Project "Celestia Origin", release dated April 30, 2020

The home for finished/released addons.
Avatar
Topic author
Art Blos M
Moderator
Posts: 784
Joined: 31.08.2017
Age: 28
With us: 3 years
Location: Volgodonsk, Rostov Oblast, Russia

Post #21by Art Blos » 07.05.2020, 16:37

gironde wrote:Is there a bug in the .ssc file for dwarf_planets and more particularly for Ceres.
I do not observe any anomalies. The trajectory loads correctly.
Attachments
Ceres-xyzv.png
Ceres-Dawn.png
Founder and head of the project "Celestia Origin"

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 3 years 9 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #22by gironde » 07.05.2020, 19:17

I don't know where it came from but when I put the Celestia Origin V11 script, Ceres does not load and the Celestia log says that (in french):

Sans titre 2.jpg

Avatar
Topic author
Art Blos M
Moderator
Posts: 784
Joined: 31.08.2017
Age: 28
With us: 3 years
Location: Volgodonsk, Rostov Oblast, Russia

Post #23by Art Blos » 07.05.2020, 19:26

gironde wrote:I don't know where it came from but when I put the Celestia Origin V11 script, Ceres does not load and the Celestia log says that (in french):
Which script do you mean? Where did you put it?
Founder and head of the project "Celestia Origin"

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 3 years 9 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #24by gironde » 08.05.2020, 08:39

Your script for Ceres is in Celestia\extras\dwarf_planets\dwarf_planets.ssc
The file xyzv is in Celestia\extras\dwarf_planets\data

In my installation, Ceres is in Celestia\catalogs\Solar System\Dwarfplanet and moons.ssc
The file xyzv is in Celestia\catalogs\Solar System\data
(this file ssc is loaded by celestia.cfg in section SolarSystemCatalogs)

nota : the others dwarfplanets in this file are perfectly loaded. Only Ceres is concerned

Avatar
Topic author
Art Blos M
Moderator
Posts: 784
Joined: 31.08.2017
Age: 28
With us: 3 years
Location: Volgodonsk, Rostov Oblast, Russia

Post #25by Art Blos » 08.05.2020, 11:11

gironde wrote:Your script for Ceres is in Celestia\extras\dwarf_planets\dwarf_planets.ssc
Files with extension *.ssc are usually not called “scripts”. You are confusing definitions. :insane:

gironde wrote:In my installation, Ceres is in Celestia\catalogs\Solar System\Dwarfplanet and moons.ssc
The file xyzv is in Celestia\catalogs\Solar System\data
(this file ssc is loaded by celestia.cfg in section SolarSystemCatalogs)
If I understand correctly, you have a different structure of folders and files. I cannot be responsible for the performance of add-ons if any third-party modifications have been made.

Ceres does not cause bugs in the CO. Among the dwarf planets, Ceres is the only one using a trajectory file. Perhaps you have broken something.
Founder and head of the project "Celestia Origin"

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 3 years 9 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #26by gironde » 08.05.2020, 20:30

Note that I am not looking for someone responsible for what is happening to me but only for ideas to find out where the problem comes from. Certainly Ceres is the only one in the dwarfplanets, to benefit from a trajectory file. But in my structure other objects are in this case and work very well. I again copied the Ceres definition from Celestia Origin V11 as well as the xyzv file. And I still have the error.

But I don't worry, I will end up finding and at that moment, I will say to myself "but you had the solution in front of you and you saw nothing"; it already happened to me !

:smile: :hi:

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 11 months 22 days

Post #27by SevenSpheres » 08.05.2020, 20:47

gironde wrote:In my installation, Ceres is in Celestia\catalogs\Solar System\Dwarfplanet and moons.ssc
The file xyzv is in Celestia\catalogs\Solar System\data
(this file ssc is loaded by celestia.cfg in section SolarSystemCatalogs)

I see the problem here. In celestia.cfg there is a line like this:
ExtrasDirectories  [ "extras-standard" "extras" ]
An ssc file located in a subdirectory of one of the directories specified in that line will look for trajectory files in a "data" folder in the same directory. However, I think you don't have "catalogs" listed as an extras directory, you're instead loading the files in "catalogs" in the "SolarSystemCatalogs" section of celestia.cfg. There are two solutions: specify "catalogs" as an extras directory instead, or put the trajectory file in the main "data" folder (Celestia/data).
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 3 years 9 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #28by gironde » 09.05.2020, 07:49

SevenSpheres
There are two solutions: specify "catalogs" as an extras directory instead, or put the trajectory file in the main "data" folder (Celestia/data)

thank SevenSpheres ...
You understand my installation (to prioritize loading by celestia)
I will test this idea.

:hi:

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 3 years 9 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #29by gironde » 10.05.2020, 08:53

I modified celestia.cfg to include my file in the type of extras files
ExtrasDirectories ["catalogs / Solar System" "lua-applications" "extras"]
It does not work properly, after loading Celestia can no longer find the dwarfplanets among others.

So I went back.

I modified celestia.cfg to include my file in the type of extras files
ExtrasDirectories ["catalogs / Solar System" "lua-applications" "extras"]
It does not work properly, after loading Celestia can no longer find the dwarfplanets among others.

So I went back.

Now I'm going to try to put my dwarfplanets back in the extras folder but I believe that some dwarf planets are called with the loading of the extras. And this also leads to errors.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 11 months 22 days

Post #30by SevenSpheres » 10.05.2020, 17:31

gironde wrote:Now I'm going to try to put my dwarfplanets back in the extras folder but I believe that some dwarf planets are called with the loading of the extras. And this also leads to errors.

