Celestia 1.6.2 is out

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 574
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 18
With us: 3 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #41by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 15.01.2021, 07:28

On Github
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

Avatar
novaterra
Banned
Posts: 22
Joined: 17.12.2020
With us: 10 months 6 days

Post #42by novaterra » 15.01.2021, 17:24

Anthony_B_Russo10 wrote:On Github
Github, isn't it for developpers ? :eek:

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 574
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 18
With us: 3 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #43by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 15.01.2021, 22:38

All bug reports go on Github.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 593
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 3 years 1 month

Post #44by onetwothree » 18.01.2021, 10:36

A new version for windows platform 1.6.2.2 is available, it fixes bookmark manager.

StarTrekking
Posts: 4
Joined: 18.01.2021
With us: 9 months 4 days

Post #45by StarTrekking » 18.01.2021, 21:19

Hi I am Gianluca from Italy, i have a 7 meters dome, i use Stellarium in fisheye mode.
Now with Celestia 1.6.2. Is possibile to use it in fisheye 360 mode ?

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 574
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 18
With us: 3 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #46by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 18.01.2021, 21:40

There is source code for a version with fisheye projection, but no release version.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

StarTrekking
Posts: 4
Joined: 18.01.2021
With us: 9 months 4 days

Post #47by StarTrekking » 18.01.2021, 21:49

Where i find this source code ? Plese explain well. I don't have understood well.

Markerz
Developer
Posts: 230
Joined: 29.01.2009
Age: 26
With us: 12 years 8 months
Location: Suzhou, China

Post #48by Markerz » 19.01.2021, 04:46

StarTrekking wrote:Is possibile to use it in fisheye 360 mode ?
well related code is merged to master branch. I've not written a tutorial for this. If you need to know how to do it, reach me via PM, I can probably help you set it up.

symaski62
Posts: 604
Joined: 01.05.2004
Age: 38
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: france, divion

Post #49by symaski62 » 02.02.2021, 19:08

hi :hi: cesletia 1.6.2.2 version OpenGL 1.1.0 version

windows 10 32 bits

2001 to 2021 20 year :biggrin:

i am french :wink:

Image

Image
windows 10 directX 12 version
celestia 1.6.2
with a general handicap of 80% and it makes much d' efforts for the community and s' expimer, thank you d' to be understanding.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 607
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 2 years

Post #50by SevenSpheres » 02.02.2021, 19:45

symaski62 wrote:hi :hi: cesletia 1.6.2.2 version OpenGL 1.1.0 version

windows 10 32 bits

If this is meant to be a bug report, you can change the render path to OpenGL 2.0 (which is the default) by pressing Ctrl+V a few times.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can occasionally • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0, and some unofficial versions like Celestia-ED

symaski62
Posts: 604
Joined: 01.05.2004
Age: 38
With us: 17 years 5 months
Location: france, divion

Post #51by symaski62 » 03.02.2021, 02:29

yes Ctrl+V TEST

CPU => yes intel(R) core(TM)2 6320 @ 1.86GHz
GPU => not

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/Render_Paths

[*] Basic => yes :wink:
[*] Multitexture => not
[*] OpenGL Vertex Program => not
[*] OpenGL Vertex Program/Nvidia combiners (only on Nvidia graphics cards) => not
[*] OpenGL 2.0 => not

Image
windows 10 directX 12 version
celestia 1.6.2
with a general handicap of 80% and it makes much d' efforts for the community and s' expimer, thank you d' to be understanding.

Topic author
onetwothree
Site Admin
Posts: 593
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 3 years 1 month

Post #52by onetwothree » 03.02.2021, 14:50

You should install proper drivers for your videocard. You have default drivers which ship with windows and they don't support OpenGL.

Yarlan Zey
Posts: 6
Joined: 27.05.2018
With us: 3 years 4 months

Post #53by Yarlan Zey » 11.02.2021, 23:48

I noticed that the display looks much better now. The issue I have complained about elsewhere concerning the lack of color differentiation seems to have been addressed. Very much appreciated!

