Hanging after clicking 'Goto' in Solar sys. browse dialog

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
Xerxes
Posts: 3
Joined: 01.02.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: Sussex, UK

Hanging after clicking 'Goto' in Solar sys. browse dialog

Post #1by Xerxes » 01.02.2002, 09:09

I've been playing with Celestia for a few weeks now - great piece of work, however, after installing the latest patch I have a problem when using the solar system browser dialog - I bring up the dialog and click on, say, Uranus and then click on Goto - the view rotates a bit and it looks like the transit to the selected location has started and then the computer hangs and I have to hit the reset button (CTRL-ALT-DEL doesn't work).
My system details;
600 MHz P3
128Mb Ram
Matrox G400 16Mb graphics card

Regards
Norman

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #2by chris » 04.02.2002, 23:33

I haven't been able to reproduce this problem . . . does this happen for anyone else?

Xerxes, which version of Celestia are you using? 1.2.0 for Windows?

--Chris

Topic author
Xerxes
Posts: 3
Joined: 01.02.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: Sussex, UK

celestia version

Post #3by Xerxes » 05.02.2002, 12:11

Hi Chris,

Sorry - should have said - I installed 1.2.0 Windows and it ran OK except for the known problem of crashing when you flipped between Options & Browse dialogs, I then downloaded and installed your patch 1.2.1 and the problem ocurred.

I think I might need to grab the full 1.2.1 download and install that to see if the problem still ocurs.

Regards
Norman

JLP
Posts: 41
Joined: 31.01.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Fine here

Post #4by JLP » 06.02.2002, 12:23

It works just fine here
Windows XP Pro
Celestia 1.2.0 + 1.2.1 patch
ATI Radeon 8500 + 6025 drivers
AMD Athlon 1333 MHz
512 MB RAM
Live long and prosper!

Topic author
Xerxes
Posts: 3
Joined: 01.02.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: Sussex, UK

Post #5by Xerxes » 08.02.2002, 12:45

Me again - just erased everything, re-downloaded 1.2.1 and installed - I get the same problem, pick a planet from the solar sys. browser - it starts the transit and then hangs.
Erased everything and re-installed 1.2.0 - everything is OK now except for the known bug.
Sigh! guess I'll just have to stick 1.2.0 for a while.

Cheers
Norman

JLP
Posts: 41
Joined: 31.01.2002
With us: 18 years 7 months
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Drivers?

Post #6by JLP » 08.02.2002, 17:10

Did you try different drivers for your Matrox? Maybe it's a bug in the drivers.
Live long and prosper!

Pathian

Post #7by Pathian » 17.02.2002, 22:35

OnK!

Excellent piece of programming BTW! :D

Only heard about Celestia recently through the UK's PC Zone magazine, so downloaded the 1.2.1 version yesterday.

Urrmmm, I get the same thing, (chose GOTO, etc.) PC freezes and have to reset it (rather than doing a CTRL-ALT-DEL). Also, it'll just as often give me a totally blank screen, then I get the monitor's "No Signal" message. At this stage the PC doesn't reboot, I have to do that manually.

Happens about 70% of the time.

PIII 800Mhz/512MB PC133
ATI Radeon 64Mb DDR (original Radeon)
ATI Driver 4.13.7189
SB Live Platinum (latest drivers)
Windows ME

All the best,

Pathian
http://www.pathian.co.uk
http://www.mp3.com/pathian

Pathian

Post #8by Pathian » 17.02.2002, 22:41

OnK!

...just to add to the above; :D

Happens in both Full Screen (tried 800x600 32bit and 1024x768 32bit) or Window'ed mode (1280x1024, 32bit colour)

All the best,

Pathian
http://www.pathian.co.uk
http://www.mp3.com/pathian

flym

Post #9by flym » 21.02.2002, 08:27

I have the same problem with 1.2.1 on Win2K Athlon 1200 and XP1500+
A7V(133 & 266E) both with GeForce2MX.
The problem is still there even if you simply change any
rendering option: check on or off one of them, press OK and....
Celestia disappears :cry: .
I was looking for version 1.2.2 for this reason


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online