LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

All Lua-tools for Celestia in one forum.
Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #21by Vincent » 06.03.2010, 08:56

jogad wrote:My problem is solved :D. I had to rename a box (same thing than KeplerParamBox).
Yes, the main box should have the same name as the plugin lua file.


jogad wrote:The result is much more stable than before your change :D :D :D
Please updade your download link.
Good. Thanks for testing Jo?l. I'll be posting an "official" update soon.


jogad wrote:Vincent, thank you very much. Your are a magician :blue:
You're welcome.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 9 months

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #22by BobHegwood » 06.03.2010, 11:33

jogad wrote:Vincent, thank you very much. Your are a magician :blue:

Let me add my thanks as well...
Have been using this add-on since its first release and have nothing
but good things to say about it. Makes the Celestia touring of the
Universe much more enjoyable.

Thanks again Vincent. :D
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #23by Vincent » 06.03.2010, 15:48

BobHegwood wrote:Let me add my thanks as well...
Have been using this add-on since its first release and have nothing
but good things to say about it. Makes the Celestia touring of the
Universe much more enjoyable.

Thanks again Vincent. :D
Bob,

You're welcome. I'm really happy you enjoy these plugins.

By the way, I've included an extra 'HR_stars_4.lua.OFF' file to use with the HR diagram.
It adds stars which are visible from Earth, with an apparent magnitude < 5.
This file is disabled by default because it includes 1621 stars. You can enable it by
removing the .OFF extension from the file name. The log console ("~") should display
the following text if the HR_star tables are correctly loaded:

Code: Select all

Loading HR star table 1
Loading HR star table 2
Loading HR star table 3
Loading HR star table 4


It be great if some of you could test it on your system.
Here's how it looks on mine:
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
jogad
Posts: 458
Joined: 17.09.2008
With us: 10 years 9 months
Location: Paris France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #24by jogad » 06.03.2010, 16:25

antares.png

No problemo :)

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #25by Vincent » 07.03.2010, 10:17

jogad wrote:No problemo :)
Great! Thanks for testing, Jo?l :)
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1298
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 16 years 9 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #26by fsgregs » 07.03.2010, 21:41

Vincent:

I've been able to get the HR diagram addon to work in regular Lua Edu Tools, but I cannot seem to get more than a few stars to appear in the HR diagram. here is a screenshot.

I do want to be able to display all of the stars you've included in star table 4. How do i do that, or are you planning a release of Lua Edu Tools 1.2 with the HR diagram already in it?

Frank
Clipboard01.jpg

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #27by Vincent » 08.03.2010, 09:43

fsgregs wrote:I do want to be able to display all of the stars you've included in star table 4. How do i do that, or are you planning a release of Lua Edu Tools 1.2 with the HR diagram already in it?
Yes, quite shortly. They will require Celestia 1.6.1, though.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
jogad
Posts: 458
Joined: 17.09.2008
With us: 10 years 9 months
Location: Paris France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #28by jogad » 08.03.2010, 20:51

Hello,

hr_lua_edu_tools.png


The many stars newly included work perfectly in the standard Lua Edu Tools. :)

Just copy the HR_stars_4.lua file from the new lua plugins in the "utils" directory of the Lua Edu Tools.

To see them do not forget to jump to the last page of the HR diagram
.

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1298
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 16 years 9 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #29by fsgregs » 09.03.2010, 00:07

Jogad:
To see them do not forget to jump to the last page of the HR diagram
How do I jump from one HR diagram page to another? Is there some key that I press?


Vincent:
Yes, quite shortly. They will require Celestia 1.6.1, though.
I currently can see page 1 of the HR Diagram within Lua Edu Tools, using Celestia 1.6.0. As I asked Jogad above, is there currently a way to jump to the 2nd or 3rd page of the diagram now, or do I need to wait for 1.6.1 to be released?

Frank

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4325
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 54
With us: 15 years 6 months
Location: Montreal

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #30by Cham » 09.03.2010, 02:22

fsgregs wrote:How do I jump from one HR diagram page to another? Is there some key that I press?

Just click on the bottom corners ! Also, click on the large spectral color band on top to change the grid...
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10053
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #31by selden » 09.03.2010, 11:36

Cham,

If at all possible, providing labeled buttons would be greatly appreciated.

