GPU or CPU?

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Topic author
Reiko
Posts: 1119
Joined: 05.10.2006
Age: 36
With us: 13 years
Location: Out there...

GPU or CPU?

Post #1by Reiko » 22.09.2011, 05:30

Does Celestia rely on the power of you graphics card more than your CPU?

Avatar
selden
Developer
Posts: 10069
Joined: 04.09.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month
Location: NY, USA

Re: GPU or CPU?

Post #2by selden » 22.09.2011, 12:09

They're about equal, but it also depends on the Addon. Models (meshes) are drawn by the GPU. The more complex they are, the more work the GPU has to do. When there are more objects in the field of view, though, the CPU has to do more work to find out which are hidden by others.

There are utilities available which can show how busy the GPU is. The one I use is GPU_Caps_Viewer, which is available at http://www.ozone3d.net/gpu_caps_viewer/
CPU-Z gives a detailed view of the CPUs, including the current clock speed of variable-speed CPUs. It's available at http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
Selden

Topic author
Reiko
Posts: 1119
Joined: 05.10.2006
Age: 36
With us: 13 years
Location: Out there...

Re: GPU or CPU?

Post #3by Reiko » 24.09.2011, 05:29

Oh thank you. I asked because I have a new graphics card but didnt really notice much of a difference in performance.


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 9 guests