Celestia 1.5.0 prerelease 5

General discussion about Celestia that doesn't fit into other forums.
BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 9 months

Post #21by BobHegwood » 21.12.2007, 13:13

rra wrote:No No Bob, I was taking about a regular windowsXP
system where the admin rights suddenly are required.
On my Vista system at home, there was no trouble installing
latest Celestia-pack
Any thoughts ??
Ren?©


Sorry, Chris was asking me what troubles I had with Vista so I
responded. As Selden has stated, if you are on a network with your
XP at work, then administrative rights would obviously be controlled
by your network administrator.

You say that you have no troubles with it on Vista at home though?
I wonder what is different then. 32-bit Vista Home Premium? Almost
anything I get from the internet creates its own permissions here.
Perhaps I don't have something set correctly. It'll take more
time to understand I guess.

Thanks, Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

rra
Posts: 171
Joined: 17.07.2004
With us: 17 years
Location: The Netherlands

Post #22by rra » 21.12.2007, 16:27

Bob ,

I have the 32-bit Vista home-edition,
and I realy don't do anything special
when installing the Celestia program.
I only get the UAC interaction once, asking for confirmation,
then al goes without my interference.
Celestia then runs "out of the box"

Good luck,

Ren?©

symaski62
Posts: 604
Joined: 01.05.2004
Age: 38
With us: 17 years 2 months
Location: france, divion

Post #23by symaski62 » 21.12.2007, 17:02

BobHegwood wrote:
chris wrote:Isn't it possible to just change the install directory on Vista from the default 'c:\program files\celestia' to a user directory like 'c:\users\bobhegwood\application data'? I've done some research that suggests Program Files is still the preferred install location for applications in Vista. Or is the real problem with add-ons? It's probably not a good idea that Celestia's extras folder is in Program Files instead of the user's application data folder. I think . . . :?

--Chris

Chris,

If I install Celestia to the normal Program Files\Celestia directory,
ALL of the files inside that directory retain the permissions from your
software. This includes all SSC files inside the data directory, all
textures inside the textures\medres directory, etc.

If I delete the Celestia\textures\medres directory and then create
my own in the same place, then I have no more permission
problems. As I said, I still don't have these problems quite
resolved yet, but the only real solution I have been able to
implement consistently, is to sign on as the administrator, and
then edit all permissions entries so that I can freely copy and
paste the files inside Celestia. In other words, the default
cannot be changed by the user unless he or she IS the owner
and/or administrator of the machine. Strange I know, but this
problem is related to "inherited permissions" in Vista.

If I create all of the Celestia directories myself, and then copy
your programs and files enmasse to the new folders, the problem
also goes away because the new folders no longer include the
inherited permissions.

Does this help at all? Changing the installation directory does
NOT change the permissions problem. It's caused by the Vista
installation process itself as far as I can tell.

Thanks, Bob


:wink: windows vista

http://www.megaupload.com/fr/?d=9IBSFZO7

celestia 1.5.0 pre 5.zip 17.27Mo

C:\Program Files/celestia <= copie/colle

:wink:
windows 10 directX 12 version
celestia 1.6.2
with a general handicap of 80% and it makes much d' efforts for the community and s' expimer, thank you d' to be understanding.

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 9 months

Post #24by BobHegwood » 21.12.2007, 17:47

rra wrote:Bob ,

I have the 32-bit Vista home-edition,
and I realy don't do anything special
when installing the Celestia program.
I only get the UAC interaction once, asking for confirmation,
then al goes without my interference.
Celestia then runs "out of the box"

Good luck,

Ren?©


Thanks for the information, but my Celestia version runs out of the
box just fine. What I have problems with are modifications to the
package. When I try to modify ANYTHING in Celestia, I have to
go through the confirmation notices, etc. Also, - depending on the
file - if I simply open an SSC and try to save it to the original
Celestia location, Vista simply will not let me do this. I have to
save the file to another location, and then copy it back to the
original Celestia location by overwriting it. I again get confirmation
notices when I do this too. Once I HAVE done this though, I can
then modify and save the same SSC to my heart's content.

