8200 (!) Earth locations ready to download

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 16
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

8200 (!) Earth locations ready to download

Post #1by t00fri » 02.07.2003, 19:53

Hi all,

I have just Perl-extracted the ~8200 Earth locations with long-lat coordinates among the UNECE-list of 36000 locations on Earth:
http://www.unece.org/etrades/download/downindex.htm

So there is a big jump now from about 500 in my previous precision list to 8200 locations!

Unfortunately, there is no size information available. I have reduced the importance of Airports (100 -> 40) relative to other spots.

My new list may be downloaded from

http://www.shatters.net/~t00fri/earth-UNECE.ssc.zip

Just place it together with my original list earth.ssc in the extras directory.
Let me know whether you find some oddities. Clearly the US and Europe are /very/crowded now and we must think about further selective criteria.

Please note that in the latest CVS code, every location is now selectable. Using Follow or Sync commands gives amazing new views;-)

Enjoy!

Bye Fridger

-Shadow-
Posts: 156
Joined: 18.04.2003
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: Warbird D'Kara - Recreational area

Post #2by -Shadow- » 02.07.2003, 20:14

8200!! Nice......
Are the original 500 necessary?
Image

"Certain it is and sure: love burns, ale burns, fire burns, politics burns, but cold were life without them." - Romulan proverb

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 16
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #3by t00fri » 02.07.2003, 20:20

-Shadow- wrote:8200!! Nice......
Are the original 500 necessary?


Well, in the UNICE many well-known citys etc are not entered with long-lat coordinates, hence they are missing from that list. So it's better to use both lists.

Eventually, it's easy to eliminate doubles...

Bye Fridger

-Shadow-
Posts: 156
Joined: 18.04.2003
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: Warbird D'Kara - Recreational area

Post #4by -Shadow- » 02.07.2003, 20:25

Thank's fridger, I just D/Led the original 500, I'll test it all out after Dinner.

-Shadow
Image



"Certain it is and sure: love burns, ale burns, fire burns, politics burns, but cold were life without them." - Romulan proverb

Paolo
Posts: 502
Joined: 23.09.2002
With us: 16 years 4 months
Location: Pordenone/Italy

Post #5by Paolo » 02.07.2003, 20:31

I can't see locations :(
I've downloaded the 8200 file .
I've opened with MS Word and saved in txt format to correct the cr/lf problem under windows platform.
I've downloaded the 1.3.1 pre 5 following the instructions in
http://ennui.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2677.

I've followed also the previous thread 500 locations... http://ennui.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2623

Anyone can help please? :oops:

Bye - Paolo
Remember: Time always flows, it is the most precious thing that we have.
My Celestia - Celui

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 16
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #6by t00fri » 02.07.2003, 20:41

Paolo wrote:I can't see locations :(
I've downloaded the 8200 file .
I've opened with MS Word and saved in txt format to correct the cr/lf problem under windows platform.
I've downloaded the 1.3.1 pre 5 following the instructions in
http://ennui.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2677.

I've followed also the previous thread 500 locations... http://ennui.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2623

Anyone can help please? :oops:

Bye - Paolo


You must switch locations on first by means of the key '&'. Next you must get sufficiently close. Typically closer than 6000-7000 km at standard FoV.

Believe me, it works;-)

Bye Fridger

Commander David
Posts: 73
Joined: 27.06.2002
With us: 16 years 7 months
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post #7by Commander David » 02.07.2003, 20:43

Hi,

i`ve downloaded the big location file and install them in the extra dir in celestia but i can`nt see any location on Earth. I use celestia 1.3.1 pre 5 and a ati 9500 128 mb with cat 3.5
Can someone help?
Celestia on my System:
AMD Barton 2800+@3000+
1024 MB DDR-RAM
ATI Radeon 9500 non Pro 128MB
_________________
However if God is a mistake, then I do not regret anything. More worth living than this mistake did not give it.

