Opening CMOD in blender

All about models for Celestia. How-to, programs, work in progress...
Avatar
Topic author
trappistplanets
Posts: 307
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 10 months 28 days

Opening CMOD in blender

Post #1by trappistplanets » 21.04.2021, 14:08

is there anyway to open CMOD in blender?
i tried to reopen the original .obj (i made) but nothing is showing up and this happens every single time to my obj files
so how can i open cmod in blender?

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 554
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 18
With us: 2 years 10 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #2by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 21.04.2021, 16:28

Get a CMOD plugin.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

Avatar
Topic author
trappistplanets
Posts: 307
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 10 months 28 days

Post #3by trappistplanets » 21.04.2021, 17:41

Anthony_B_Russo10 wrote:Get a CMOD plugin.
i don't know of any

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2806
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 18 years 8 months

Opening CMOD in blender

Post #4by John Van Vliet » 21.04.2021, 23:43

there was a very very old EXPORT only plugin for Blender 2.49b

however there is a DOT NET 5 ( C# ) microsoft only ( maybe linux with wine but i have not tried it ) , cmod to obj program

see:

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=21059



.

Avatar
Topic author
trappistplanets
Posts: 307
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 10 months 28 days

Post #5by trappistplanets » 22.04.2021, 12:35

John Van Vliet wrote:there was a very very old EXPORT only plugin for Blender 2.49b
i want somthing that can import cmod
and somthing i don't have to build on my own, i don't know how to compile/build programs or plugins

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year 7 months

Post #6by SevenSpheres » 22.04.2021, 14:23

trappistplanets wrote:i want [something] that can import cmod
and [something] i don't have to build on my own, i don't know how to compile/build programs or plugins

That doesn't exist (unless someone compiles Andrew Tribick's program and releases it on the forum).

Update: there's a pre-compiled version now.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • (formerly) Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
Topic author
trappistplanets
Posts: 307
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 10 months 28 days

Post #7by trappistplanets » 22.04.2021, 17:05

SevenSpheres wrote:That doesn't exist (unless someone compiles Andrew Tribick's program and releases it on the forum).
okay so who should i talk to about compiling it?

ajtribick
Developer
Posts: 1827
Joined: 11.08.2003
With us: 17 years 8 months

Post #8by ajtribick » 22.04.2021, 19:11

John Van Vliet wrote:however there is a DOT NET 5 ( C# ) microsoft only ( maybe linux with wine but i have not tried it ) , cmod to obj program
It should work on any platform where the .NET 5 runtime can be installed, which includes Mac and Linux (at least several of the more popular distros), so hopefully WINE would not be necessary. Although since I abandoned the idea of putting a GUI on this, I might end up converting it to Rust at some point.

Whether converting from CMOD to OBJ will solve the original issue, no idea unfortunately.
Last edited by ajtribick on 22.04.2021, 20:16, edited 2 times in total.

Avatar
Topic author
trappistplanets
Posts: 307
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 10 months 28 days

Post #9by trappistplanets » 22.04.2021, 19:16

ajtribick wrote:It should work on any platform where the .NET 5 runtime can be installed, which includes Mac and Linux (at least several of the more popular distros), so hopefully WINE would not be necessary. Although since I abandoned the idea of putting a GUI on this, I might end up converting it to Rust at some point.
i use windows 7 x32

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year 7 months

Post #10by SevenSpheres » 22.04.2021, 19:18

trappistplanets wrote:i use windows 7 x32
https://dotnet.microsoft.com/download/dotnet/5.0
Click on the Windows x86 installer. (x86 = 32-bit)
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • (formerly) Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2806
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 18 years 8 months

Post #11by John Van Vliet » 23.04.2021, 00:22

a rust version would be nice , looking at the code ( dot net) it looks like it will be a pain in the rear end to compile on linux or apple

however this is a great start


Return to “Modelling”

Who is online