Planets aren't visible

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Topic author
CamWhite
Posts: 1
Joined: 08.03.2019
With us: 7 months 7 days

Planets aren't visible

Post #1by CamWhite » 08.03.2019, 16:34

Hello!
I am having a few problems with Celestia that I haven't been able to find answers for in the forums.
First, and most importantly, planets aren't rendering. When I open the program, Sol shows up, and when it travels to earth, there is no planet. The red selector looks like it is around a planet, but there isn't anything within the brackets.
I'm running on Mac OS 10.14 (Mojave), I have reinstalled several times, and have toggled all the render options with ctrl+V. Nothing fixes it.
I appreciate any input you might have.

Second, I am having problems with the star browser. It won't update for my current location after I open it the first time. For instance, I'm looking at Celaeno, and it tells me 14 Tau and 18 Tau are the closest stars. but when I move to, say Electra, the star browser still tells me that 14 Tau and 18 Tau are the closest stars.

Avatar
Lafuente_Astronomy
Moderator
Posts: 383
Joined: 04.08.2018
Age: 21
With us: 1 year 2 months
Location: Cebu City, Cebu Province, Philippines
Contact:

Post #2by Lafuente_Astronomy » 09.03.2019, 06:10

Well, can you state what version of Celestia you've downloaded and whether you're a Mac, Linux or Windows user. It could give enough information to narrow down your problem
Official Administrator of the Celestia Discord Server.
Invite: https://discordapp.com/invite/WEWDcJh
If you don't have a Discord account, register here: https://discordapp.com/register
Have a blessed day.

Avatar
LukeCEL
Posts: 192
Joined: 26.09.2017
With us: 2 years

Post #3by LukeCEL » 10.03.2019, 18:15

CamWhite wrote:Second, I am having problems with the star browser. It won't update for my current location after I open it the first time. For instance, I'm looking at Celaeno, and it tells me 14 Tau and 18 Tau are the closest stars. but when I move to, say Electra, the star browser still tells me that 14 Tau and 18 Tau are the closest stars.

It seems that you have to exit out of the browser and then re-open the browser to update the current location.


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 6 guests