Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Topic author
Desperate
Posts: 4
Joined: 25.09.2007
With us: 12 years 2 months
Location: Finland

Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #1by Desperate » 25.09.2007, 20:28

Hello!

I have the latest drivers, directx 9 etc.
Celestia only don??t work. Have a look at "fotopankki.fi" please.
What now Friends?

Desperate.


http://www.fotopankki.fi/ronsu






------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/25/2007, 21:04:29

Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.070227-2300)

System Manufacturer: FUJITSU SIEMENS
System Model: AMILO La1703
BIOS: BIOS Version 2.00-0015-M001
Processor: Mobile AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.6GHz
Memory: 446MB RAM
Page File: 408MB used, 643MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode



---------------
Card name: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP
Manufacturer: S3 Graphics Co., Ltd.
Chip type: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3230&SUBSYS_10D91734&REV_01
Display Memory: 64.0 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play -n?¤ytt?¶
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: S3gIGP.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.0071 (English)
DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 9/12/2006 11:53:32, 857088 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a





Vendor: S3 Graphics, Incorporated


Renderer: S3 Graphics DeltaChrome

Version: 1.4 15.13.15.05

Max simultaneous textures: 8

Max texture size: 2048

Point size range: 0.500000 - 64.000000



Supported Extensions:

WGL_ARB_extensions_string

WGL_EXT_extensions_string

GL_S3_s3tc



GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array



GL_EXT_texture_env_add



GL_ARB_multitexture



GL_ARB_transpose_matrix



GL_ARB_texture_env_add



GL_ARB_texture_cube_map



GL_ARB_texture_compression



GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp



GL_ARB_point_parameters



GL_ARB_texture_env_combine



GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar



GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3



GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat



GL_ARB_depth_texture



GL_ARB_shadow



GL_ARB_shadow_ambient



GL_ARB_window_pos



GL_ARB_vertex_program



GL_ARB_fragment_program



GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object



GL_ARB_occlusion_query



GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two



GL_ARB_point_sprite



GL_EXT_abgr



GL_EXT_blend_color



GL_EXT_texture3D



GL_EXT_histogram



GL_EXT_convolution



GL_EXT_packed_pixels



GL_SGIS_texture_lod



GL_EXT_rescale_normal



GL_EXT_vertex_array



GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap



GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp



GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp



GL_EXT_blend_minmax



GL_EXT_blend_subtract



GL_EXT_point_parameters



GL_EXT_draw_range_elements



GL_EXT_bgra



GL_EXT_separate_specular_color



GL_EXT_secondary_color



GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays



GL_EXT_fog_coord



GL_EXT_texture_env_combine



GL_EXT_blend_func_separate



GL_EXT_stencil_wrap



GL_NV_texgen_reflection



GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias



GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic



GL_NV_blend_square



GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc



GL_ATI_fragment_shader



GL_ATI_vertex_array_object



GL_EXT_vertex_shader



GL_ATI_element_array



GL_EXT_shadow_funcs



GL_EXT_stencil_two_side



GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3



GL_ATI_vertex_attrib_array_object



GL_KTX_buffer_region



GL_WIN_swap_hint



GL_EXT_color_table



GL_EXT_color_matrix



GL_EXT_texture_cube_map



GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp

WGL_EXT_swap_control

GL_EXT_framebuffer_object

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10077
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 3 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #2by selden » 25.09.2007, 21:02

Sadly, it looks to me like bugs in the S3 graphics drivers.
The drivers claim to support OpenGL v1.4
This is indicated by the line
Version: 1.4 15.13.15.05

OpenGL v1.4 vertex shaders are used by Celestia to draw highlights on the Earth's oceans (specular reflections) and to draw shadows on the sides of mountains and craters on the Moon and on Mars.

Please type a ctrl-V several times, so that Celestia selects Basic (which uses OpenGL v1.1) and then Multitexture (which uses OpenGL v1.2) render paths. Does the Earth look OK in those two modes? (I suspect it will; it won't show highlights on the oceans, though.)

If so, then it is a problem in the OpenGL v1.4 vertex shader program code of the OpenGL drivers for the graphics hardware. You should try to report the problem to S3 . If they don't know there's a problem, they can't fix it. They may require you to report the problem by way of the company that made your computer, though. That'll make getting a fix take longer :(
Selden

Topic author
Desperate
Posts: 4
Joined: 25.09.2007
With us: 12 years 2 months
Location: Finland

Post #3by Desperate » 26.09.2007, 23:11

Thanks Sheldon.
Typing ctrl-v don??t help.
I will try to report to S3.
This new laptopp is the first one of mines, witch is angry to the good Celestia.

Still Desperate :(

Topic author
Desperate
Posts: 4
Joined: 25.09.2007
With us: 12 years 2 months
Location: Finland

Post #4by Desperate » 26.09.2007, 23:15

So i mean.

Thanks SELDEN , perdone.

Desperate.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10077
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 3 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #5by selden » 27.09.2007, 10:42

Desperate,

I'm sorry it doesn't work for you.

You can use Celestia with Microsoft's software OpenGL drivers by turning off 3D hardware acceleration.