You could also try the other thing I suggested - putting "ceres-dawn.xyzv" in the main "Celestia/data" folder.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 3 years 9 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #31by gironde » 11.05.2020, 16:36

In the 'Celestia / data' folder, it works perfectly.
It seems logical but I hadn't thought about it, thank you SevenSpheres

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

alderon57
Posts: 1
Joined: 11.05.2020
With us: 4 months 18 days

Earth clouds

Post #32by alderon57 » 11.05.2020, 21:41

Hello.
I have come back to Celestia after a long time away. I just downloaded the "Celestia Origin" release (hires), and the only problem I have encountered is the Earth clouds do not work correctly, and appear in multiple vertical bands, from north to south. They alternate between sections of normal looking and long horizontal streaks.
Has anyone encountered this before? Does the "vanilla" Celestia have to be completely unaltered for "Origin" to work? (I had download some other files from the Motherlode.)
Thank you for any help.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 11 months 22 days

Post #33by SevenSpheres » 11.05.2020, 21:49

alderon57 wrote:Does the "vanilla" Celestia have to be completely unaltered for "Origin" to work?

Correct, since Origin completely replaces Celestia's data. If the only thing you've changed is putting addons in the "extras" folder, try removing them (move them to e.g. an "inactive" folder) and see if Earth renders properly. Additional addons can be used with Celestia Origin, but if they add/update objects that Origin already adds/updates (e.g. Earth) there may be problems.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
Joey P. M
Posts: 462
Joined: 28.10.2017
Age: 18
With us: 2 years 11 months
Location: Vladivostok, Russia

Post #34by Joey P. » 12.05.2020, 01:26

Art Blos wrote:I’m trying to understand why you don’t want to download.
One - it is way too large for downloading - I tried downloading the textures just now but it takes 16 hours;
Two - the first application I installed on this was Celestia 1.6.1ED and, for nostalgic reasons, would I'd like to keep it that way - but that does not mean I hate your project.

I hope this doesn't offend you. Pleasant Flight.
Joey P.

Avatar
Topic author
Art Blos M
Moderator
Posts: 784
Joined: 31.08.2017
Age: 28
With us: 3 years
Location: Volgodonsk, Rostov Oblast, Russia

Post #35by Art Blos » 04.06.2020, 18:22

Full-scale preparation for the new release has begun!
Founder and head of the project "Celestia Origin"

Avatar
Topic author
Art Blos M
Moderator
Posts: 784
Joined: 31.08.2017
Age: 28
With us: 3 years
Location: Volgodonsk, Rostov Oblast, Russia

Post #36by Art Blos » 07.06.2020, 19:18

Added patch v.11.2

ChangeLog:
  • All new objects now connected to ViDiBa;
  • Added comet P/2019 LD2 (ATLAS);
  • Updated fragments of the comet C/2019 Y4 (ATLAS);
  • Updated comet C/2020 F8 (SWAN);
  • Fixed orientation of the Phoebe and 243 Ida;
  • Fixed orbit of the Dactyl.
Phoebe.png
243 Ida.png
Founder and head of the project "Celestia Origin"

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 11 months 22 days

Post #37by SevenSpheres » 15.06.2020, 22:00

(541132) 2015 TG387 now has the name Leleākūhonua.

I'll have to check and see which of the other named/numbered minor planets in the latest MPC are in Celestia Origin... (LukeCEL listed many other missing names and numbers of minor planets on Discord some time ago).

EDIT: Actually no need, Leleākūhonua is the only one that's in CO.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
DataPacRat
Posts: 17
Joined: 12.06.2010
Age: 43
With us: 10 years 3 months
Location: Niagara, Canada

Post #38by DataPacRat » 18.06.2020, 21:51

I just tried installing Celestia Origin v11 core on my linux machine, on top of Celestia 1.6.1. The installation itself appears to have completed without a hitch.

However, now when I try to run Celestia, I get this error message:

Error: lua-applications/lua_universal_tools_v5/lua_universal_tools_v5.lua:17: attempt to call a nil value (field 'getn')

I have Lua 5.3.5-6 installed, which appears to be the problem. Searching for the error message turns up links such as this, which points out that table.getn was deprecated in Lua 5.1.

Do I need to downgrade my Lua packages to 5.0, or is another solution available?
Thank you for your time,
--
DataPacRat
"Does aₘᵢₙ=2c²/Θ ? I don't know, but wouldn't it be fascinating if it were?"

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 453
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 11 months 22 days

Post #39by SevenSpheres » 18.06.2020, 22:10

DataPacRat wrote:Do I need to downgrade my Lua packages to 5.0, or is another solution available?

You need Lua 5.1, which at least on Windows comes packaged with Celestia. Some time ago I tried to update the Lua scripts but IIRC I never fully got them to work with Lua 5.3. It's on my list of things to do eventually...
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
DataPacRat
Posts: 17
Joined: 12.06.2010
Age: 43
With us: 10 years 3 months
Location: Niagara, Canada

Post #40by DataPacRat » 18.06.2020, 23:24

SevenSpheres wrote:You need Lua 5.1

Alright; I just downgraded to Lua 5.1.4-9, and trying to run Celestia provides the exact same error message. Should I try going further down to 5.0?

I don't suppose it's possible to turn off Celestia Origin's extra lua-stuff, and just take advantage of its objects, models, and so forth?
Thank you for your time,
--
DataPacRat
"Does aₘᵢₙ=2c²/Θ ? I don't know, but wouldn't it be fascinating if it were?"


Return to “Add-on releases”

Who is online