celestia 1.6

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 4 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #21by t00fri » 26.08.2008, 15:57

danielj wrote:Concerning the VT,I really would like ready to use high resolution textures and NOT that required the F-TexTools to be done,or in other words,DYI textures.For example,Dione 23k and Enceladus 14k are only available if you have these tools.Almost ALL new textures of saturnian moons REQUIRES this software to produce this and since is based in DOS,IS VERY ANNOYING.Very good high textures maps requires THE F-TexTools and ALSO the nm-tools.Even the Moon,so much visited,don?t have a good normal map BIGGER than 4k...

Daniel,

please don't repeat yourself all over again!

Cartrite has even produced a script for my tools that allows Windows users to do a complete VT "monster" texture set with just a few clicks.

DOS is NOT at all annoying. A large proportion of the PC users of this world has exclusively used DOS for decades. Bill Gates earned a lot of money with DOS ;-)

So? Don't be lazy and start practising ;-)

Fridger
Image

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10136
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 11 months
Location: NY, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #22by selden » 26.08.2008, 16:02

I suspect that Daniel means that he is distressed because it's a command-line program and doesn't have a GUI. Calling a command-line program a DOS program is a common misunderstanding.

Daniel, Is that what you mean?
Selden

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 4 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #23by t00fri » 26.08.2008, 16:15

selden wrote:I suspect that Daniel means that he is distressed because it's a command-line program and doesn't have a GUI. Calling a command-line program a DOS program is a common misunderstanding.

Daniel, Is that what you mean?

In this case, however, we are indeed talking about DOS 7.1(?) commands , as embedded into a Windows console environment (besides my native <tool>.exe commands, of course) .

Clearly, my tools also work e.g. under CYGWIN within a standard UNIX shell environment, if properly compiled.

Under OSX they also work by default in an UNIX shell environment.

Fridger
Image

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #24by danielj » 26.08.2008, 19:34

When I made my 64K Virtual Texture of Earth,I used a script.But it?s far from perfect,because a thin black line is in the high setentrional latitudes.
But I find no such script for F-textools.I?m talking about executables scripts,of course.If there were,I wouldn?t complain...

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 4 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #25by t00fri » 26.08.2008, 19:36

danielj wrote:When I made my 64K Virtual Texture of Earth,I used a script.But it?s far from perfect,because a thin black line is in the high setentrional latitudes.
But I find no such script for F-textools.I?m talking about executables scripts,of course.If there were,I wouldn?t complain...

It's all on cartrite's WEBsite, together with his super waterflow texture of Earth.

Fridger
Image

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #26by cartrite » 26.08.2008, 19:53

He He He Ha Ha Ha,
danielj,
I created those scripts long ago with YOU in mind and you never used them? 8O
I guess the saying that "you can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink" applies. :wink:
cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #27by danielj » 26.08.2008, 20:01

Sorry,I didn?t pay attention :oops: .But it?s not only question of lazyness.The fact is the SCRIPT could take 20 HOURS to be completed.And I can?t let the computer on for so much time,cause it?s not me that sleeps in the office and the computer makes a lot of noise.If the script could be paused and resumed,them the problem would be solved... :)

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #28by cartrite » 26.08.2008, 20:07

The fact is the SCRIPT could take 20 HOURS to be completed
It takes me 20 minutes, 30 tops.
Getting back on topic, sanctus, if you try to use the HDR version, be sure to add the 4 files in the shaders folder to the shaders folder in your installed Celestia folder. If the copy you downloaded from my site doesn't have a shaders folder, download it again. I forgot to put it in when I added the HDR version. I updated it about an hour ago to include the shaders folder.
cartrite
Last edited by cartrite on 26.08.2008, 20:12, edited 1 time in total.
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 12 years 10 months

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #29by BobHegwood » 26.08.2008, 20:08

danielj wrote:When I made my 64K Virtual Texture of Earth,I used a script.But it?s far from perfect,because a thin black line is in the high setentrional latitudes.
But I find no such script for F-textools.I?m talking about executables scripts,of course.If there were,I wouldn?t complain...

You know, if this command line processing bothers you so much, you CAN convert the commands to a batch file too, you know. :roll:
All you need to do is copy the commands and then place them inside a batch (.BAT) file which can be executed within the command line window simply by typing the
.BAT file name and pressing the ENTER key.

This has all been explained under the "Virtual Textures for the Brain-Dead" topic on the Celestial Matters Forum which is located HERE.
If *I* can figure out how to perform these tasks, then even you should be able to do this too. :wink:

Come to think of it, you should also be able to execute the batch files simply by clicking on the batch file name(s) while viewing under Windows Explorer.
Of course, your PATH setup must be arranged to get to the appropriate directories too.