Most people are not going to know that there are hidden buttons on the image.
Selden

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4325
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 54
With us: 15 years 6 months
Location: Montreal

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #32by Cham » 09.03.2010, 11:40

selden wrote:Cham,

If at all possible, providing labeled buttons would be greatly appreciated.

Most people are not going to know that there are hidden buttons on the image.

I don't agree. Buttons are extremely ugly. With some time, the user would discover them while clicking on the window to move it around...
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #33by Vincent » 09.03.2010, 13:58

Cham wrote:
selden wrote:Cham,

If at all possible, providing labeled buttons would be greatly appreciated.

Most people are not going to know that there are hidden buttons on the image.

I don't agree. Buttons are extremely ugly. With some time, the user would discover them while clicking on the window to move it around...
I agree with Martin.
The buttons are not hidden. They're discreet, unobtrusive, but still visible.
I'll add the following information in the Readme:
You can cycle through the different available pictures and star sets using the buttons on the bottom hand sides corners.
Does this sound fair enough?
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
fsgregs
Posts: 1298
Joined: 07.10.2002
With us: 16 years 9 months
Location: Manassas, VA

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #34by fsgregs » 09.03.2010, 18:35

Cham:

Thanks for the tip about clicking on the corners of the HR to change screens. It works fine, once you know it is there. I agree that a brief sentence in the read-me file will be needed to tell folks that there are places on the image to click.

That said, I clicked on the colored band on top and nothing happened. No grid changed. I am using the HR Diagram that comes with Lua Edu Tools beta 8 that Vincent just released. Is it supposed to have a clickable band? If so, there is a bug because it is not working (or I am missing a file).

Thanks for the HR. It works very nice.

Frank

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4325
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 54
With us: 15 years 6 months
Location: Montreal

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #35by Cham » 09.03.2010, 18:50

fsgregs wrote:That said, I clicked on the colored band on top and nothing happened. No grid changed. I am using the HR Diagram that comes with Lua Edu Tools beta 8 that Vincent just released. Is it supposed to have a clickable band?

Well, I'm not sure anymore that the grid can be changed in the published version. I suspect that it can't (no button in the top side). However, my personal version can change the grid, which can be usefull.

However, the two triangular buttons in the bottom corners should be self-evident...
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 12
With us: 12 years 3 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #36by Fenerit » 09.03.2010, 22:20

Confirm, nothing happen with the top colored band.

For what is worth, best viewed buttons COULD be pictured by the +/- either bordered or not...
Never at rest.
Massimo

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: LUA PLUG-INS for Celestia 1.6

Post #37by Vincent » 10.03.2010, 09:56

fsgregs wrote:That said, I clicked on the colored band on top and nothing happened. No grid changed. I am using the HR Diagram that comes with Lua Edu Tools beta 8 that Vincent just released. Is it supposed to have a clickable band?
There's no hidden active zone in the HR Diagram, either in the Lua plugins or in Lua Edu Tools package.
The only active buttons are the visible previous/next buttons on the bottom hand sides corners.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
jogad
Posts: 458
Joined: 17.09.2008
With us: 10 years 9 months
Location: Paris France

Post #38by jogad » 28.09.2016, 17:25

Cham wrote:
jogad wrote:Finally Cham, I have a small request.
I have a version of lua-plugins that I loaded here (maybe a better place for this discussion)
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=15705

This version seems older than the one that you show above.
And it is only in English!

Could you give a link to the latest version (multilingual?)

The version I'm using is French only. I never kept the multi-lingual version that was published a long time ago (a mistake of mine).

If you need the French version, I may publish it on the forum, with a full collection of very nice pictures. :biggrin:
However, the zip file is about 225 MB (because of all the pictures) ! So I'm not sure I could publish all of them here. :think:



For me, a French only version would suit me perfectly. :smile:
If you could share I'd be very glad and certainly many other French speaking people with me.

And for everyone, an updated version would be interesting.
If you agree, I think it could be internationalized without too much difficulty with the help of those who will be interested to have a simple and efficient interface to present the essential data from Celestia in their language.

According to information found here
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=17429
you can send files up to 100 MB per post.
So, in principle, by sending the files in three shipments, it should be possible.

Thank you very much.


Return to “Lua-Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 1 guest