Fusing Celestia with Proland?

Discussion forum for Celestia developers; topics may only be started by members of the developers group, but anyone can post replies.
Topic author
john71
Posts: 443
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 2 years 11 months

Fusing Celestia with Proland?

Post #1by john71 » 23.12.2016, 08:59

Proland is a C++/OpenGL library for the real-time rendering of multi-resolution terrains (up to whole planets), the real-time management and edition of vector data (representing for instance roads or rivers), the rendering of atmosphere and clouds, the rendering and animation of the oceans, and the rendering of forests. All data are loaded or generated on the fly according to the viewpoint, and can be combined procedurally. For instance the shape and texture of a terrain can be modified using vector data representing roads and rivers.

Proland is now distributed under the BSD 3 free software license, for non-commercial as well as commercial use.

proland.imag.fr

Can Celestia and Proland be fused or integrated in some way?

Image

Image

Image

Added after 4 hours 18 minutes:
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggLYTGLS1tk

Avatar
Goofy
Posts: 240
Joined: 30.08.2011
With us: 7 years 10 months
Location: Italy

Fusing Celestia with Proland?

Post #2by Goofy » 23.12.2016, 13:58

Hi John71.
I hope that really Proland will be incorporated in Celestia, it gives a gorgeous rendition of land, clouds, waves, snow and what else...
Please, someone.... :help:
Goofy
"Something is always better than nothing!"
ASUS G75VX4007H- Intel i7 3630QM, 2.4 GHz-SSD 250GB+SSD 1TB, SATA 3-32GB DDR3 1600 MHz- Nvidia GeForce GTX 780MX 3 GB

Topic author
john71
Posts: 443
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 2 years 11 months

Post #3by john71 » 23.12.2016, 14:11

And it's free, as I understand it...

Avatar
Hungry4info
Posts: 1133
Joined: 11.09.2005
With us: 13 years 10 months
Location: Indiana, United States

Post #4by Hungry4info » 23.12.2016, 21:23

How does Proland simulate other planets? How about gas giants? The surface of stars?
Current Setup:
Windows 7 64 bit. Celestia 1.6.0.
AMD Athlon Processor, 1.6 Ghz, 3 Gb RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Topic author
john71
Posts: 443
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 2 years 11 months

Post #5by john71 » 23.12.2016, 21:34

As I understand it, only Celestia has the ability to move/choose between celestial bodies, but Proland can procedurally simulate the surfaces of Earth-like and possibly other planets. I suspect that it can be modified to simulate other surface environments too...

Avatar
Fenerit M
Posts: 1880
Joined: 26.03.2007
Age: 12
With us: 12 years 3 months
Location: Thyrrenian sea

Post #6by Fenerit » 23.12.2016, 23:58

If you do compile the c++ sorce code and the examples shipped with, you will never get those landscapes. That images are by far the next step with respect to the source.
Never at rest.
Massimo

Topic author
john71
Posts: 443
Joined: 10.08.2016
With us: 2 years 11 months

Post #7by john71 » 24.12.2016, 07:57

I would be happy to see those landscapes only on Earth-like planets...

scalbers
Posts: 138
Joined: 30.01.2005
With us: 14 years 5 months

Post #8by scalbers » 28.12.2016, 17:39

Proland is very good with atmospheric scattering, though I'd like to see this incorporate 3-D cloud structures via volume rendering.
http://stevealbers.net

FSword7
Posts: 12
Joined: 08.09.2017
With us: 1 year 10 months

Post #9by FSword7 » 09.10.2017, 00:00

Yeah. I hope that Proland and Space Engine would be implemented into Celestia. Also my OFS program that I am actively developing.

I have a book called "3D Engine Design for Virtual Globes". That is very good programming book.


Return to “Ideas & News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 1 guest