Qt Celestia

Discussion forum for Celestia developers; topics may only be started by members of the developers group, but anyone can post replies.
cartrite
Posts: 1778
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #181by cartrite » 29.08.2009, 18:00

chris wrote:It's important that NDEBUG and NO_DEBUG are only defined in the release build. You should be able to do this by placing a scope around the statement that adds them:

Code: Select all

release {
   DEFINES += \
      NDEBUG \
      NO_DEBUG
}


--Chris
Actually, I tested this again without the

Code: Select all

   DEFINES += \
      NDEBUG \
      NO_DEBUG
and it had no affect on the size of the file. I guess one or more of these affect file size.

Code: Select all

QMAKE_CXXFLAGS_RELEASE = \
   -ffast-math \
   -fexpensive-optimizations \
   -fomit-frame-pointer \
   -msse2 -O2

QMAKE_CFLAGS_RELEASE = \
   -ffast-math \
   -fexpensive-optimizations \
   -fomit-frame-pointer \
   -msse2 -O2

cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap42.3
and Tumbleweed

Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 15 years 4 months
Location: Germany

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #182by Guckytos » 30.10.2009, 16:01

Dumb question

What do I need to build Celestia with Qt?

Qt SDK: Complete Development Environment
or
Qt: Framework Only

and do I then also have to install Qt Creator also?

Question goes for Windows and Fedora 11 (yes I am in the process of setting up Linux 8) )

Regards,

Guckytos

Topic author
chris
Site Admin
Posts: 4211
Joined: 28.01.2002
With us: 17 years 8 months
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #183by chris » 30.10.2009, 16:43

Guckytos wrote:Dumb question

What do I need to build Celestia with Qt?

Qt SDK: Complete Development Environment
or
Qt: Framework Only

and do I then also have to install Qt Creator also?

Question goes for Windows and Fedora 11 (yes I am in the process of setting up Linux 8) )

I recommend downloading the complete development environment, which includes QtCreator. QtCreator has developed into a very nice tool for developing Qt apps. Debugging, Qt API help, and the GUI designer are integrated into the IDE. The auto code completion is perhaps not quite as good in general as Microsoft's IntelliSense yet, but it has great helpers for Qt-specific things like the signals and slots mechanism.

The big down side of QtCreator on Windows is that it uses MinGW with gcc 3.3 as the default compiler. This is a very old version which generates much worse code than the Microsoft Visual C++ compiler. I believe that you can configure QtCreator to use MSVC, but I haven't tried it yet. The next version of Qt is supposed to ship with a new version of MinGW that includes a much newer gcc.

--Chris

Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 15 years 4 months
Location: Germany

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #184by Guckytos » 30.10.2009, 17:25

chris wrote:
Guckytos wrote:Dumb question

What do I need to build Celestia with Qt?

Qt SDK: Complete Development Environment
or
Qt: Framework Only

and do I then also have to install Qt Creator also?

Question goes for Windows and Fedora 11 (yes I am in the process of setting up Linux 8) )

I recommend downloading the complete development environment, which includes QtCreator. QtCreator has developed into a very nice tool for developing Qt apps. Debugging, Qt API help, and the GUI designer are integrated into the IDE. The auto code completion is perhaps not quite as good in general as Microsoft's IntelliSense yet, but it has great helpers for Qt-specific things like the signals and slots mechanism.

The big down side of QtCreator on Windows is that it uses MinGW with gcc 3.3 as the default compiler. This is a very old version which generates much worse code than the Microsoft Visual C++ compiler. I believe that you can configure QtCreator to use MSVC, but I haven't tried it yet. The next version of Qt is supposed to ship with a new version of MinGW that includes a much newer gcc.

--Chris

Okay,

then I will start out in Linux and wait for the Windows version to get upgraded.

Sorry for asking again about the Qt SDK.

Should I just download the Linux package from the Qt homepage and the install it or try to install it with the Fedora 11 "Add/Remove programs"? That program is strange to me I don't know what I would have to select there to get all I want/need.

Was able to install some things but it is not really easy for a beginner to know what he is doing.

Regards

Avatar
t00fri
Developer
Posts: 8772
Joined: 29.03.2002
Age: 17
With us: 17 years 6 months
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #185by t00fri » 30.10.2009, 17:54

I have never downloaded the Qt SDK, despite using and building Qt since a long time both under Win XP and Linux (KDE)

One point to keep in mind is that in Linux, Qt is a standard part of KDE. Hence one has to avoid a mix-up between different Qt versions!!! This issue gets worse for people like myself who additionally have installed ISIS3, which comes once more with its own version of Qt!

For Linux (OpenSuSE 10.3 and 11.1) I use the default Qt distribution just augmented with the corresponding devel package (headers etc)

Then all that is needed in addition is the Qt-Creator IDE that can be downloaded separately from the Trolltech Qt site.

For Windows, I have downloaded the Qt library source code package, built everything with VC++2008 and downloaded Qt-Creator separately.

That all very easy and --you bet-- it works.

Fridger
Image

Avatar
John Van Vliet
Posts: 2710
Joined: 28.08.2002
With us: 17 years 1 month

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #186by John Van Vliet » 05.12.2009, 01:55

--- edit ---
Last edited by John Van Vliet on 20.10.2013, 08:27, edited 1 time in total.

cartrite
Posts: 1778
Joined: 15.09.2005
With us: 14 years
Location: Pocono Mountains, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #187by cartrite » 15.08.2010, 10:23

I've had problems creating a msvc project/solution file with qmake. I downloaded the QT4 SDK version 4.6.3. All the error report says is that it can't create the file. Anyone else using this version of QT4? Have the same problem?

One surprise was that QT4 seems to have been taken over by NOKIA. :?
cartrite
Toshiba Satellite P875=S7200 laptop, Intel i5 processor 2.5 ghz 6 gb ram, Graphics Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000 openSUSE Leap42.3
and Tumbleweed

Guckytos
Posts: 439
Joined: 01.06.2004
With us: 15 years 4 months
Location: Germany

Re: Qt Celestia

Post #188by Guckytos » 15.08.2010, 15:24

Hi cartrite,

please take a look here: http://shatters.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=16064.

There are a lot of things discussed about Qt and how it has to be configured/used.

Regards,

Guckytos


Return to “Ideas & News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 5 guests