Paolo
Posts: 502
Joined: 23.09.2002
With us: 16 years 4 months
Location: Pordenone/Italy

Post #8by Paolo » 02.07.2003, 20:52

Yeaaaahh :D :D
Solved :oops:
Was a my mistake I've putted the file in data folder insted of extras folder.

I think that some improvement must be implemented because if not this feature is almost unusable.

Let me know whether you find some oddities. Clearly the US and Europe are /very/crowded now and we must think about further selective criteria.


In 1.3.1 pre 5 for windows platform all the UNECE locations are of type "Other features", so I guess that the locations are without type.
So actually is not possible to make any selection nor limitation to avoid or to limitate crowding.

What is the notation in ssc file to define the type of the location?

BTW I have collected some ideas about locations and selection you can find them in my website at
http://members.xoom.virgilio.it/pangeli70/My%20Celestia/FR5%20Ground%20Locations.htm

Bye - Paolo
Remember: Time always flows, it is the most precious thing that we have.

My Celestia - Celui

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 16
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #9by t00fri » 02.07.2003, 21:02

Paolo wrote:Yeaaaahh :D :D
Solved :oops:
Was a my mistake I've putted the file in data folder insted of extras folder.

I think that some improvement must be implemented because if not this feature is almost unusable.

Let me know whether you find some oddities. Clearly the US and Europe are /very/crowded now and we must think about further selective criteria.

In 1.3.1 pre 5 for windows platform all the UNECE locations are of type "Other features", so I guess that the locations are without type.
So actually is not possible to make any selection nor limitation to avoid or to limitate crowding.

What is the notation in ssc file to define the type of the location?

BTW I have collected some ideas about locations and selection you can find them in my website at
http://members.xoom.virgilio.it/pangeli70/My%20Celestia/FR5%20Ground%20Locations.htm

Bye - Paolo


Just be patient. It is all going to come...But it's not our fault that this UNECE list is lacking important type/size/... info.

Bye Fridger

Paolo
Posts: 502
Joined: 23.09.2002
With us: 16 years 4 months
Location: Pordenone/Italy

Post #10by Paolo » 18.08.2003, 22:26

Any news about locations management aspects that are not yet implemented?

Or actually all the developement efforts are involved in virtual textures?

Bye - Paolo
Remember: Time always flows, it is the most precious thing that we have.

My Celestia - Celui

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 16
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #11by t00fri » 18.08.2003, 22:34

Paolo wrote:Any news about locations management aspects that are not yet implemented?

Or actually all the developement efforts are involved in virtual textures?

Bye - Paolo


Paolo,

as to myself: yes I am grinding tiles at full capacity both with my laptop (XP +Cygwin) and with my Desktop (Linux) in parallel...

Concerning your question: I am continuing to search in the net for a nationally balanced list of locations with accurate coordinates. Apart from that, with 32k effective resolution, all locations are sufficiently separated that everything looks very nice;-)

Bye Fridger

Pierebean
Posts: 35
Joined: 10.01.2005
With us: 14 years 1 month
Location: Nantes-FRANCE

Post #12by Pierebean » 04.02.2005, 15:07

i found that website, maybe it will interest someone. it is very exhaustive!
http://www.heavens-above.com/countries.asp

that site give also the elevation. Does the third coordonate(often a 0) is the elevation in the ssc file? what if we add it in Celestia.
Thus, we are able to value the elevation of a city for example.Then, the lack of Celestia is filled about elevation.
THE OWLS ARE NOT WHAT THEY SEEM

Avatar
Topic author
t00fri
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 16
With us: 16 years 10 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post #13by t00fri » 04.02.2005, 16:28

Pierebean wrote:i found that website, maybe it will interest someone. it is very exhaustive!
http://www.heavens-above.com/countries.asp

that site give also the elevation. Does the third coordonate(often a 0) is the elevation in the ssc file? what if we add it in Celestia.
Thus, we are able to value the elevation of a city for example.Then, the lack of Celestia is filled about elevation.


