree One alternative to disallowing could be normalizing the values, dividing the three of them by the greater one. Then it would work with whatever values are in the Semiaxes. Well, providing no one starts using negative values. You know, the users allways can push the developers beyond their limits... :smile:
onetwothree wrote:that's was one of my idea, but i rejected it cause better to clearly manifest error, so that it will be noticed and fixed
pedro_jg wrote:Should we really break things on purpose? Other than render bugs, over-unity semiaxes worked fine. Also, this change only hides the bug instead of fixing it.
LukeCEL wrote:That is what I was thinking. Also, some add-ons like this one (http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_addon_details.php?addon_id=1552) have definitely used over-unity (this one uses SemiAxes [ 1.5 1 1 ])
pedro_jg wrote:That's why the idea suggested by Fafers_br would be the best solution IMHO, since it would automatically fix the problem, as well as keeping compatibility
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can...
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2, and multiple 1.7.0 builds

Avatar
Lafuente_Astronomy
Moderator
Posts: 600
Joined: 04.08.2018
Age: 21
With us: 1 year 6 months
Location: Cebu City, Cebu Province, Philippines
Contact:

Post #744by Lafuente_Astronomy » 14.02.2020, 04:52

Well, I have to agree with all of the above. But perhaps we may also have to consider the Dev's position as well? We will await their response
Official Administrator of the Celestia Discord Server.
Invite: https://discordapp.com/invite/WEWDcJh
If you don't have a Discord account, register here: https://discordapp.com/register
Have a blessed day.

Topic author
onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 384
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 1 year 5 months

Post #745by onetwothree » 14.02.2020, 21:40

I strongly oppose idea that Celestia code should have fixes and workarounds for incorrect addons. So, taking into account that the community is against the proposed change, it won't be implemented.

Janus
Posts: 471
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 3 years 6 months

Post #746by Janus » 15.02.2020, 06:00

A suggestion.
Go ahead and test for out of range options, and log them if logging is turned on.
That way, all a developer has to do is turn logging on to test data and rendering.
No need to restrict it to just this, anything out of range or any bad combination could trigger a log note.
Include the entire entry that causes the issue to make it easier to find.


Janus.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Posts: 220
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 4 months 21 days

Post #747by SevenSpheres » 15.02.2020, 18:16

Just so everyone knows; in response to this post, onetwothree has made Askaniy, LukeCEL, and myself part of the dev team. Askaniy and I are the closest to Windows maintainers Celestia has at the moment.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can...
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2, and multiple 1.7.0 builds

Avatar
Lafuente_Astronomy
Moderator
Posts: 600
Joined: 04.08.2018
Age: 21
With us: 1 year 6 months
Location: Cebu City, Cebu Province, Philippines
Contact:

Post #748by Lafuente_Astronomy » 15.02.2020, 21:57

SevenSpheres wrote:Just so everyone knows; in response to this post, onetwothree has made Askaniy, LukeCEL, and myself part of the dev team. Askaniy and I are the closest to Windows maintainers Celestia has at the moment.

I jguess we just have to wait for Alexell to put you all in the Developers role in the Forum.
Official Administrator of the Celestia Discord Server.
Invite: https://discordapp.com/invite/WEWDcJh
If you don't have a Discord account, register here: https://discordapp.com/register
Have a blessed day.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Posts: 220
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 4 months 21 days

Post #749by SevenSpheres » 15.02.2020, 23:44

Suggestion: Chris Laurel's other astronomy program, Cosmographia, apparently has an iOS version. Since there has been some discussion about porting Celestia to iOS (and Android) the developers might want to look at Cosmographia's code for pointers.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can...
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2, and multiple 1.7.0 builds

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Posts: 366
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 17
With us: 1 year 7 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #750by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 16.02.2020, 14:15

That would be a good idea SevenSpheres.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
Dell Latitude D820 D400 D410 D420 6520 D610 D505, Acer Aspire, Dell Optiplex 745 x2 755 GX-620 960, Sony Vaio PCG-F420, Packard Bell Legend 100, HP Compaq, IBM clone, IBM ThinkPad, MacBook Pro

Topic author
onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 384
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 1 year 5 months

Post #751by onetwothree » 16.02.2020, 14:41

Chris' cosmografia doesn't support ios. Only later versions were ported, but their source is not available.


Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Goofy