3D Earth's Geological Features

All Lua-tools for Celestia in one forum.
Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #21by Fenerit » 02.06.2010, 23:51

- Completely rebuilt and refined the isochrones CMOD. Corrected a displaced point.

Image
Never at rest.
Massimo

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #22by Fenerit » 04.06.2010, 11:02

Isochrons CMOD model updated.
- Corrected some points displacements due to my errors in early manual means (now are made automatic).
- Omitted original reticulum sided on poles. (the model now wrap the Earth without to have lines into it)

Image

Also the isochrons ages have been updated from ver. 1.6/2.0 to 3.6,
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/mgg/ocean_age/ocean_age_2008.html
and now shows the age(Ma)|error(Ma)|spreading rate (mm/year). Note that the values are with 2 decimals instead of 5-6 of the originals, monsters, age grids.

http://marauder.webng.com/files/isochrons_ref.zip 251 Kb
Never at rest.
Massimo

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #23by Fenerit » 08.06.2010, 22:49

Due to the layers' maps, the 1.2 version of this add-on is too big to be seamlessly hosted on my server, so it has been sent to the Motherlode. It should be available soon. Some screenshots and explications:

Image

The toolbar. Such toolbar (thanks to Jogad's template) is available only for LUATOOLS/LUAPLUG-INS users; otherwise commons scripts does load/unload the features. Who which doesn't make use of hooks, can ignore them. Please, do not cancel the folder, though; since there are the "fake" model with which the locations places are enabled/disabled. Both in scripts and in hook mode, the functions are built in order to take in account the relations amongst single add-ons and the map (png layers) to be displayed, so few of them are interactive, while others not; e.g. when a feature change the map, not necessarily the CMOD model of another features is deactivated, in the case of geologic provinces can be useful to know which nations share a province, thus the petroleum assessment's map leave the place at the world countris' map but the geologic province's CMOD rest in place. And so on for other. The isochrons' map and its model of course will hide the world countrie's map and its model because their relations are poor. Volcanoes, earthquakes, tectonics (now collected) LIPS always ovelay theirselves an the others. Anyhow these interactions are customizables. All locations have its type and in the case one wish to change the level in which a location do appears, my suggestion is that to do act on Importance and not on size (do lower or raise it). The following screendumps shows such discourse.
The last button on the right side is for display custom images (LUA); the readme tell how to do in the case you have the plug-ins or the luatools. My test on LUATOOLS have been made vith the 1.2 beta 8 version. The default setting is for the plug-ins. One proper function check whether you have installed either a hook or the other. For LUAtools will be made active the moreInfo check box. But read the readme which is best.

Image

Image

Image

Image
White dots (here very fainty) are people settlements (CMOD) so one can have the relation among seismic hazard and populations

Image
The isochrones map, built from 2008 NOAA dataset (ver.3.6) here is inverted in colors, but the 8k versions of the png layer has the "common" red-yellow-blue shader. Note that the colored isochrons made in steps 10 Ma doesn't matches with the CMOD model's lines since these latters are built upon their Ma fractions, following specific parameters of crust's magnetization.
All the png layer are shipped also in 8k versions, while the default (active) textures/layers, shipped within the pack for functionality purpose, are 4k.
All the screendumps above are relevat to 4k textures, but VTs are betters, naturally.You can and must change the basic texture's pack earth_geology.png/earth_geology_normal.png/earth_geology_specular.png) with the favorite yours, of course, by using thats in your main Celestia's textures folder.
Remove the first version before to unpack. Changes, links, credits and acknowledgements are in various readme widespread throughout the folders.
Never at rest.
Massimo

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #24by Fenerit » 09.06.2010, 15:15

For a NOAA style-like of the isochrons map:

Image

Image
Note that magenta spans 100 Ma (180/280 Ma)

http://marauder.webng.com/files/isochrons_map.zip (560 Kb, png layer only, 8k)
Never at rest.
Massimo

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #25by BobHegwood » 10.06.2010, 12:55

Just so you know about it, Massismo, I have just approved the add-on for the ML.

Also, one note or two...
When you execute one of the scripts, the Earth must be re-located again.
I simply hit the "C" key to center the Earth again.

I also had to re-run each script in order to remove the previous script's
current displays on the Earth.

Is a fine add-on though... :wink:
Just FYI...

Thanks, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #26by Fenerit » 10.06.2010, 22:40

Hi Bob, thanks for your approval! :D
Just about the scripts: which script do cause that? I do not have problems with them. Do you load the scripts with the GEObar active?

EDIT LATER:
Bob wrote:
I also had to re-run each script in order to remove the previous script's
current displays on the Earth.