You should first specify which ssc file you were referring to!
There are many, that are possibly relevant here.

Usually, there is an importance parameter and NOT elevation. I made a lot of use of the importance parameter though.

That site does not seem to be computer-readable. Do you want to enter 40000 location names by hand?

My actual locations file that most Celestia people use has 40 000+ locations with quite accurate latitude/longitude coordinates, utf8 coded names and lots of other information ( except elevation).

http://www.shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3959&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

With 40 000+ locations we simply do not have enough space on the screen to print out the elevation besides the name...

Bye Fridger

Pierebean
Posts: 35
Joined: 10.01.2005
With us: 14 years 1 month
Location: Nantes-FRANCE

Post #14by Pierebean » 04.02.2005, 19:22

i was talking about that coordinate:

Location "Chahar Burjak" "Sol/Earth"
{
LongLat [ 62.20 34.25 0 ]
Importance 4.16
Type "City"
}


what is it? if it is not the elevation?
THE OWLS ARE NOT WHAT THEY SEEM

Avatar
selden
Posts: 10029
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 16 years 5 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #15by selden » 04.02.2005, 22:37

It is the elevation and it does work properly when specified -- the marker for the location is placed at that height from the surface of the primary object.

(Although I haven't verified that such locations are positioned at the correct height if the object is oblate.)
Selden

Evil Dr Ganymede
Posts: 1386
Joined: 06.06.2003
With us: 15 years 8 months

Post #16by Evil Dr Ganymede » 04.02.2005, 22:48

selden wrote:It is the elevation and it does work properly when specified -- the marker for the location is placed at that height from the surface of the primary object.

(Although I haven't verified that such locations are positioned at the correct height if the object is oblate.)


But if the Earth (and other planets) in Celestia don't have any real topographic variation across its surface, wouldn't that make elevation data somewhat pointless in such cases?

Avatar
selden
Posts: 10029
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 16 years 5 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #17by selden » 04.02.2005, 22:52

Don't forget that an Addon can contain a 3D model that's placed relative to the surface of object. Then the height in a Location can be relevant.

For example, someone might consider creating a 3D model of one or more of the mountains that have telescopes on them.
Selden

Evil Dr Ganymede
Posts: 1386
Joined: 06.06.2003
With us: 15 years 8 months

Post #18by Evil Dr Ganymede » 04.02.2005, 23:24

selden wrote:Don't forget that an Addon can contain a 3D model that's placed relative to the surface of object. Then the height in a Location can be relevant.

For example, someone might consider creating a 3D model of one or more of the mountains that have telescopes on them.


Oh yeah, I forgot about that. I was assuming you had to have a topographic model of the whole earth all at once, which would be a bit of a pain to render :).

Pierebean
Posts: 35
Joined: 10.01.2005
With us: 14 years 1 month
Location: Nantes-FRANCE

Post #19by Pierebean » 05.02.2005, 09:53

i tried with the village in tibet (china) nyetang (elevation:about 4480 m)
it seems to work!
it is really great.
now we can see the montain in pseudo-3D.
of course we cannot have the whole planet in toplogic representation but it better that nothing.


BTW, what is the importance of a location? is it meter,kilometers?
THE OWLS ARE NOT WHAT THEY SEEM

Pierebean
Posts: 35
Joined: 10.01.2005
With us: 14 years 1 month
Location: Nantes-FRANCE

Post #20by Pierebean » 05.02.2005, 10:03

Perhaps,this web-site do not have a editable-database.But, it has the capital avantage of mentionning every little places in the whole world, with exact coordinates(including elevation)! It allows at least to draw a local tipographic map. To my mind, it is enough.
BTW,thx t00fri for the regular location ssc file.however i did not get this sentence:
With 40 000+ locations we simply do not have enough space on the screen to print out the elevation besides the name...

Bye Fridger
sorry
THE OWLS ARE NOT WHAT THEY SEEM


Return to “Celestia Users”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 13 guests