Can't find Earth!

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
Topic author
balavox
Posts: 1
Joined: 24.09.2008
With us: 11 years 10 months

Can't find Earth!

Post #1by balavox » 24.09.2008, 09:59

Hi,

i'm new at using celestia, but this seems like odd behaviour: (mac os x 10.4 ppc - celestia1.5.1)

start celestia
for me it starts showing earth (default)
Go to Location
type Europa and press enter, goes there
Go to Location
type Rigel and press enter, goes there but nothing but label shown
Go to Location
type Earth
Object not found.
type Europa
Object not found
type Jupiter
Object not found

What gives?

thanks

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #2by cartrite » 24.09.2008, 10:21

type Europa and press enter, goes there
Go to Location
type Rigel and press enter, goes there but nothing but label shown
Go to Location
type Earth
Object not found.
When you start Celestia, you are in our solar system. So you can find Jupiter, Europa, etc. After you tried to find Rigel, you were not in the solar system any more. To get back to the solar system press "h" for home and that takes you back to the Sun. Then you can find all the planets, moons, spacecraft, etc. that are in our solar system again.
About Rigel, I'm not sure why you didn't see the star. You may want to check and make sure that the box for stars is checked. This may also be MAC related but I haven't heard anything about MAC users having problems with stars.
cartrite
Last edited by cartrite on 24.09.2008, 12:17, edited 1 time in total.
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 15 years 6 months

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #3by ElChristou » 24.09.2008, 10:51

cartrite wrote:
type Europa and press enter, goes there
Go to Location
type Rigel and press enter, goes there but nothing but label shown
Go to Location
type Earth
Object not found.
When you start Celestia, you are in are solar system. So you can find Jupiter, Europa, etc. After you tried to find Rigel, you were not in the solar system any more. To get back to the solar system press "h" for home and that takes you back to the Sun. Then you can find all the planets, moons, spacecraft, etc. that are in our solar system again.
About Rigel, I'm not sure why you didn't see the star. You may want to check and make sure that the box for stars is checked. This may also be MAC related but I haven't heard anything about MAC users having problems with stars.
cartrite

No prob with Rigel or other stars on osX for me. Concerning the problem with Earth or any object not found, Stephen is right, you must be near Sol to be able to select any bodies of the solar system.
Image

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 15 years 7 months
Location: Nancy, France

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #4by Vincent » 24.09.2008, 10:58

ElChristou wrote:
cartrite wrote:
type Europa and press enter, goes there
Go to Location
type Rigel and press enter, goes there but nothing but label shown
Go to Location
type Earth
Object not found.
When you start Celestia, you are in are solar system. So you can find Jupiter, Europa, etc. After you tried to find Rigel, you were not in the solar system any more. To get back to the solar system press "h" for home and that takes you back to the Sun. Then you can find all the planets, moons, spacecraft, etc. that are in our solar system again.
About Rigel, I'm not sure why you didn't see the star. You may want to check and make sure that the box for stars is checked. This may also be MAC related but I haven't heard anything about MAC users having problems with stars.
cartrite

No prob with Rigel or other stars on osX for me. Concerning the problem with Earth or any object not found, Stephen is right, you must be near Sol to be able to select any bodies of the solar system.

Or you can simply type "sol/earth" wherever your are...
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Avatar
Cham M
Posts: 4325
Joined: 14.01.2004
Age: 55
With us: 16 years 7 months
Location: Montreal

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #5by Cham » 24.09.2008, 12:53

Just type H+3.

It's very easy...
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"

sanctus
Posts: 44
Joined: 10.04.2008
Age: 28
With us: 12 years 4 months
Location: Greece,Athens

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #6by sanctus » 24.09.2008, 13:26

Have you updated to the last drivers of your video card?
Try that but i'm not sure.What exactly is showing when you go to RIGEL star? Nothing at all or just a black circle?
Celestia 1.6.1
Windows vista 7 32-bit
ati radeon 5850 (1gb)
intel core 2 duo 3.00 GHz
4GB of ram

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10136
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 11 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #7by selden » 24.09.2008, 15:26

Is Celestia's window filled with a blue glow when you try to go to Rigel? That would be Rigel itself: if you didn't change the distance field in the GoTo menu, you'll be at the same distance from Rigel's surface as you originally were from the Earth. Rigel is much larger than the Earth and more than fills the screen at that distance.
Selden

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 14 years 11 months
Location: Indiana, United States

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #8by Hungry4info » 24.09.2008, 22:42

Umm... just to make sure. After you type "Europa", and press enter to select it, did you press 'g'?

If this is a stupid question, I apologize.
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 12 years 10 months

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #9by BobHegwood » 25.09.2008, 00:36

Hungry4info wrote:Umm... just to make sure. After you type "Europa", and press enter to select it, did you press 'g'?

If this is a stupid question, I apologize.

This is definitely NOT a stupid question...
We get all kinds of users on this board, and many of them are (like me) simply average bozos who
just LOVE to explore the Universe. Many are not aware of everything that can be done with Celestia, so
this explanation (and question) is perfectly reasonable here.

Thanks for saving me from having to ask it. :wink:
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2744
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 11 months

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #10by John Van Vliet » 25.09.2008, 01:14

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 25.10.2013, 03:53, edited 1 time in total.

duds26
Posts: 328
Joined: 05.02.2007
Age: 30
With us: 13 years 6 months
Location: Europe

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #11by duds26 » 26.09.2008, 12:31

Does this works too in Celestia? (or is expected to):
If you type in Sol, would celestia take you back to the solar system?
And then you could type in earth and go back.
Or not?

Derek
Posts: 64
Joined: 18.12.2007
With us: 12 years 7 months
Location: Pretoria South Africa

Re: Can't find Earth!

Post #12by Derek » 26.09.2008, 13:40

hi,
duds26 asked
Does this works too in Celestia? (or is expected to):
If you type in Sol, would celestia take you back to the solar system?
And then you could type in earth and go back.
Or not?

yes in both cases
Derek


Return to “Celestia Users”

Who is online