Problem with showing FPS (Celestia 1.6.1 ED)

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Topic author
Antlab
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.07.2019
With us: 2 months 26 days

Problem with showing FPS (Celestia 1.6.1 ED)

Post #1by Antlab » 24.07.2019, 11:56

Hi all.
I just registered to the forum, I tried to find a solution to my problem by searching in past posts, without success.
I recently downloaded and installed Celestia 1.6.1 ED because I was interested in the nice Educational Activities. The program seems working correctly on my system (with Windows 7), but I am not able to get the reading of FPS. From the guide I know that the key should be the "`" (the one above the Tab key), but pressing it doesn't give any result. I have an Italian keyboard, but also after changing the setting to US English the problem persists.
Could you help please?
Thanks

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 408
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 2 years 10 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #2by gironde » 25.07.2019, 05:36

Antlab writed:
but I am not able to get the reading of FPS

What is FPS ?

:hi:

Added after 29 minutes 32 seconds:
AZERTY
if you want to display the log file in the Celestia (file loading report) screen, you have to press both the Alt Gr and ~ (tilde) keys the tilde position depends on the keyboard (see image). In addition, this sequence must be followed by pressing the 'Return' key. To remove this display, the sequence is the same.
You can move in the file with the arrow keys.
If you have a lot of files loading, do not forget to change the last parameter in celestia.cfg which is set by default to 200 lines of display. (LogSize 200).

QWERTY
You will reach the character ~ in the same way as the characters! @ # $% ...

Sans titre 2.jpg

onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 313
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 1 year

Post #3by onetwothree » 25.07.2019, 09:09

gironde wrote:What is FPS

Frame per second.

Unless ED devs changed this, it still should be available on "`" pressure. As an alternative 3rd party applications like "fraps" can be used.

Avatar
gironde M
Posts: 408
Joined: 16.12.2016
Age: 67
With us: 2 years 10 months
Location: Montigny-Les-Metz, Grand Est, Lorraine, Moselle, France

Post #4by gironde » 25.07.2019, 09:33

FPS = frame per second
ok but what a relationship with the keyboard

it may be something else for the author of the post.
It's up to him to tell us.

Units of measure [edit]
Foot per second
Foot-pound-second system
Frames per second, the frequency at which consecutive images are shown on a display.

:hi:

onetwothree
Developer
Posts: 313
Joined: 22.09.2018
With us: 1 year

Post #5by onetwothree » 25.07.2019, 11:18

gironde wrote:FPS = frame per second
ok but what a relationship with the keyboard

If you press ` FPS is been displayed in the left bottom corner of a Celestia main window

Topic author
Antlab
Posts: 2
Joined: 24.07.2019
With us: 2 months 26 days

Post #6by Antlab » 25.07.2019, 12:28

Hi.
Thank you for the answers. Yes, FPS stands for Frames per Second, and it is a useful indication about the capability of the PC to run the animations.
I made an interesting and unexpected discovery. In the standard initial configuration I was not able to see the FPS indication at the bottom left of the screen. Then I tried to change the font used by Celestia, in the celestia.cfg file. Initially the program uses the "sans12.txf" font. It was a bit small on my monitor, so I tried to change to the bigger "sansbold14.txf". Apart from a better readability, this actually also made the FPS visible! I don't know why sincerely, but now it works. Anyway, if I can make a suggestion for the future, I think that the choice of the key is not ideal, because I had to change my keyboard setting from Italian to US English to obtain the correct function, and I suspect that the same can happen with other international languages.
Thanks for the help, maybe this can be useful also for others with the same problem.


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 16 guests