Lua Edu Tools beta version

Discuss Celestia's features, adaptations and Addons for use in educational environments
ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
Age: 74
With us: 17 years
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #81by ANDREA » 29.04.2007, 17:37

Vincent wrote:...I've made the changes you've suggested.
The list of elements in each class now can be set in 'config.lua'.

Cool! :wink:
And I agree, no more need to move the panel.
Very appreciated.
Bye and thank you, Vincent.

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #82by Vincent » 30.04.2007, 10:30

ANDREA wrote:And I agree, no more need to move the panel.
Very appreciated.
Bye and thank you, Vincent.
rra wrote:The new window's transparancy & background color
are much better, no need to make its position moveble anymore

Thanks .

Ren?©, Andrea, you're welcome.
Great to read that everything works fine on your systems.

PS :Andrea, if you ever have one hour to give to the Italian translation, I would be really happy to help... :wink:
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
Age: 74
With us: 17 years
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #83by ANDREA » 30.04.2007, 14:36

Vincent wrote: ...PS :Andrea, if you ever have one hour to give to the Italian translation, I would be really happy to help... :wink:

OK Vincent, I'll try to translate the four files you say in your readme, i.e.:
    readme.txt
    locale/lang/lang.lua
    locale/lang/infoText_lang.lua
    locale/lang/images/compass_lang.png

Please confirm me that I didn't miss any, thank you.
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #84by Vincent » 30.04.2007, 16:00

ANDREA wrote:OK Vincent, I'll try to translate the four files you say in your readme, i.e.:
    readme.txt
    locale/lang/lang.lua
    locale/lang/infoText_lang.lua
    locale/lang/images/compass_lang.png
Please confirm me that I didn't miss any, thank you.

That's it. And you even don't need to bother with compass_it.png since the letters are the same as in french. So, I'll simply make a copy of compass_fr.png
Thanks a lot Andrea, I really appreciate your contribution. :)
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

ANDREA
Posts: 1527
Joined: 01.06.2002
Age: 74
With us: 17 years
Location: Rome, ITALY

Post #85by ANDREA » 30.04.2007, 18:39

Vincent wrote:That's it. And you even don't need to bother with compass_it.png since the letters are the same as in french. So, I'll simply make a copy of compass_fr.png
Thanks a lot Andrea, I really appreciate your contribution. :)

Yes, now I see the png image with the right lettering, thank you. :wink:
And, obviously, you are welcome!
Bye

Andrea :D
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.8 GHz- 8 GB DDR2
DELL 2709W 1920x1200- WIN 7 64 bit- ASUS P5K-E-
8800 GTX 768MB- 6xSATA II, total 7.5 TB-260.89- Celestia 1.6.1
Celestia1.4.1_patch3- Vincent's LUA Edu Tools 1.2

Sui Ota
Posts: 73
Joined: 05.10.2005
Age: 37
With us: 13 years 8 months
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post #86by Sui Ota » 30.04.2007, 21:52

Sorry for absence for a long time...
I just downloaded the Tools and tried new feature with latest CVS.
This is great! :D :D

But I encountered some problems (even in original English mode :( ):
When I click "Set Render Option" button, most buttons except "Set Time" and "Current Time" disappear. The Objects (stars and planets, etc.) and star labels, too. So there remain only some buttons and time displays...
When I click the place where the button was or turn off Edu Tools, it recovers.

On iBook G4 with Mac OS X 10.4.9
-Suι

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #87by Vincent » 30.04.2007, 22:27

Sui Ota wrote:When I click "Set Render Option" button, most buttons except "Set Time" and "Current Time" disappear. The Objects (stars and planets, etc.) and star labels, too. So there remain only some buttons and time displays...
When I click the place where the button was or turn off Edu Tools, it recovers.

On iBook G4 with Mac OS X 10.4.9

Hi Sui,

ElChristou noticed a similar problem on Mac OS X, yet everything looks fine on other OS. I've already met Mac-specific issues with some Lua methods. Is there any message in the console ? That would help a lot to track the buggy method.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 14 years 4 months

Post #88by ElChristou » 30.04.2007, 23:05

Sorry to be late Vince, I send you by mail a message error in console...
Image

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #89by Vincent » 02.05.2007, 13:15

Chris, Sui

I've just recompiled Celestia with Lua 5.0 instead of the latest Lua 5.1 version. And I can reproduce the bug you've both pointed out.

So, this is not a Mac-specific bug, but a bug in Lua 5.0.
It concerns the use of functions in tables, and has been fixed in Lua 5.1. It doesn't happen with the Windows build of Celestia 1.5 since it was compiled with Lua 5.1.

Since I can hardly change my code about the render setting window to make it run with Lua 5.0, I can just recommend you to compile Celestia with Lua 5.1...