Now all of the above can be overcome when I edit ALL of the
Celestia permissions options via the Vista administration and
advanced options menus when I first install Celestia. Does this
make sense?

Methinks all of these problems are still just related to Vista
though, or perhaps to my usual "Brain-DeadedNess." :wink:

At any rate, I'm very happy with the new PC and especially with
1.5 Pre5 of Celestia. Very, VERY nice.

Thanks, Brain-Dead Bob
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

BobHegwood
Posts: 1803
Joined: 12.10.2007
With us: 13 years 9 months

Post #25by BobHegwood » 21.12.2007, 17:49

symaski62 wrote: :wink: windows vista

http://www.megaupload.com/fr/?d=9IBSFZO7

celestia 1.5.0 pre 5.zip 17.27Mo

C:\Program Files/celestia <= copie/colle

:wink:


Sorry my friend, I have NO idea what you are trying to tell me with
this link. Nothing there that I want or need.

Thanks anyway though.

Brain-Dead
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob is now using...
Windows Vista Home Premium, 64-bit on a
Gateway Pentium Dual-Core CPU E5200, 2.5GHz
7 GB RAM, 500 GB hard disk, Nvidia GeForce 7100
Nvidia nForce 630i, 1680x1050 screen, Latest SVN

Sui Ota
Posts: 75
Joined: 05.10.2005
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post #26by Sui Ota » 22.12.2007, 05:05

The bug which I once had pointed out and had adressed by Christophe is reappeard... :(

The bug was about the Solar System Browser and the Star Browser:
(Thread: http://celestiaproject.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=74990 )
Sui Ota wrote:3.
About non-alphanumeric name of a object...

I tried to add objects with non-alphanumeric name. As I search them in Star browser or Star System Browser, their name is garbled. (With this sample, about Eclipse Finder, too.)
Image

Each object's name is consist of WGL4 characters in this sample.
-Suι

Sui Ota
Posts: 75
Joined: 05.10.2005
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post #27by Sui Ota » 23.12.2007, 04:57

Sorry, the bugs fix I noticed were not done. I deluded myself. :oops:

But these bugs can be fixed to do this:
(Red characters are to be added)

in winssbrowser.cpp, line 115
...
string starNameString = UTF8ToCurrentCP(u->getStarCatalog()->getStarName(*(solarSys->getStar())));
...

in winstarbrowser.cpp, line 343
...
starNameString = UTF8ToCurrentCP(u->getStarCatalog()->getStarName(*star));
...
-Suι

Avatar
dirkpitt
Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: 24.10.2004
With us: 16 years 9 months

Re: Celestia 1.5.0 prerelease 5

Post #28by dirkpitt » 23.12.2007, 22:51

ElChristou wrote:
chris wrote:...In addition, there's some test code enabled on Windows that allows you to show body axes, frame axes, sun and velocity vectors for objects via the popup menu.

Could this be integrated to the osX version? (could be interesting)


OS X users can try out my new experimental refmarks build here.
Right-click any non-stellar object to see the new "Show ..." items. Choosing these toggles on/off coordinate arrows in Celestia.
BTW, I haven't committed the OS X-specific refmark context menu code to CVS yet.

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 16 years 5 months

Re: Celestia 1.5.0 prerelease 5

Post #29by ElChristou » 24.12.2007, 01:05

dirkpitt wrote:OS X users can try out my new experimental refmarks build here.
Right-click any non-stellar object to see the new "Show ..." items. Choosing these toggles on/off coordinate arrows in Celestia.
BTW, I haven't committed the OS X-specific refmark context menu code to CVS yet.


