Page 2 of 12

apple

Posted: 01.01.2018, 15:28
by John Van Vliet
the qt5 , qmake fork i am working on is right now linux only

however seeing as apple is really unix BSD a few edits will allow it to build under apple using the "celestia.pro" for qmake

i might be merging the code base with a Visual studio 2013 build if and only if it is 64 bit

NO 32 bit OS support

Apple users WILL need to step up and HELP

Posted: 01.01.2018, 20:52
by MrSpace43
Ok...

Posted: 01.01.2018, 21:00
by Art Blos
MrSpace43 wrote:I'm having trouble with step 3. I can't find the “install.bat” thing. Please help me!
The file must be near the main folder. He could not get lost.

Posted: 02.01.2018, 00:55
by MrSpace43
It works great. Except the Dying solar system one. The planets will not appear.

Posted: 02.01.2018, 01:01
by CM1215
MrSpace43 wrote:It works great. Except the Dying solar system one. The planets will not appear.
You have to enable the dying solar system in the addons list in Lua Edu Tools.

Posted: 02.01.2018, 01:27
by MrSpace43
How?

Posted: 02.01.2018, 01:49
by CM1215
I'll tell you how:

1. Open Celestia.

2. Find the Lua Edu Tools bar on the right side of the screen. If it doesn't appear, then press SHIFT + I (I mean simply press and hold the Shift key and press the I key).

3. Find the button that says "Set Addon Visibility" and click it.

4. Scroll down on the newly popped-up menu and find the box next to the phrase "Dying Solar System" and click it to checkmark it. You will be taken to the dying solar system. Just uncheck the box and you will be taken back.

I hope this helps.

Posted: 03.01.2018, 00:41
by Joey P.
Um... I installed it successfully, but the globular clusters and galaxies will not show, regardless of showing it in the LUA edu tools or the Galaxy Light Gain setting. How can I fix it? Also, I moved everything from the models folder to Celestia's models folder, and 'Oumuamua will not show as well.

Posted: 03.01.2018, 06:56
by Art Blos
Joey P. wrote:I installed it successfully
No! If the installation was successful, there would not be such problems. You did everything wrong again.

Posted: 03.01.2018, 10:01
by selden
Celestia's on-screen log might give some hint as to why the objects aren't being drawn. Type a tilde (~) to see the log.

Given the number of objects provided, you'll probably have to greatly increase the maximum size of the log by modifying its entry in celestia.cfg

Posted: 04.01.2018, 16:30
by Carl
This is great! Thank all of you for doing this work. Question: Does this include the newer classes of stars such as the Y-Class. An example would be WISE 1828+2650, as mentioned in this article: https://www.space.com/12714-coldest-failed-stars-brown-dwarfs-wise.html

I am getting ready to rebuild my pure science version of Celestia, and this will be a huge help. I run more than one Celestia: pure science, a science fiction, an educational, and an older version, 1.4.1, due to add on issues. I bought a dedicated 3TB drive just for Celestia, and retro gaming. My master root folder, with sub-folder tree, is titled: Celestia All Plus, size is 327GB. I am always tweaking. Every so often, I will dedicate time to clean up and search for information that I don't have. About once a year, I scour the world looking for unique work, such as Spanish, French, Russian and other locations around the world. I back my drive up about once every six months, due to very little change in the Celestia world over the last several years. Scouring the world for Celestia information is how I first became aware of Alexell's work.

Added after 9 minutes 16 seconds:
I resolved the torrent download issue. For now I have found, and it seems to be working, a program called Torrent RT Free. Windows 10 Pro, 64 Bit, using Chrome browser.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 16:46
by Art Blos
Carl wrote:Does this include the newer classes of stars such as the Y-Class. An example would be WISE 1828+2650
Of similar objects, we have only WISE 0855−0714. But in the future we plan to add everything else.

Carl wrote:I seem to be having trouble getting this Torrent. I have done two Torrent addons to Chrome without any success. I use Windows 10 64bit and Chrome. I also have Firefox installed if that would make a difference. Any suggestions? I quit using Opera due to it being sold to CCP China. I lost trust in it, and that was the program I used to use for torrents.
Use uTorrent.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 16:48
by Carl
Thank you Art. I will check and download uTorrent. This free torrent RT that I found is not all that great.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 17:14
by Janus
@Carl
If you are going to use bit torrent, take a look at shareaza, it handles several different p2p formats, and it is opensource as well.
Be sure to go to sourceforge to get it, or its github fork, do not use the straight domain as it has been seized by militant anti-p2p industrialists.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 17:53
by Carl
Thank you Janus. I will be certain to do check it out. This RT that I found has failed. I will check what Art mentioned as well as what you have indicated.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 18:06
by Janus
@Art Blos

While looking at

https://celestia.space/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17941&p=137723#p137723

I became aware that the Celestia-Origin I have has a zero length /data/starnames.dat file in it.
This is the way it was when I got it via ftp, is that how it is supposed to be?


Janus.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 18:20
by Art Blos
Janus wrote:I became aware that the Celestia-Origin I have has a zero length /data/starnames.dat file in it.
This is the way it was when I got it via ftp, is that how it is supposed to be?
Yes, that's as it should be. All star names copied to file extras/Binar starnames.stc to provide the possibility to translate into different languages. A complete deletion starnames.dat results in an error.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 18:45
by Janus
Art Blos wrote:
Janus wrote:
I became aware that the Celestia-Origin I have has a zero length /data/starnames.dat file in it.
This is the way it was when I got it via ftp, is that how it is supposed to be?

Yes, that's as it should be. All star names copied to file extras/Binar starnames.stc to provide the possibility to translate into different languages. A complete deletion starnames.dat results in an error.

A suggestion for you then.
Rather than a zero length file, which sets off mental alarms in people who do security work.
There are security vulnerabilities that go with them.
And they are a common side effect of some types of malware or remote intrusions.

I would recommend that you replace its contents with something like this.

# All star names moved to the file extras/Binar starnames.stc
# To support later translation into different languages.
# Please contact ?????? if you with to help, or provide feedback.

In order to clear up any confusion.

This requires no change to existing code, while communicating clearly the intent of the change.
Though now that I have noticed that the loading is non optional, I will be making the loading of such files optional in my fork as soon as I get back to it when I finish my current job.
Work is so distracting from doing something more fulfilling. :wink:


Janus.

Posted: 04.01.2018, 18:56
by Art Blos
Janus wrote:I would recommend that you replace its contents with something like this.
Ok. :smile:

Posted: 04.01.2018, 18:57
by Janus
Okay, I can see why you zeroed the file.
It loads through a different path, its own, that does not support comments.
I am so going to fix its loading in my fork.

I abbreviated it to the first entry, and it works.
It can redefined in the later files just fine.
I am not trying to be pedantic.
It is just that zero length files are a sign of trouble.


Janus.