Circumbinary Planet Issues

Report bugs, bug fixes and workarounds here.
Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 28 days

Circumbinary Planet Issues

Post #1by Sirius_Alpha » 08.08.2019, 21:36

With the number of circumbinary planets that are becoming known getting into the dozens, there's a somewhat niche issue that I would like to bring to the attention of the developers, even if I'm sure they're already aware of it.

Planets orbiting barycenters are assigned temperatures of 0 K, and the barycenters do not show up in the Stars List when set to "planets with stars." The latter seems like it might be an easy fix but the former could be more challenging, I concede.

Cb_not_in_catalogue.png
Despite being in the Kepler-47 system, Kepler-47 does not show up as the nearest planet-hosting system.

onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 279
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 11 months 26 days

Post #2by onetwothree » 12.08.2019, 06:19

Sirius_Alpha wrote:Despite being in the Kepler-47 system, Kepler-47 does not show up as the nearest planet-hosting system.

Could you provide test data?

Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 28 days

Post #3by Sirius_Alpha » 12.08.2019, 19:59

Literally any circumbinary planet. You can download the data I used to create the above screenshot here.

Avatar
Fafers_br
Posts: 9
Joined: 01.12.2018
Age: 44
With us: 9 months 17 days
Location: Belo Horizonte - Brazil

Post #4by Fafers_br » 12.08.2019, 21:36

Sirius_Alpha wrote:(...)the barycenters do not show up in the Stars List when set to "planets with stars."

Apparently it was the developers' choice not to show barycenters in the Star Browser (if you mark the option "nearest", they will not show up too). But their planetary companions are correctly registered as their children.

Sirius_Alpha wrote:Planets orbiting barycenters are assigned temperatures of 0 K

This is very frustrating, indeed.

Avatar
FarGetaNik M
Posts: 444
Joined: 05.06.2012
With us: 7 years 3 months
Location: Germany

Post #5by FarGetaNik » 11.09.2019, 08:10

Oh dear, the good old days when I worked on my fictional ternary star system with planets. I recall the temperature parameter was removed from newer versions of Celestia and indeed the 1.7 built im using doesnt display temperature.

Avatar
fyr02
Posts: 107
Joined: 19.04.2019
Age: 14
With us: 5 months
Location: San Diego, California (United States)

Post #6by fyr02 » 11.09.2019, 19:55

Sirius_Alpha is using 1.6.1/onetwothree's 1.7.0.
Based on the time you became inactive, I am assuming that you use Alexell's 1.7.0, right?
I have my messed up origins; I can't control my mind. Also, did you know that cashews grow on top of apples?

Avatar
FarGetaNik M
Posts: 444
Joined: 05.06.2012
With us: 7 years 3 months
Location: Germany

Post #7by FarGetaNik » 11.09.2019, 19:58

yes, one of his builds, I lost track which one exactly. there are so many unofficial builds floating around. Have there been any improved builds since the new developing team took over?

Avatar
fyr02
Posts: 107
Joined: 19.04.2019
Age: 14
With us: 5 months
Location: San Diego, California (United States)

Post #8by fyr02 » 11.09.2019, 20:01

You can always check the 1.7.0 dev thread, I'm not too knowledgeable in that area so I really don't know.
I have my messed up origins; I can't control my mind. Also, did you know that cashews grow on top of apples?

Avatar
Topic author
Sirius_Alpha
Posts: 45
Joined: 21.03.2019
With us: 5 months 28 days

Post #9by Sirius_Alpha » 12.09.2019, 19:45

Even if you want to remove the temperature tag, there's still the problem of the system not appearing in the Star Browser.


Return to “Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 12 guests