Tx DW, they work nice. If the feature become official, what about enabling them or not via an entry in celestia.cfg? (should be disable by default, else lots of people will wonder what are those arrows...)
Image

Avatar
dirkpitt
Developer
Posts: 674
Joined: 24.10.2004
With us: 16 years 9 months

Post #30by dirkpitt » 24.12.2007, 05:50

Ref marks are disabled by default, you have to enable them per object every time you run Celestia. Is the setting being saved across restarts? (that would be a bug)

Vincent
Developer
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 16 years 6 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #31by Vincent » 24.12.2007, 09:33

Sui Ota wrote:The bug which I once had pointed out and had adressed by Christophe is reappeard... :(

Sui,

The bug you're having will have more chance to be fixed if you open a bug report on the Sourceforge tracker and assigne it to Christophe (aka christey).
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Sui Ota
Posts: 75
Joined: 05.10.2005
With us: 15 years 9 months
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post #32by Sui Ota » 24.12.2007, 13:09

Vincent wrote:
Sui Ota wrote:The bug which I once had pointed out and had adressed by Christophe is reappeard... :(
Sui,

The bug you're having will have more chance to be fixed if you open a bug report on the Sourceforge tracker and assigne it to Christophe (aka christey).


I don't know how to use SourceForge, but I'll try it.
Thank you. :D
-Suι

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 16 years 5 months

Post #33by ElChristou » 24.12.2007, 13:19

Sui Ota wrote:...I don't know how to use SourceForge, but I'll try it.
Thank you. :D


Not complicated; first you need an account, go here.
Then you go here and click on submit new, you enter a description, enter the category (in this case probably UI all platforms), a group (1.5), click "submit" and you have done!

:)
Image

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 16 years 5 months

Post #34by ElChristou » 24.12.2007, 13:21

Vincent wrote:... and assigne it to Christophe (aka christey).


BTW, not sure but I think only admins can assign stuff...

****

Erratum (EDIT): Nope, actually everybody can change assignation but only once the bug report has been submitted...
Image

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 15 years 10 months
Location: Indiana, United States

Post #35by Hungry4info » 25.12.2007, 00:32

chaos syndrome wrote:This is not the case: the versions of extrasolar.ssc and extrasolar.stc in the installer are not the most recent ones.


If I may ask, and not to divert from the current topic, where can I acquire the most recent extrasolar.SSC and extrasolar.STC files?
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10140
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #36by selden » 25.12.2007, 00:57

From sourceforge.

The files in the cvs archive are organized just as they are in the distribution kit, although there are more of them.

http://celestia.cvs.sourceforge.net/celestia/celestia/
Selden

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2812
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 18 years 11 months

re

Post #37by John Van Vliet » 25.12.2007, 07:56

hi bob if ,and it is a BIG if. If vista has ownership rights like xp pro . you might be able to assign ownership of the celestia folder to your self ( limited user )

for me it is simple one line in bash
# chown -R john:john /usr/opt/Celestia

i do know in xp pro and home it is buried very well ( deep inside on some tab then some button )in the start/administrator tools ( hidden)

i also sagest that you look into some of the vista help forums

Topic author
chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 19 years 6 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #38by chris » 27.12.2007, 04:39

chaos syndrome wrote:

Code: Select all

* New extrasolar planets: OGLE-TR-182 b, WASP-3 b, 55 Cnc f, Lupus-TR-3 b,
  OGLE-TR-211 b, HD 156846 b, HD 4113 b, Kap CrB b, GD 66 b


This is not the case: the versions of extrasolar.ssc and extrasolar.stc in the installer are not the most recent ones.

The version of extrasolar.ssc supplied is 1.96, the most recent one is 1.98, so the planets Lupus-TR-3 b, OGLE-TR-211 b, HD 156846 b, HD 4113 b, Kap CrB b and GD 66 b are not included.

The version of extrasolar.stc supplied is 1.17, the most recent one is 1.20, so the stars OGLE-TR-182, WASP-3, Lupus-TR-3, OGLE-TR-211 and GD 66 are not included.


Confirmed and fixed. Once again, WinCVS didn't update my data directory properly.

--Chris

Avatar
LordFerret M
Posts: 737
Joined: 24.08.2006
Age: 65
With us: 14 years 11 months
Location: NJ USA

Post #39by LordFerret » 30.12.2007, 22:53

I have a question...

Will Pascal Hartman's Extended Star Database (2 million stars) for v1.4.1 work with the new v1.5Pre5 ?

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10140
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 18 years 10 months
Location: NY, USA

Post #40by selden » 30.12.2007, 23:52

Yes: the format of stars.dat in v1.5.0 is the same format that was used in v1.4.0.
Selden


Return to “Celestia Users”

Who is online