Asteroids belt around Eps Eri

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Avatar
Topic author
bluemoon
Banned
Posts: 11
Joined: 10.01.2020
With us: 9 months 15 days

Asteroids belt around Eps Eri

Post #1by bluemoon » 10.01.2020, 12:45

Hi eveybody,

I need help about an asteroids belt which I want to put around Eps Eri's star.
I want to align this asteroids belt with the 2 discovered planets (b & c).
I use an object named test9.cmod, can you help me ?

Thank you in advance.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #2by SevenSpheres » 10.01.2020, 18:51

Try downloading the "Asteroid Maker" spreadsheet from here.

Added after 31 minutes 21 seconds:
Wait...I think you're saying you have a model for the entire asteroid belt. You can look at the asteroid belt addon in the Lua Tools and/or Cham's addons in this thread for examples; the ssc file should look something like this:

Code: Select all

"Asteroid belt" "EPS Eri" {
   Class "diffuse"
   Mesh "test9.cmod"
   Orientation <if necessary for the mesh>
   Emissive true
   Radius <radius of asteroid belt in km>
   EllipticalOrbit {
      Period 9e+12
      SemiMajorAxis 0
   }
   UniformRotation {
      RotationPeriod <some value; not necessary>
      Inclination <same as planets>
      AscendingNode <same as planets>
   }
}
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
Topic author
bluemoon
Banned
Posts: 11
Joined: 10.01.2020
With us: 9 months 15 days

Post #3by bluemoon » 10.01.2020, 19:46

SevenSpheres wrote:Wait...I think you're saying you have a model for the entire asteroid belt.
for examples; the ssc file should look something like this:

Code: Select all

"Asteroid belt" "EPS Eri" {
   Class "diffuse"
   Mesh "test9.cmod"
   Orientation <if necessary for the mesh>
   Emissive true
   Radius <radius of asteroid belt in km>
   EllipticalOrbit {
      Period 9e+12
      SemiMajorAxis 0
   }
   UniformRotation {
      RotationPeriod <some value; not necessary>
      Inclination <same as planets>
      AscendingNode <same as planets>
   }
}
Thank you for you reply.

Yes, you understood very well, I have a model for the entire asteroid belt.
With your council, here is the code:

Code: Select all

"Ast_belt" "Eps Eri"
{
   Class "diffuse"
   Mesh "test9.cmod"
   Orientation [ 0 1 0 0 ]
   Emissive true
   Radius 599918190000
   
   EllipticalOrbit {
      Period 9e+12
      SemiMajorAxis 0
   }

   UniformRotation {
      RotationPeriod 99
      Inclination 75.38005
      AscendingNode 284.34255
   }
}


But it gives with celestia a vertical asteroid belt and not a horizontal (like blue line).
Attachments
eps_eri_belt.jpg
eps_eri_belt.jpg (59.3 KiB) Viewed 676 times

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #4by SevenSpheres » 10.01.2020, 19:57

What exoplanet catalog are you using - Sirius_Alpha's or the default one?
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
Topic author
bluemoon
Banned
Posts: 11
Joined: 10.01.2020
With us: 9 months 15 days

Post #5by bluemoon » 10.01.2020, 20:04

This is Sirius_Alpha.

Avatar
SevenSpheres
Moderator
Posts: 462
Joined: 08.10.2019
With us: 1 year

Post #6by SevenSpheres » 10.01.2020, 20:09

The orientation of the model is wrong then. I have no idea what it should be; maybe try [90 1 0 0]?
My Addons: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=19978 • Contributing to development as much as I can • Discord server admin
PC specs: HP desktop, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, Intel Core i7-7700 (3.60 GHz), 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD + 128 GB SSD, Intel HD Graphics 630
Celestia versions: 1.5.1, 1.6.1, 1.6.2 (primary), 1.7.0 (latest build + some older ones)

Avatar
Topic author
bluemoon
Banned
Posts: 11
Joined: 10.01.2020
With us: 9 months 15 days

Post #7by bluemoon » 13.01.2020, 12:46

Yes I found too. :wink:
TY


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online