Instructions:

Open the "Start / Control Panel / Display Properties" menu. Select the "Settings / Advanced / Troubleshoot" tab (not the "Troubleshoot..." button). Move the "Hardware acceleration" slider all the way to the left. Click on the "OK" buttons to change the settings in use. This will cause Windows to use Microsoft's Generic OpenGL v1.1 library, which is limited and can't show all of Celestia's eye candy, but seems to have relatively few bugs. It even works on 2D displays, but it draws everything using software and so is quite slow.
Selden

Topic author
Desperate
Posts: 4
Joined: 25.09.2007
With us: 12 years 2 months
Location: Finland

Post #6by Desperate » 01.10.2007, 06:06

selden wrote:Desperate,

I'm sorry it doesn't work for you.

You can use Celestia with Microsoft's software OpenGL drivers by turning off 3D hardware acceleration.

Instructions:

Open the "Start / Control Panel / Display Properties" menu. Select the "Settings / Advanced / Troubleshoot" tab (not the "Troubleshoot..." button). Move the "Hardware acceleration" slider all the way to the left. Click on the "OK" buttons to change the settings in use. This will cause Windows to use Microsoft's Generic OpenGL v1.1 library, which is limited and can't show all of Celestia's eye candy, but seems to have relatively few bugs. It even works on 2D displays, but it draws everything using software and so is quite slow.



Thank you Selden again.
Celestia is working.


Less desperate now.

abrasax
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.02.2009
With us: 10 years 10 months

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #7by abrasax » 04.02.2009, 19:32

I have a suggestion for celestia developers. I have via chrome9 graphics adapter. It is a laptop with no option for upgrading so I have to do with what I've got. Now I love celestia and my request is I think simple enough. I have tried various ways to overcome this issue and I have found one that is promising. I just tried it for Earth and it worked well. I just substituted makesphere function with a model of a ball. So it would be very nice if you could make a fix or something that would change every makesphere function with a real 3d model of a ball?

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 17 years 10 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #8by chris » 04.02.2009, 23:38

abrasax wrote:I have a suggestion for celestia developers. I have via chrome9 graphics adapter. It is a laptop with no option for upgrading so I have to do with what I've got. Now I love celestia and my request is I think simple enough. I have tried various ways to overcome this issue and I have found one that is promising. I just tried it for Earth and it worked well. I just substituted makesphere function with a model of a ball. So it would be very nice if you could make a fix or something that would change every makesphere function with a real 3d model of a ball?

I don't understand... What exactly did you do to make this work? Did you edit solarsys.ssc and set the mesh for Earth to be a 3ds model of a ball?

--Chris

abrasax
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.02.2009
With us: 10 years 10 months

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #9by abrasax » 05.02.2009, 09:21

yes :)

abrasax
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.02.2009
With us: 10 years 10 months

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #10by abrasax » 16.02.2009, 22:46

So is it possible or not? Celestia is the best presentation software that I ever used. I would much like to use it on my laptop, but if it's not possible the least you could do is tell us.

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10077
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 3 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #11by selden » 17.02.2009, 12:58

abrasax,

Unfortunately, Chris Laurel is the only person who would be able to fix the problem, and he's busy finalizing the v1.6 release of Celestia. I suspect that changes to "makesphere" would require substantial work and would postpone the next release for a long time. Simply using meshes breaks Oblateness, VirtualTextures, specularity and other visual displays related to Celestia's representation of planetary surfaces. There are quite a few features which depend on the current representation of planetary bodies and which do not work on fixed sized meshes.

However, have you tried the workaround of disabling or reducing hardware graphics acceleration? Did it work? How much of a performance penalty did it cause? i.e. what's the difference in Celestia's fps (frames per second) ? Type a ` (back-slanted apostrophe; it's usually on the same key with ~ tilde) to see the fps value in the lower left corner of Celestia's window.
Selden

abramson
Posts: 404
Joined: 22.07.2003
With us: 16 years 4 months
Location: Bariloche, Argentina

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #12by abramson » 17.02.2009, 21:18

I have a VIA Unichrome in my laptop (crappy graphics) and Celestia rendering is better when Antialiasing is *dissabled* in Celestia (Ctrl-X, or Menu Render > Antialiasing). With Antialiasing ON, I have a multitude of thin squares instead of the blobs that paint the galaxies, which I recover with Antialiasing OFF. Try what happens in your system dissabling antialiasing...

Guillermo

abrasax
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.02.2009
With us: 10 years 10 months

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #13by abrasax » 23.03.2009, 10:29

With hardware acceleretaion turned off fps is around 2-3 which is unusable. I realise that a patch would be hard to make and that there is only a few of us having such problems. Anyway thanks for your help. Maybe in near future via will have mercy on us and decide to fix the drivers :)

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10077
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 3 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #14by selden » 23.03.2009, 11:24

Unfortunately, the developers of Celestia can do nothing about the drivers.
You need to contact the manufacturer of your graphics chipset and report the problem.
If nobody tells them that something is wrong, they'll never fix it.
Selden

abrasax
Posts: 5
Joined: 04.02.2009
With us: 10 years 10 months

Re: Once again: VIA Chrome9 HC IGP

Post #15by abrasax » 23.09.2009, 00:04

Just to let everyone know, windows 7 automatically installs wddm drivers which WORK with celestia. Drivers are for vista but work nonetheless. So we poor chrome9 users can finally enjoy the full beauty of celestia. :)


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online