Help converting a model to CMOD format

All about models for Celestia. How-to, programs, work in progres ...
Topic author
vpontin
Posts: 9
Joined: 20.04.2017
With us: 1 year 2 months

Help converting a model to CMOD format

Post #1by vpontin » 24.02.2018, 01:15

Hi!
First sorry if this is the wrong section to ask for modeling help.

Well, i'm trying to convert this model for use with Celestia (personal project for fun). First i converted the .obj in .3ds via Blender; and then converted to .cmod using cmodview.

But when i made an extra to show the model inside celestia (in place of the Moon) the model was glitched:

mm.jpg

mm2.jpg

mm3.jpg


Any hints to fix this? Thanks in advance!

Avatar
CM1215 M
Posts: 121
Joined: 30.08.2017
Age: 16
With us: 9 months 22 days
Location: Ohio, U. S. A.

Post #2by CM1215 » 24.02.2018, 01:24

Perhaps what you should do is open the OBJ file in cmodview, as it has that capability. The 3ds files have limitations that make them bad ideas for celestial bodies. Perhaps what happened was that those limitations ruined the model when you converted it to a 3ds file.
CM1215: Celestial master in learning.

Topic author
vpontin
Posts: 9
Joined: 20.04.2017
With us: 1 year 2 months

Post #3by vpontin » 24.02.2018, 02:48

Just opened .obj directly on cmodview, but the textures are glitchy (while on .3ds they are rendered fine):

error.png

Avatar
selden
Posts: 10214
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #4by selden » 24.02.2018, 04:11

I suspect you've been bitten by one of Celestia's long standing bugs: it doesn't depth sort transparent objects correctly. The surface textures provided are transparent PNG images.

Convert the surface texture images from PNG into JPG and see if that helps.

I suggest this because it looks fine to me. I also used Anim8or's cmod plugin to convert the model from obj to cmod, but that should be irrelevant.

capture_053_23022018_230035.png


capture_054_23022018_230344.png


MajorasMaskMoon.zip
(220.41 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Selden

Topic author
vpontin
Posts: 9
Joined: 20.04.2017
With us: 1 year 2 months

Post #5by vpontin » 24.02.2018, 04:35

Oh Thanks! I also tried Anim8or but the model was too large when imported and i didnt find any way to zoom out to see what i was importing (of if was everything right)


Return to “Modelling”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 1 guest