However, since logging on today I notice that the center function no longer works. You can choose an object as usual, but then pressing "C" or using the "Center" dialog button no longer does anything. So let's say I choose Proxima Centauri and then hit "G" to go there. I see what looks like a rear window view from a spacecraft as Sol dims and recedes into the distance. At the end it appears in Cassiopeia just as it should, but then there's no way to move the view at all. No matter what I do, center screen is always oriented towards the sun (or Earth). Selecting another object and centering on it does nothing, and neither does holding the left trackpad button and dragging.

I was trying to use the program on a tablet last night without a keyboard attached, so I don't know if that had anything to do with it.
Last edited by Yarlan Zey on 12.02.2021, 21:21, edited 1 time in total.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 607
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 2 years

Post #54by SevenSpheres » 12.02.2021, 01:01

Yarlan Zey wrote:However, since logging on today I notice that the center function no longer works. You can choose an object as usual, but then pressing "C" or using the "Center" dialog button no longer does anything. So let's say I choose Proxima Centauri and then hit "G" to go there. I see what looks like a rear window view from a spacecraft as Sol dims and recedes into the distance. At the end it appears in Cassiopeia just as it should, but then there's no way to move the view at all. Selecting another object and centering on it does nothing, and neither does holding the left trackpad button and dragging.

I was trying to use the program on a tablet last night without a keyboard attached, so I don't know if that had anything to do with it.

It sounds like your Celestia is "tracking" the Sun, i.e. keeping it at the center of the screen. If this is the case, you should see "Track Sol" at the bottom right of the screen. This can be toggled by pressing "T".

Also, you say you're using a tablet - are you using the desktop version of Celestia described in this thread, or the mobile version? If the latter, you should post in the appropriate thread for iOS or Android.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can occasionally • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0, and some unofficial versions like Celestia-ED

Avatar
roninwolf1981
Posts: 34
Joined: 23.02.2017
Age: 40
With us: 4 years 7 months
Location: Bastrop, TX

Post #55by roninwolf1981 » 26.02.2021, 10:34

I have a question:

Will any and all files that are used by version 1.6.1 (ssc/stc/etc) work with version 1.6.2? I've since replaced the hard drive to my computer and installed a new operating system, and I haven't installed Celestia yet; previous hard drive had version 1.6.1 installed.
With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censured, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied...chains us all irrevocably.

Avatar
Gurren Lagann
Posts: 339
Joined: 31.01.2018
Age: 15
With us: 3 years 8 months
Location: State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Post #56by Gurren Lagann » 26.02.2021, 12:36

They still work on 1.6.2. I rarely use the version, but from what i had seen from other people (and my fellow Mac users), it works just fine!
"The tomorrow we're trying to reach is not a tomorrow you had decided on!"
- Simon the Digger
"Nothing is impossible for me, as long I'm determinated to keep moving forward!"
"If other people aren't going to do it, I'm going to do it myself!"
- Me (Gurren)

Current major projects:
- Aur Cir
- Cel+
- Project Sisyphus
- Populating the Local Group
- An galaxy generator

Avatar
trappistplanets
Posts: 467
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 1 year 4 months

Post #57by trappistplanets » 07.04.2021, 12:33

is the render limet here bigger then 1.6.1?

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 607
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 2 years

Post #58by SevenSpheres » 07.04.2021, 14:51

trappistplanets wrote:is the render [limit] here bigger [than] 1.6.1?

The star render limit for all 1.6.x versions is the same - 10 million light-years.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can occasionally • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0, and some unofficial versions like Celestia-ED

Avatar
trappistplanets
Posts: 467
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 1 year 4 months

Post #59by trappistplanets » 07.04.2021, 14:58

why does the dahm render limet even exist
why is celestia the only space sim that has a render limit?
anyway to remove the render limit all together so i can render a star system outside the observable universe?

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 607
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 2 years

Post #60by SevenSpheres » 07.04.2021, 15:17

trappistplanets wrote:why does the [damn] render [limit] even exist
There are technical reasons for this, which have been described elsewhere on the forum.

trappistplanets wrote:why is celestia the only space sim that has a render limit?
I doubt that's the case.

trappistplanets wrote:anyway to remove the render limit all together so i can render a star system outside the observable universe?
See my response in your thread on this topic.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can occasionally • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0, and some unofficial versions like Celestia-ED


Return to “Announcements”

Who is online