Recording videos in Celestias doesn't work, Help!

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
Sorcha_BCO1
Posts: 7
Joined: 25.11.2019
With us: 11 months 4 days

Recording videos in Celestias doesn't work, Help!

Post #1by Sorcha_BCO1 » 04.12.2019, 16:01

Whenever I try to render a video file, the screen gets split into four and the video only shows the last 20 seconds or so of the recording.

Video Rendering attempts.PNG


I've tried recording a script that lasts 3.30 minutes, and while the file is massive (4.2 GB), it will still only play the last 20 seconds.

Have I a setting on that I don't know about that causes this? Is there any way to overcome this/an app that people have found that records the screen that is high quality?

Thanks!

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #2by selden » 04.12.2019, 17:00

Unfortunately, "It works fine for me," but you haven't provided enough information.

I'm guessing that some of the symptoms might be related either to how your script is interacting with Celestia or to the metadata in the video file which describe its characteristics causing the video player to be confused.

Can you provide a copy of your Celestia script? What language is it in? Cel? CelX? Do you use any "Scripted Orbit" routines?

What does the utility MediaInfo have to say about the video file's characteristics? Do they agree with what you told Celestia to write?
MediaInfo is available for free at https://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo

What operating system and version are you running under? (Windows 7? Windows 10 1903? Windows 10 1909? something else? Their video codecs differ.)
What version of Celestia are you running? (1.6.1? 1.6.2 beta? 1.7.0 QT? other?)

In Celestia's "Capture movie" menu,
What video window size did you select in Celestia's video "Save As" window? (320x240? 1920x1080? other?)
What "Frame rate"? (24 fps? 30 fps? other?)

In Celestia's "Video Compression" menu, what CODEC did you choose? (Full Frames (Uncompressed)? Microsoft RLE? Something else?)

What software are you using to view the video? (Windows Media Player? VLC? Kodi? Something else?)
Selden

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 471
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 17
With us: 2 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #3by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 05.12.2019, 05:43

Well, the media player UI suggest that it is VLC.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

Topic author
Sorcha_BCO1
Posts: 7
Joined: 25.11.2019
With us: 11 months 4 days

Post #4by Sorcha_BCO1 » 05.12.2019, 10:23

Thanks so much for your help, but a friend of mine took a look at the Codec options that come with Celestia and figured out we needed a more up to date version than the one that comes as is.

For anyone who has the same issue in the future, it can be fixed by downloading this Codec: https://codecguide.com/download_k-lite_codec_pack_mega.htm

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10138
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Post #5by selden » 05.12.2019, 11:43

I use k-lite, too. Its H.264 encoder is very good. However, if you are going to do any editing, it’s best to use a lossless encoder until you publish the final version. Most video encoders are lossy. Each time you export to a file from the editor, more of the fine details are lost.
Selden

Limax7
Posts: 85
Joined: 23.01.2010
Age: 41
With us: 10 years 9 months
Location: Poland, Bialystok

Post #6by Limax7 » 05.12.2019, 19:42

I use OBS studio to record screen. It has NVENC_NEW codec so don't stress CPU usage.
Adam
Nikon D3200, Uniwersal 150/900, lorneta 20x80

Bialystok, Poland


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online