Then, everything should work fine...
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #90by Vincent » 03.05.2007, 11:05

OK, I've found a work-around.
The Render Option Setting window should also work with Lua 5.0 now... :)

http://vincent.gian.club.fr/celestia/Lua_Edu_Tools.zip

Please let me know if it's OK for everybody.
Last edited by Vincent on 05.05.2007, 05:52, edited 1 time in total.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Sui Ota
Posts: 73
Joined: 05.10.2005
Age: 37
With us: 13 years 8 months
Location: Saitama, Japan

Post #91by Sui Ota » 03.05.2007, 11:55

Oh, I've been struggled for several hours to implement Lua 5.1(I'm not good at programming, so...).
The Render Option Setting window is shown correctly :D
Being able to see the window, I noticed that localization of "Open Clusters" is missing... 8O
-Suι

ElChristou
Developer
Posts: 3776
Joined: 04.02.2005
With us: 14 years 4 months

Post #92by ElChristou » 03.05.2007, 13:02

Work fine for me!

I'll have to investigate this Lua 5.1 topic under osX; seems our dev mens are on holydays... :wink:
Image

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #93by Vincent » 03.05.2007, 21:43

Sui Ota wrote:The Render Option Setting window is shown correctly :D
Being able to see the window, I noticed that localization of "Open Clusters" is missing... 8O
You're right, I've added it. Thanks.

ElChristou wrote:Work fine for me!

Great to see that everything works fine.
Thanks for your help, Chris. :)
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #94by Vincent » 04.05.2007, 20:07

Hi,

As requested by Anders (tech2000) in another discussion, the country code can now be added to the language code when setting the language in config.lua.
http://vincent.gian.club.fr/celestia/Lua_Edu_Tools.zip

The 2 letters language codes are derived from the ISO 639 standard, and country codes are from ISO 3166.

The lists of codes for languages and countries are available here :
http://www.loc.gov/standards/iso639-2/php/code_list.php
http://www.iso.org/iso/en/prods-service ... t-en1.html

Here are some examples:

Code: Select all

-- French_France:
    language = "fr"

-- English_England:
    language = "en"

-- English_United States:
    language = "en_US"

-- Portuguese_Portugal:
    language = "pt"

-- Portuguese_Brazil:
    language = "pt_BR"
Last edited by Vincent on 05.05.2007, 10:20, edited 1 time in total.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

tech2000
Posts: 258
Joined: 14.02.2006
Age: 46
With us: 13 years 4 months
Location: Skepplanda, Sweden

Post #95by tech2000 » 05.05.2007, 00:47

Vincent,
why not (for a nice and clean order in the language directory) use this style instead:

Code: Select all

-- French_France:
    language = "fr_FR"

-- English_England:
    language = "en_EN"

-- English_United States:
    language = "en_US"

-- Portuguese:
    language = "pt_PT"

-- Portuguese_Brazil:
    language = "pt_BR"


Bye, Anders

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #96by Vincent » 05.05.2007, 10:47

Anders,

I think we should keep the Lua localization coherent with the i18n convention on which Celestia's internal localization is based. In this convention, the country code is optional. A typical language identifier consists of a 2-letter language code from ISO 639 (3-letter codes can be used if no 2-letter code exists). The language identifier can have an optional subtag, typically for variations based on country (from ISO 3166 2-letter country codes).

Here's what the RFC 4646 (Tags for Identifying Languages) says:
( http://www.rfc-editor.org/rfc/rfc4646.txt )
2.1. Syntax
The language tag is composed of one or more parts, known as "subtags".
[...] A language tag consists of a "primary language" subtag and a (possibly empty) series of subsequent subtags, each of which refines or narrows the range of languages identified by the overall tag.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #97by Vincent » 06.05.2007, 17:18

Hi,

I've added an entry in the config file to give the possibility to automatically switch to 'Alt Azimuthal' mode when in Planetarium Mode.

I've also fixed a bug that prevented the observer's view to reach an elevation of 90?°.
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #98by Vincent » 09.05.2007, 19:46

Hi,

The Tools now also include a Solar System Browser which classifies objects
according to their type. You can click the name of an object to select it:
Image

Clicking the "+" button associated to an object refreshes the right part of the
Solar System window and displays the names of bodies that orbit this object:
Image

To display back the whole Solar System, just click the name of the Star (Sol).

http://vincent.gian.club.fr/celestia/Lua_Edu_Tools.zip
Of course, feedback and suggestions are still welcome...
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

Topic author
Vincent
Posts: 1356
Joined: 07.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months
Location: Nancy, France

Post #99by Vincent » 11.05.2007, 21:39

I've replaced the up/down scrolling buttons with scrollbars:
Image
@+
Vincent

Celestia Qt4 SVN / Celestia 1.6.1 + Lua Edu Tools v1.2
GeForce 8600 GT 1024MB / AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core / 4Go DDR2 / XP SP3

chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 17 years 4 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Post #100by chris » 11.05.2007, 21:57

Really impressive UI work, Vincent!

--Chris


Return to “Celestia in Education”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2 guests