!!! distance to some stars are wrong

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
CELESTIA USER

!!! distance to some stars are wrong

Post #1by CELESTIA USER » 13.06.2002, 10:00

I thought Polaris is 800 ly from Sun.
But in program, it's 400 ly!
And,DeneB is 1500 ly from Sun,but in program,it's 3000 ly!!
Maybe some of the distances to stars are wrong......
Please fix it. I knew this site today

P.S:I'm foreigner.I'm poor at English :D :D :D :D :D

I want to see new version soon :lol: :lol:

marg

Post #2by marg » 16.06.2002, 08:59

These distances are most precious to present moment, because I see that Chris has taken into account HIPPARCOS measurements. So these values are correct. Polaris about 430 ly, and as I remember, Denebs measured parralax was 0,0011 miliarcseconds, so that corresponds to about 1000 parsecs (>3000 ly)!
And Betelgeuse is about 430 ly away not 650 ly as earlier thought. Earlier measurements for distant stars were very uncertaint.
Polaris distance was 800 plus-minus 500 light years!!!
So here Celestia is right.
But the totally wrong distance value (I think Chris just mistyped) is for Eta Cassiopeia star! (look earlier my topic "some small buggies"), which is about 19,5 ly away (one of the closest), but not 1500 ly (although spectrum was correct of the main sequence star).

Mutos
Posts: 75
Joined: 15.07.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: France

Post #3by Mutos » 16.07.2002, 08:16

Hi everybody,


Just saw the bug for ETA Cas, in the universe i'm building it's one of the First Colonies precisely 'cause it's one of the nearest G stars around. So I jumped when I saw Celestia displayed 1411 LY from Sol !


Found another one by comparing w/ my own data, from the 100 LY nearby stars catalog. 79 Cet (HIP 12048) is at 71 LY from Sol from my data & is reported by Celestia as 117 LY. I use it as cradlestar for one of my spacegoing species ^-^


Benoit 'Mutos' ROBIN
http://hoshikaze.net

Rassilon
Posts: 1887
Joined: 29.01.2002
With us: 18 years 8 months
Location: Altair

Post #4by Rassilon » 16.07.2002, 08:28

Mutos:

Have you made any textures for your imaginary worlds? I would be interested in seeing some ;)
I'm trying to teach the cavemen how to play scrabble, its uphill work. The only word they know is Uhh and they dont know how to spell it!

Mutos
Posts: 75
Joined: 15.07.2002
With us: 18 years 3 months
Location: France

Post #5by Mutos » 16.07.2002, 13:40

Hi everybody,


No texture for now, I'm fiddling w/ ssc files to create structure for Hoshikaze systems. Will get the solar systems creator to see what it's like & then i'll get to work on some systems...
Benoit 'Mutos' ROBIN
http://spacesims.hoshikaze.net


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online