That's should be the common behaviour... (but sorry, probably I do not have understood what you asking for :oops: )
Never at rest.
Massimo

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #27by BobHegwood » 11.06.2010, 10:44

Fenerit wrote: which script do cause that? I do not have problems with them. Do you load the scripts with the GEObar active?
I just used Celestia's script handler to open each of the scripts you provided.
They all worked, but caused the Earth to be removed from the center of the screen.
Mayhap it has something to do with time passing? Just a thought, but like I said
all work well otherwise.

Thanks, Bob
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #28by Fenerit » 11.06.2010, 11:41

I'm perplex... No displacements of Earth here. Neither with 1.6.0 ita nor with SVN 5003 (my workbench). Neither with luatools/luaplug-ins active nor with the GEObar displayed. Sorry. I'll try the latest SVN 5030... :roll:
Never at rest.
Massimo

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #29by BobHegwood » 11.06.2010, 13:03

Fenerit wrote:I'm perplex... No displacements of Earth here. Neither with 1.6.0 ita nor with SVN 5003 (my workbench). Neither with luatools/luaplug-ins active nor with the GEObar displayed. Sorry. I'll try the latest SVN 5030... :roll:

No worries...
I was using 1.6.0 but probably there is something different about my setup.
(I'm still using your LUA plugins too. :wink: )

Thanks, Bob
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #30by Fenerit » 11.06.2010, 22:46

Just tested with SVN 5030, still no problems of Earth's displacements.
Never at rest.
Massimo

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #31by BobHegwood » 13.06.2010, 10:40

Fenerit wrote:Just tested with SVN 5030, still no problems of Earth's displacements.

Okay, thanks...
I guess it is time to rebuild my Celestia install again. <sigh> :(
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #32by Fenerit » 14.06.2010, 21:58

Hi Bob, Ulrich, thanks to host the Earth geology! 8) Now the Earth geoly is available on Motherlode:
http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/
For any problem, suggestions, critics, improvements I'm here.

P.S.
Bob, I'm always of the opinion that you should drop off Vista... :wink:
Never at rest.
Massimo

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #33by BobHegwood » 14.06.2010, 22:44

Fenerit wrote:P.S.
Bob, I'm always of the opinion that you should drop off Vista... :wink:

I agree, but this stupid machine will not allow it. Parts of the Vista system are
apparently hard-wired to my machine, and any attempt to replace or remove
Vista are a big "No No" for this machine.

That's okay though. I have just removed Celestia and re-installed. Will see if
that does any good. :D

Thanks very much for the help, Bob
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #34by Fenerit » 15.06.2010, 10:45

BobHegwood wrote:
Fenerit wrote:P.S.
Bob, I'm always of the opinion that you should drop off Vista... :wink:

I agree, but this stupid machine will not allow it. Parts of the Vista system are
apparently hard-wired to my machine, and any attempt to replace or remove
Vista are a big "No No" for this machine.

Try to remove and format the disk's partition with one of the Linux distributions and then reinstall a Win OS...
Never at rest.
Massimo

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #35by BobHegwood » 16.06.2010, 10:08

Fenerit wrote:Try to remove and format the disk's partition with one of the Linux distributions and then reinstall a Win OS...

I appreciate the advice, but with my limited brain-power and all of the work involved here,
I think I'll just keep using what I have until I buy another new PC. By the way, I have re-installed
Celestia now, and I believe that I have repaired the previous problem. :wink:

Thanks for the help, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #36by Fenerit » 16.06.2010, 10:43

BobHegwood wrote:I think I'll just keep using what I have until I buy another new PC.

Your computer indeed is powerful. And for such memory Xp isn't suited. But powerful Pc with lighter Os, which make the machine much more fast (you should be at desktop prompt 20 sec. before :wink: ), is always fascinating.

BobHegwood wrote:By the way, I have re-installed Celestia now, and I believe that I have repaired the previous problem. :wink:

Thanks for the help, Brain-Dead
This mean no longer Earth's displacements?
Never at rest.
Massimo

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2702
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 16 years 5 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #37by John Van Vliet » 17.06.2010, 07:34

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 20.10.2013, 07:49, edited 1 time in total.

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 11 years 4 months

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #38by BobHegwood » 18.06.2010, 10:32

john Van Vliet wrote:" Bob come to the Dark side , we have cookies... "
( replace bob with Luke )
:lol: Thanks for the offer John, but with my limited Brain-Power, I don't
think that THAT is an option for me, and YES Fenerit my friend, I no longer
have to worry about the Earth's displacement.

Take care, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
Topic author
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 11
With us: 11 years 10 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: 3D Earth's Geological Features

Post #39by Fenerit » 18.06.2010, 23:26

The phantom menace's removal is complete...
Never at rest.
Massimo


Return to “Lua-Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2 guests