Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Avatar
Topic author
Goofy
Posts: 241
Joined: 30.08.2011
With us: 8 years 1 month
Location: Italy

Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Post #1by Goofy » 12.06.2013, 14:39

Hi. I'm using Global Water Volume by ParticleGrasp, found in Motherlode here
http://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/s ... on_id=1635
It shows three water globes on Earth surface, the large one giving all Earth's water, the median the liquid fresh water, the smaller the water in lakes and rivers, as in image 1.
But I have a strange effect (bug?): whatever setting I'm using, the two larger spheres have their shadow, the snaller doesn't, see image 2.

This is the ssc file, that IMO looks correct:

Code: Select all

Replace "Earth" "Sol"
{
   Texture         "GWVEarth.*"
    NormalMap       "GWVEarthNormal.*"
    Radius          6378.140
    CustomOrbit     "vsop87-earth"
    BodyFrame { EclipticJ2000 {} }
   CustomRotation  "earth-p03lp"
    Albedo          0000.300
}

"All Earth's Water" "Sol/Earth"
{
    Texture         "GWVH2O.*"
    Radius          0691.870
   SpecularColor   [ 0.8 0.8 0.85 ]
   SpecularPower   0025.000
    OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Earth" }}
    FixedPosition {Planetographic [ 85 143 691.87 ]}
    InfoURL "http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/2010/gallery/global-water-volume.html"
}

"Liquid Fresh Water" "Sol/Earth"
{
    Texture         "GWVH2O.*"
    Radius          0136.400
   SpecularColor   [ 0.8 0.8 0.85 ]
   SpecularPower   0025.000
    OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Earth" }}
    FixedPosition {Planetographic [ 95 143 136.4 ]}
    InfoURL "http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/2010/gallery/global-water-volume.html"
}

"Water in Lakes and Rivers" "Sol/Earth"
{
    Texture         "GWVH2O.png"
    Radius          0028.100
   SpecularColor   [ 0.8 0.8 0.85 ]
   SpecularPower   0025.000
    OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Earth" }}
    FixedPosition {Planetographic [ 97 145 28.1 ]}
    InfoURL "http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/2010/gallery/global-water-volume.html"
}

Any help, please?
Thabnk you very much.

Goofy :D
"Something is always better than nothing!"
ASUS G75VX4007H- Intel i7 3630QM, 2.4 GHz-SSD 250GB+SSD 1TB, SATA 3-32GB DDR3 1600 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 780MX 3 GB

Avatar
Marco Klunder
Posts: 180
Joined: 20.02.2008
Age: 57
With us: 11 years 8 months
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Post #2by Marco Klunder » 13.06.2013, 19:18

Probably a "partial" eclipse ?
Check and move in the expected shadow area on the surface of Earth, to see if it should be a total eclipse with a shadow...
Marco Klunder
email: marco.klunder@hccnet.nl
Windows7 Ultimate, PD 3.0 GHz, 2 GB of RAM, Nvidia GeForce 6700 XL
Celestia161 / SVN + Lua Edu Tools v1.2 Beta9 and Celestia160-ED

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 14 years 1 month
Location: Indiana, United States

Re: Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Post #3by Hungry4info » 13.06.2013, 21:10

I'm pretty sure this is programmatic. I believe Celestia only renders moon shadows for moons above a certain size.
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Re: Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Post #4by John Van Vliet » 14.06.2013, 08:24

--- edit----
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 18.10.2013, 11:18, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
Topic author
Goofy
Posts: 241
Joined: 30.08.2011
With us: 8 years 1 month
Location: Italy

Re: Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Post #5by Goofy » 14.06.2013, 16:22

Marco Klunder wrote:Probably a "partial" eclipse ?
Check and move in the expected shadow area on the surface of Earth, to see if it should be a total eclipse with a shadow...
Hi Marco.
No, I tried in all the possible positions amd sun angles, times etc., always the same behaviour. :(
john Van Vliet wrote:That add on was a bit "odd" when i checked it- there is a bit of planet shine
Correct, I noted it, and it shows clearly in my NO-SHADOWS-2.jpg image.
Any idea about the reason of this?
Anyway I fear that Hungry4info gave the right solution to the missing shadow, and now I remember something about this problrm in a very old thread, but I didn't find it again.
So I made some test, and here the results. The moon was in original ssc 28 Km radius, but the minimum size to have its shadow is just a little more, 32 Km.
I think this is a strange limitation, cannot find any reason for it.
Any idea?
Bye and many thanks to all of you.

Goofy :D
"Something is always better than nothing!"
ASUS G75VX4007H- Intel i7 3630QM, 2.4 GHz-SSD 250GB+SSD 1TB, SATA 3-32GB DDR3 1600 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 780MX 3 GB

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 12
With us: 12 years 6 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Re: Moon shadow yes, moon shadow no...

Post #6by Fenerit » 15.06.2013, 12:10

lodgy wrote:
Goofy wrote:So I made some test, and here the results. The moon was in original ssc 28 Km radius, but the minimum size to have its shadow is just a little more, 32 Km.
I think this is a strange limitation, cannot find any reason for it.
Any idea?Goofy :D
I thought the same thing that Hungry4info gave the right solution to the missing shadow...

32 like 32 bits ??? (or 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 or 2 ^5)

2 = 0,1;
5 = x,y,z,normal,tangent;
:)
Never at rest.
Massimo


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 6 guests