Anybody besides me tired of constant captchas getting here?

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 464
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 68
With us: 3 years 10 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #21by gironde » 11.06.2020, 19:33

who set up these captcha?
A forum administrator or it comes from I don't know where?

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #22by SevenSpheres » 11.06.2020, 19:57

gironde wrote:who set up these captcha?
A forum administrator or it comes from I don't know where?

It's something Cloudflare is doing, only Alexell can do anything about it.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
trappistplanets
Posts: 102
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 4 months 13 days

Post #23by trappistplanets » 11.06.2020, 21:28

seven spheres said "If Alexell was active on the forum, he would see the thread about the captcha." on the celestia discord server

the captcha always ask me to select a image containing a umbrella, bike' or airplain in it
and it gets very annoying

Avatar
Lafuente_Astronomy
Moderator
Posts: 723
Joined: 04.08.2018
Age: 22
With us: 2 years 2 months
Location: Cebu City, Cebu Province, Philippines
Contact:

Post #24by Lafuente_Astronomy » 11.06.2020, 21:44

trappistplanets wrote:even spheres said "If Alexell was active on the forum, he would see the thread about the captcha." on the celestia discord server

the captcha always ask me to select a image containing a umbrella, bike' or airplain in it
and it gets very annoying

Yeah we know. Capchas are mostly like that
Official Administrator of the Celestia Discord Server.
Invite: https://discordapp.com/invite/WEWDcJh
If you don't have a Discord account, register here: https://discordapp.com/register
Have a blessed day.

Avatar
trappistplanets
Posts: 102
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 4 months 13 days

Post #25by trappistplanets » 11.06.2020, 21:46

Lafuente_Astronomy wrote:Yeah we know. Capchas are mostly like that

but its very annoying though

Topic author
Janus
Posts: 523
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #26by Janus » 11.06.2020, 22:49

New high for the day.
Just got back from an onsite call, and I got in without a captcha, first time in many weeks.

Not saying its fixed, but being fair.
It doesn't mean I will always have to captcha, apparently I get a break every couple of months, then back to picture grinding.


Janus.

bh
Posts: 1487
Joined: 17.12.2002
With us: 17 years 10 months
Location: Oxford, England

Post #27by bh » 12.06.2020, 09:57

Umbrellas just now... great!
regards...bh.

Topic author
Janus
Posts: 523
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #28by Janus » 15.06.2020, 16:45

New low.

Had a captcha pop up while doing a reply preview.
Lost my entire reply, had to recreate as best I could.
Getting hard to want to keep returning if I can't even reply without a captcha.


Janus.

Avatar
Anthony_B_Russo10
Moderator
Posts: 467
Joined: 03.07.2018
Age: 17
With us: 2 years 3 months
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, US

Post #29by Anthony_B_Russo10 » 15.06.2020, 20:22

We'll have to get Allexel to read this thread to get something done. One of those times we need a new site admin.
Anthony B. Russo, I like Pluto. Mod of the Celestia subreddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Celestiasoftware/
I have over 30 computers, trying to list them here would be a pain.

abramson
Posts: 406
Joined: 22.07.2003
With us: 17 years 3 months
Location: Bariloche, Argentina

Post #30by abramson » 18.06.2020, 21:48

I get the captchas every time, and I thought it was for everyone. First I check the I am not a robot thing, and immediately I am asked a TWO PAGES check all the X's, cars, bridges, etc. It's the only instance with two pages I have ever encountered. And it is tipically very difficult, with minuscule cars that you are not sure if they are cars ot motorcycles or dogs crossing the street! I have been seriously thinking of not comming here ever again. I hope it could be eliminated, or replaced with the i am not a robot thing only.

Next time I will make a screen capture to show the nightmare it is.

Guillermo

Avatar
DataPacRat
Posts: 17
Joined: 12.06.2010
Age: 44
With us: 10 years 4 months
Location: Niagara, Canada

Post #31by DataPacRat » 18.06.2020, 21:58

I've minimized the annoyances of this site's captcha-pages with a Firefox extension called "Privacy Pass". With it installed, every so often I visit https://captcha.website/ and fill out some captchas, which adds 30 'tickets' to Privacy Pass each time; and one of them gets used up every time celestia.space runs me through a captcha-redirect page.

It's not perfect; sometimes this site will reload the captcha-redirect page a half-dozen times before loading the actual page (using up a half-dozen tickets), but it's less annoying than filling out the captchas on demand.
Thank you for your time,
--
DataPacRat
"Does aₘᵢₙ=2c²/Θ ? I don't know, but wouldn't it be fascinating if it were?"

Avatar
cubicApoc
Posts: 14
Joined: 06.11.2018
Age: 23
With us: 1 year 11 months

Post #32by cubicApoc » 25.06.2020, 20:49

Lately I've been getting stuck at "Checking your browser..." This is ridiculous.

Avatar
trappistplanets
Posts: 102
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 4 months 13 days

Post #33by trappistplanets » 26.06.2020, 11:37

cubicApoc wrote:Lately I've been getting stuck at "Checking your browser..." This is ridiculous.
wierd? :think:
i never had that ishue
only the captchavirus ihue but not getting stuck on "Checking your browser..."

Avatar
Tegmine
Posts: 184
Joined: 20.03.2011
With us: 9 years 7 months

Post #34by Tegmine » 26.06.2020, 11:57

DataPacRat made the suggestion I was going to,,,using Firefox's extension. I would guess that anything on Mac or Windows' "standard issue" browsers would maybe have something like that?

At any rate, maybe someone who knows the most about the situation could contact Allexel directly, rather than wait for him to see this thread. If he is as infrequent as alluded to, then just passively waiting for him to see all the comments needlessly extends the problem.

My 2 cents.

-M-

Avatar
trappistplanets
Posts: 102
Joined: 11.06.2020
With us: 4 months 13 days

Post #35by trappistplanets » 26.06.2020, 18:49

ah lafuent was going to email him but idk when i just want him to do the darn email

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #36by SevenSpheres » 27.06.2020, 03:02

So the forum has just been inaccessible for several hours due to Cloudflare, apparently for everyone. Lafuente_Astronomy has been asked many times to email Alexell but I'm not sure if he's done so yet.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Topic author
Janus
Posts: 523
Joined: 13.08.2016
With us: 4 years 2 months

Post #37by Janus » 05.07.2020, 20:27

Not sure what happened, but I have not had a captcha in days now.
It is very nice.

Thank you to who ever fixed it.


Janus.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #38by SevenSpheres » 05.07.2020, 20:30

Janus wrote:Not sure what happened, but I have not had a captcha in days now.
It is very nice.

Thank you to who ever fixed it.


Janus.

Alexell returned and fixed it, he also transferred the site to onetwothree.
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online