How do I add in new planets to systems

Have a question about using Celestia? Check here first for FAQs and helpful advice.
Forum rules
Please help to make this forum more useful by checking the FAQs before posting! Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge.
Topic author
Alliance01
Posts: 7
Joined: 24.03.2011
Age: 25
With us: 8 years 6 months
Location: Australia, Victoria, Warragul

How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #1by Alliance01 » 22.05.2011, 11:47

Hi Celestia creators and users.
I have Celestia 1.6.0, I have nearly all the addons on Motherload, I have a Cel Script tutorial (read part of it on arguments and such) and access to all the files - one problem however? I have look at them all and I cannot figure out what files I use to add in new planets and objects and where I can find the individual star system's information, what ones do I need? If there are any addons you would also suggest for this then I will be very great-full :D!
Jump!
Image

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 14 years 1 month
Location: Indiana, United States

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #2by Hungry4info » 22.05.2011, 16:29

Alliance01 wrote:I cannot figure out what files I use to add in new planets and objects
If you extract the add-ons to your /extras folder, they should work.

Alliance01 wrote:and where I can find the individual star system's information, what ones do I need?
I'm not sure what you mean, but hopefully this will help. If you open the .stc associated with the add-on, it will tell you what star the objects orbit.

Code: Select all

"planet" "orbited star"
{
  ... information ...
}
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Avatar
Marco Klunder
Posts: 180
Joined: 20.02.2008
Age: 57
With us: 11 years 8 months
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #3by Marco Klunder » 22.05.2011, 16:31

Hello Alliance01,

Good to hear you have figured out the Cel script tutorial, but unfortunately for you, cel or celx scripts are not used to add new planets and objects within Celestia.

These planets and objects are defined in the so called SSC (Solar System Catalog) files, which are documented here: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Celestia/SSC_File.
SSC files are stored in the ..\celestia\data directory, or if you make your own add-on, they can also be stored in the ..\celestia\extras directory.
For example you can download some spacecraft add-ons from the Motherlode and examine how these add-ons are structured (using subdirectories) and stored within the ..\celestia\extras directory.

I hope this will help you a bit further.

Marco
Marco Klunder
email: marco.klunder@hccnet.nl
Windows7 Ultimate, PD 3.0 GHz, 2 GB of RAM, Nvidia GeForce 6700 XL
Celestia161 / SVN + Lua Edu Tools v1.2 Beta9 and Celestia160-ED

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #4by John Van Vliet » 23.05.2011, 06:59

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 19.10.2013, 07:38, edited 1 time in total.

Topic author
Alliance01
Posts: 7
Joined: 24.03.2011
Age: 25
With us: 8 years 6 months
Location: Australia, Victoria, Warragul

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #5by Alliance01 » 26.05.2011, 02:29

Okay, this should help, thanks ;D. Now, a couple questions:

1. What do I use to open SSC files, Marco, I heard you speak of add ons; if so, what ones do I use, I may have it already.

2. Nothing to do with the thread, but I am curious, can you use Terragen 2 in Celestia, I looked in the Tutorials forum and I saw that you can use Planet Genisis with Classical Terragen, so it looks like a possibility.
Jump!
Image

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #6by John Van Vliet » 26.05.2011, 02:50

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 19.10.2013, 07:37, edited 1 time in total.

Topic author
Alliance01
Posts: 7
Joined: 24.03.2011
Age: 25
With us: 8 years 6 months
Location: Australia, Victoria, Warragul

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #7by Alliance01 » 26.05.2011, 03:21

@1. Found out that notepad will just fine.
Jump!
Image

Topic author
Alliance01
Posts: 7
Joined: 24.03.2011
Age: 25
With us: 8 years 6 months
Location: Australia, Victoria, Warragul

Re: How do I add in new planets to systems

Post #8by Alliance01 » 28.05.2011, 06:28

Hmm, you say that Terragen 2 models do not work with Celestia, I see why, Celestia uses separate textures and creates its own spheres to apply them to. Terragen 2 and Vue are still superb for this, an add on may do the trick, that can convert planetary scales and alike to the SSC programing while stating in the programming that textures, night maps and bumb maps are not required. Although, this would only be availabvle to those with 2Ghz or more, so I see that normal SSC programing has its own advantages.
Jump!
Image


Return to “Help Central”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 8 guests