EDIT: Sorry, I see that Steve has shown you how to use his scripts in an ealier post. What the Hell do you want? :roll:
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 4 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #30by t00fri » 26.08.2008, 20:09

danielj wrote:Sorry,I didn?t pay attention :oops: .But it?s not only question of lazyness.The fact is the SCRIPT could take 20 HOURS to be completed.And I can?t let the computer on for so much time,cause it?s not me that sleeps in the office and the computer makes a lot of noise.If the script could be paused and resumed,them the problem would be solved... :)

Daniel,

you are again COMPLETELY wrong. I spent a lot of time optimizing the speed of my tools. Don't forget, the main work is done not by slow scripts, but by my tools, which are compiled, highly optimized C++ code!!

A full 64k VT set does not take more than 20-30 minutes with my tools!! (assuming that the scientific raw data have been already downloaded)

Fridger
Image

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #31by cartrite » 26.08.2008, 20:32

danielj,
I think you may have been looking at the WRONG scripts. If you are referring to the scripts that took me 20 hours, they are scripts to create the landmask/watermask. All those scripts create a landmask/watermask. They actually took almost a week running my computer 24/7. I put them on the site so people can see how the landmask file was made. And if they want to try, create a spec map of their own.
The scrips you want are the 64k-bmng-texture-kit.zip.

sanctus,
If you try to use the HDR version, be sure to add the 4 files in the shaders folder to the shaders folder in your installed Celestia folder. If the copy you downloaded from my site doesn't have a shaders folder, download it again. I forgot to put it in when I added the HDR version. I updated it about an hour ago to include the shaders folder.

cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #32by danielj » 26.08.2008, 20:35

Sorry,the homepage is wrong.
I will be end for now...

Topic author
sanctus
Posts: 44
Joined: 10.04.2008
Age: 28
With us: 12 years 4 months
Location: Greece,Athens

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #33by sanctus » 26.08.2008, 21:51

Thanks so much cartrite,great work mate
And thanks for the installation notes also

And t00fri why are you so angry try relaxing a little bit. ;-) :-)
Celestia 1.6.1
Windows vista 7 32-bit
ati radeon 5850 (1gb)
intel core 2 duo 3.00 GHz
4GB of ram

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 18
With us: 18 years 4 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #34by t00fri » 26.08.2008, 22:05

sanctus wrote:Thanks so much cartrite,great work mate
And thanks for the installation notes also

And t00fri why are you so angry try relaxing a little bit. ;-) :-)

I am never angry around here ;-), but I am part of this community since 6.5 years with > 6800 posts. Hence I am sensing undercurrents you will have no idea about ;-)

Fridger
Image

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #35by cartrite » 26.08.2008, 22:15

sanctus wrote:Thanks so much cartrite,great work mate
And thanks for the installation notes also
No problem. Glad to be of help.

danielj wrote:Sorry,the homepage is wrong.
I will be end for now...
Got No Idea what this means. But I suspect you'll be complaining again about this someday in the future.
cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

danielj
Posts: 1477
Joined: 15.08.2003
With us: 16 years 11 months

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #36by danielj » 26.08.2008, 23:37

To avoid further confusion,I will continue this topic through pm messages.
This is the sentence that provoked confusion:
Warning. Running these scripts will tax your system. The script, batch-newrun-c1, took over 20 hours to run. The other scripts take long too.
Sorry for the misunderstood... :oops:

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #37by cartrite » 27.08.2008, 00:07

his is the sentence that provoked confusion:
Warning. Running these scripts will tax your system. The script, batch-newrun-c1, took over 20 hours to run. The other scripts take long too.
That is what I thought. The scripts that build the bmng VT textures and normaps are in the 64k-bmng-texture-kit. They are .bat files.
cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

Topic author
sanctus
Posts: 44
Joined: 10.04.2008
Age: 28
With us: 12 years 4 months
Location: Greece,Athens

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #38by sanctus » 27.08.2008, 19:45

I just have one question why stars are just disappearing when you get close enough to a star or a planet?
Celestia 1.6.1
Windows vista 7 32-bit
ati radeon 5850 (1gb)
intel core 2 duo 3.00 GHz
4GB of ram

cartrite
Posts: 1786
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years 10 months
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #39by cartrite » 27.08.2008, 19:59

That is the way it is supposed to work. At least that was what I was told. The theory being that one's eyes will not see that many stars when a bright object is the field of view. And as I said earlier, this code still needs some work. It is still under development.
cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap 15.0

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 15 years 6 months

Re: celestia 1.6

Post #40by ElChristou » 27.08.2008, 20:10

sanctus wrote:I just have one question why stars are just disappearing when you get close enough to a star or a planet?

As said by Cartrite that's how you would see things in reality; because the light of the star or any nearby object is too strong, your iris will shut down and you won't be able to see the dim light of the background anymore...
Image


Return to “Celestia Users”

Who is online